We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Beauty”

National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House
Ranked #9 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House shares the story of Susan B. Anthony's lifelong struggle to gain voting rights for women and equal rights for all. We keep her vision alive and relevant by preserving and sharing Anthony's National Historic Landmark home; collecting artifacts and research materials directly related to her life and work; and making these resources available to the public through tours, publications, the internet, and interpretive programs. Come visit us today!
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical Beauty”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Historical Beauty located in the heart of the city. Gives you a true idea of what her life consisted of.
Take the time to walk through a little bit of history

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great attraction right in my backyard”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Went here when we had some out of town guest and one of the children needed to write a report on something educational she did during her trip. It ended up being a very excellent visit. The exhibits were well done and the docent very good at explaining the events and life of Susan B Anthony. A must visit for anyone coming to Rochester.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fascinating history”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I thought I knew a lot about the early women's rights movement, but I learned many, may things while here. We had a wonderful tour guide who shared stories and pictures and all of her knowledge regarding Susan B Anthony and her peers and cohorts. Don't miss the statue of Susan B and Frederick Douglass (nearby park) and the Mt. Hope Cemetery, where Anthony and Douglass of them are buried. Lots of great history. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dawnlangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A lovingly maintained historic home inhabited by the Anthony family, including the most famous Anthony, suffragette Susan B. Although the house is called the Susan B. Anthony House, the museum's organizers make it clear that Susan was surrounded by family members and friends in the cause of women's voting rights, many of whom lived in the house.

One of the best aspects of the Susan B. Anthony House is its staff. We were heartily welcomed, and our guide was fantastic. She was enthusiastic about the house and the lives of all the women who passed through it. Any questions she couldn't answer, she made sure another staff member did at the tour's conclusion. Even though the house was quite busy with visitors, our group was not rushed.

The gift shop is great, too. I highly recommend stocking up on presents while you're there. It's for a good cause and the message is as relevant today as it was during the lives of the Anthony sisters.

We had never been to Rochester and found it very easy to locate.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historical interest”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Parking can be somewhat limited, but the house is beautiful and well worth a visit. The displays are interesting, as are the artifacts, and the whole is pretty well organized and presented.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlisticeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing