We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Time!”

National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House
Ranked #9 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House shares the story of Susan B. Anthony's lifelong struggle to gain voting rights for women and equal rights for all. We keep her vision alive and relevant by preserving and sharing Anthony's National Historic Landmark home; collecting artifacts and research materials directly related to her life and work; and making these resources available to the public through tours, publications, the internet, and interpretive programs. Come visit us today!
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Time!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Touring the Susan B. Anthony House was time well spent. As an educator, I was impressed with the quality of the tour given by the volunteer. I truly learned about the life of Susan B. Anthony, here strong character and family. The home of Susan B. Anthony and her sister is living history. Everything is well maintained. I would strongly suggest this tour for adults and children age 10 and up. I think that younger children would be bored, unless they had some background knowledge of Susan B. Anthony's life beforehand.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saragert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Every care has been taken by the devoted staff of the Susan B Anthony house to provide an informative, fun experience. The house has been lovingly restored. Our guide really brought the time Susan lived in, as well as Susan herself, to life, and was able to engage all tour members, from the young to the elderly. Susan's story is moving and dramatic, and provides a wonderful window into an important period of American history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PineappleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Susan B. Anthony House”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A must see in Rochester! The staff is incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. I took a tour recently with, the docent Kerri (?). She was awesome! Incredibly informative

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dedicated and Interesting Docents”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our tour was engaging and worthwhile. The docent that toured us was informed, dedicated to the museum, and friendly. The house opens at 1100 and parking was all gone by 1140. So arrive early, or wait for the first tour to finish its visit.
I would recommend this tour to people interested in history or social justice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelling2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
350 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“The Voice of Fairness Was Well-Represented”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This site is dedicated to Susan B. Anthony and her successful efforts to promote fairer treatment to women and brotherhood/sisterhood.The tour of this home was very interesting and guide,Sarah Davis was very informative.It took about 45 minutes. I also improved my knowledge of Rochester history.It is located in the inner city,Madison Square area well-serviced by several Main Street bus lines.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing