We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, clean, and safe.”
Review of Towpath Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Towpath Motel
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I recently stayed here. It is a simple, low-cost motel. They owners keep it clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very nice personnel. Perfect location for visiting family over the holidays. Great value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very welcoming and excellent service. Very good amenities in the room for the price meaning excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed in a second floor non-smoking room. The room was clean and had everything I needed. The A/C worked great and the furniture was more than adequate. The bathroom was a small but overall it was a comfortable stay especially for the price. The staff was pleasant and seemed eager to help. Keep in mind I was traveling by myself and I didn't really need any assistance but the staff was visible, smiling and ready to help if there was anything I needed (they even apologized for the noise of the landscaper...it was 10:45 am, in my opinion that was more than reasonable and no need for apologies). My son goes to school in the area so I have stayed in many of the well known hotel chains. This was the first independent motel I have stayed in but I would definitely book it again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towpathmotel, Owner at Towpath Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for the positive review and we look forward to having you as our guests again.
We are almost done with our renovations and hope the new carpet and furnishings will be a warm welcome to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We chose the hotel because they would allow us to bring a pet and the location. The hotel's policy is that the guest pays in advance for all nights and refunds are not permitted. We paid for two nights. The room was unacceptable for three reasons:
1. This is an older motel. The furniture is old and worn. The bed was alright but there is no comfortable place to sit and the room is only good for sleeping, if that were possible. The ventilation is poor and the single air conditioner struggled to do anything, and it wasn't summer. I can only imagine what it would be like in July.
2. On the afternoon between the two nights we were there, we saw the owner come into each room and spray something after closing windows. We don't know whether it was a disinfectant, insecticide, or deodorizer. It left an awful chemical smell and explains why we had difficulty sleeping the first night. We slept no better on the second night. One of us had a headache both days.
3. On the first morning, we found that the showe/bath hot water faucet did not work and only a cold shower was possible. This should have been noticed by the prior guest and the housekeeping staff while cleaning. The manager repaired it before the second night, after we told him about the problem.
We found someone to take our dog for the third night in Rochester and moved to another motel 0.6 miles south, at a comparable rate. Then we had one good night of sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amherst_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towpathmotel, Owner at Towpath Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for informing us of these issues and we are addressing each one specifically.
1. Furniture : We are currently replacing all the furniture/carpeting in the rooms and expect to have this completed by end of the year.
2. Air Freshener: We are working with our hotel supply company to find something more green and allergy friendly.
3. Faucet :As you have noted, we did repair the faucet and we apologize for not having this reported by our housekeeper.

We remain a pet friendly hotel and I apologize if you did not understand the payment terms but it has always been our policy to require payment first as we are small hotel and do note have the systems to allow for payment at check out. I ask that you please allow us to try accommodate you and your pet on your next visit and again apologize for your unpleasant stay but we truly value all the feedback and will make sure we take the corrective actions in the future to address all your concerns and comments. Please email us on your next visit and we hope to have you as our guest again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We needed a hotel that would allow dogs and after asking other hotels in the area we found the Towpath motel. We paid $90. Total rip-off!!! But we had no choice. It was late and we were tired. We were charged $5 extra because of our dog. We were told we had to pay another $5 if we wanted to use our credit card to pay for the room. We turned around to leave because we knew that was sooooooo wrong and the front desk guy gave in and said we didn't have to pay it. We said ok and paid. When we got to the room we discovered it was a room for smokers. We told the guy that it was unacceptable because the smell was so disgusting. He said that dogs have to stay in smoking rooms. Because it was late and we had already paid (plus we didn't trust the guy at the front desk in terms of refunding our credit card), we stayed. We opened the windows and suffered all night because of the terrible smell. I woke up several times during the night and was sickened by it. When we returned home we all had baths or showers (including the dog) and needed to wash all of our clothes whether we wore them or not.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CJG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

nice hotel with good location and shopping & restuarants in the area ; close by to highway, NY state highway 90s ; drugs store for emergencies and supermarket in the area , all very good locations

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rochester Monroe Avenue
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Rochester Airport
8.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radiance Inn And Suites
Radiance Inn And Suites
#27 of 29 in Rochester
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towpath Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towpath Motel

Address: 2323 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-3024
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $61 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Towpath Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes to the Historic High Falls District, and located close to the Erie Canal Locks, University of Rochester, Lake Ontario, local wineries, golfing, biking, shopping, museums, and our annual Lilac Festival each May. Guests of this AAA 1-Diamond Towpath Motel, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, will enjoy being convenient to downtown along with continental breakfast and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Towpath Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towpath Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing