We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sakura Home

Sakura Home
Ranked #142 of 1,269 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at Sakura Home, you can experience not only traditional style sushi, but also new style-sushi, which is an innovative Japanese style of presenting sushi. We are one of the first restaurants to bring this style of sushi to Rochester. Sakura Home always strives to serve superior quality of food, services and excellent dining experience to our customers. We serve Sushi, Hibachi and Alcoholic beverages. Sakura Home is also proud to serve a variety of Hibachi dishes prepared by our professional and experienced Hibachi chefs, who will entertain and delight you with their masterful cooking at your table.
Crazy town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The sushi and avocado salad are delicious. The habachi dining is fun and tasty.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JjGregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a birthday dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We went to Sakura Home for a friend's birthday dinner with a group of 9. They have a hibachi room as well as a dining room. We were there for the hibachi. Before we went to the dining area we sat at the bar for a few drinks. The bar area has a nice ambiance with a piano and a small fish pond. The wine pours were VERY generous. Double the pour you would get at any other restaurant and definitely worth the $7. If you chose to do the hibachi be prepared for a long experience. We were there for at least 2 hours. The room is also very loud so don't expect to chat with your entire party, just the people right next to you. Our chef did an excellent job entertaining us and had us laughing the entire time. The food was worth the money as the portions are large. Everyone had to take some home. Our favorite was the steak which everyone loved where the chicken was a little dry and left something to be desired. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a group. The main dining room and bar area would be nice for a more intimate dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaireD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good taste, poor hygene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The restaurant is very nicely decorated and the food and service were good. I had to give this a poor rating because as we were waiting for our drink order I was facing the sushi bar and watched the sushi chef picking at a blemish on his face! It was one of the most discusting things I have seen in a restaurant. He then went to what I believe to be the rest room but to do that over the prep area in an area where your customers could see was too much. We will not go back to the restaurant becasue of this.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Sakura is a beautiful Hibachi and sushi restaurant. Try the monster roll (cooked) or the dragon roll (raw) and you will not be disappointed. Great service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Slcutaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best In Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great atmoshphere, very good food and service, both at the Hibachi tables and for sushi and other traditional Japanense food.

Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Home also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sakura Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing