We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea food”
Review of The Original Crab Shack - CLOSED

The Original Crab Shack
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Rochester's Original Crab Shack is NOW RocFish (to get out from a national Chain's shadow) We are open seven days a week for lunch AND dinner. Seafood, Pasta, Steaks, Salads, Sandwiches and more. Locally Owned. Locally Operated. Open at 11am Daily. Across from MCC.
Mt Morris, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very good service,friendly staff.
Fish fry was wonderful,took half home.Started with a seafood soup that was nice and hot and very tasty!
We had 5 people in our party and each was served in a timely fashion.The highlight was not at our table,as a couple at the table next to us ordered the 5lb lobster!! WOW!
They said it was excellent though pricey at $100 for the dinner.
Our drinks were refilled often,as needed.
Overall an enjoyable dinner experience .
Will return when seafood is on our minds.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtMorris_NewYorkJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    87
    39
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Continues to be excellent”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had previously visited (and reviewed) Crab Shack a couple of years ago, and have just returned for another delicious meal. The front door greeters were smiling and seemingly glad to see us, our waiter was friendly, prompt, and made great suggestions (thanks Joe), and our food was delicious. We each had a cup of the house special seafood bisque (large chunks of lobster and crab meat too), shared the flatbread pizza appetizer, and our entrees were the lobster pot pie and the lobster crab macaroni and cheese. All were fresh and delicious and we would reorder again on a subsequent visit. Shared a slice of key lime pie for dessert, which was fabulously tart (which we hoped it would be). Prices were very reasonable; all the above under $60 with tax included.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snert41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well informed bar staff”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are in the bar and had excellent guidance from our waitress. Loved the Lobster Bisque, but add the brandy sparingly. The lobster roll was also a hit with us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aktchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not very good at all!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Calamari was fried to long. Sesame tuna cam out with no sesame and missing the seaweed salad and wasabi sauce which neither where good. Tuna was previously frozen! I had the blackened tuna and it tasted like Cajun, but I like Cajun! Kids pasta was good! I know some times you get a bad meal. But the presentation was simple at best and I was not impressed for the money.... Im sure the fried and steamed stuff is decent, but I most likely will never return.... Waiter was good accept he said he knew the menu in and out, but when we asked why the meal was lacking things he stated let me review the menu to see whats on it.... Lol ,,, we just laughed paid the bill and left...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quarterdeck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Supper”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The lobster bisque, recommended by our wonderful server, Amy, was outstanding! We'll be back - with friends!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCBNYCNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Crab Shack also viewed

Henrietta, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing