We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood in Rochester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Original Crab Shack - CLOSED

The Original Crab Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rochester's Original Crab Shack is NOW RocFish (to get out from a national Chain's shadow) We are open seven days a week for lunch AND dinner. Seafood, Pasta, Steaks, Salads, Sandwiches and more. Locally Owned. Locally Operated. Open at 11am Daily. Across from MCC.
Lakeville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best seafood in Rochester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

this was a phenomenal experience. Never would I have thought i would have fresh seafood from Bostons harbors in Rochester. the Crab legs were amazing and the portion sizes are more than one can handle.I recommend everybody to go and try this restaurant. this is the real deal, unlike Joe's crab shack.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    87
    39
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, NY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Oh so yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

While visiting in the Rochester area for Thanksgiving, a group of my boyfriend's family and friends met us here for dinner. The entire menu was awesome! Everything we ordered was fabulously delicious and the 1.5 lb king crab dinner was worth every penny. We all had a great black Friday night out. We saw the tv ad, went online, made a res. very easy to get to, can't wait to go back, thanks and happy holidays to you all.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You Won't Leave Hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We love seafood so we're always looking for new places to try. Went to Crab Shack for an anniversary dinner, hoping for the best for our special occasion. The decor inside has a nautical/Cape Cod theme with light colors of blue and yellow. There is a large bar where you can sit and have a cocktail while you wait for a table, although we didn't have to wait long.
A host came and showed us to our table, and almost immediately a server appeared with a basket of bread and rolls and took our drink orders. The menu was great, offering a nice variety of seafood dishes, and other fare. Side dishes were traditional New England style like corn-on-the-cob and salt potatoes. I started with their Crab & Lobster Bisque, and ordered fried oysters and scallops from their "create your own seafood basket" section for my entree and everything was delicious!
Overall it was an excellent dinner with really great service as well. I will certainly go back for an encore!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went here influenced by other TripAdvisor reviews and had a great dinner. Judging from the crowd, it must have a good local following.

The staff was friendly and helpful ... waitress asked if it was our first time there. I asked if she knew all the regulars, but she replied she inquires to judge how much info to offer. She was very attentive without being intrusive. Both dinners were terrific. The menu looks like everything is a al carte, but specials and other platters come with starch and veggies. Salads are extra and an addition I'd recommend.

We were glad we went there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oetbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I've been to in a while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a pleasant surprise. The service was fantastic, the food was outstanding ( the Crab/lobster bisque was the best I have ever had). The Decor was incredible. We'll be back! Please don't confuse this place with Joes Crab Shack on Jefferson Rd. it is far better.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Crab Shack also viewed

Henrietta, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing