We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor experience this stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor experience this stay!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Staybridge Rochester University from July 30 - Aug 1. I must admit this has been my worst experience staying at this hotel as we've stated here multiple times before. The staff and the IHG rewards couldn't work out our room situation. We are priority club members and we revised our reservation with them and everything was messed up. Priority club wouldn't take the responsibilty and neither did the front desk staff or manager. Very frustrating and disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    100
    35
    22
    14
See reviews for
140
43
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here in 2009 with the family. It was an ok overnight stop, but when we reached border after checkout, we were missing 1 passport and 1 child's birth certificate. Hotel claimed no knowledge, police said very common there an not much they can do since hotel pretended it didn't happen. Still really annoyed about it, years later. I had written a review but didn't publish it right as a newbie to t/a. Anyway be wary when staying in Rochester. My spouse was in bathroom in the room when he heard the door open on the adjoining room side (we had both rooms and between door was open of course)and someone come in and he thought it was one of our kids grabbing something for the pool. He called out to them when they didn't say anything and then he heard the door shut again, so thought it was nothing important- until we discovered the missing ID. Hotel was incredibly dismissive, and had this happened today, I know more about travelling and certainly would have kept after them until I got some recompense or satisfaction. As is, I never travel staybridge hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jellyfishmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear jellyfishmum,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a good/bad experience with this hotel. We arrived at 3 pm, but our room was not ready, so we waited a short time. Unfortunately, we were given a room that had not been properly turned over for the next guests, so although it had been cleaned, the linens had not been stripped from the beds. At 10 pm when we pulled the sheets back, it was obvious that the bed was not clean. Called to the front desk; the night manager grabbed 2 sets of sheets for us, neither fit the bed. So, I had to squeeze all the way to into the back of the linen closet on the 2nd floor to find the king size sheets. We remade the bed and finally turned in for the night, that is, until 12 am when the smoke alarm in our room started going off - and it was REALLY loud. Ran down to the front desk again only to be told that sometimes the wires are iffy on the smoke alarms. Next day, the room was completely cleaned, so of course, the staff threw away the items we had in the fridge. Other than all that, it's a nice hotel with a good breakfast and we'd probably stay here again if we're in the area, but we'll check the room first to make sure it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morse1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are sorry that you had an issue. We are looking in to this. Please feel free to try us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Once again, Staybridge Suites Rochester has proven itself to be the most confortable and worry free place stay in Rochester. Clean rooms and friendly service make for a great stay. The breakfasts and dinners are filling and the river view is pleasant. I will continue to stay here when I visit Rochester.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotels2ndhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
303 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I first stayed at this hotel in late 2008 or early 2009 when it was brand new. Now 4 & 1/2 years later it's still a nice property, but showing some use. The walls are not well insulated, and you will hear any loud neighbors. I was disappointed to find black stains on one of the bath towels. The quality of the breakfast is not up to par with competing extended stay chains like Home wood Suites - it's about the same as a Holiday Inn Express. The internet speed was good, but it required a new log-in every day.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear ajnuff,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my apology for the shortfalls you have experienced. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

As we approach the location, I was saying to my husband: "where have I put us in?" but when we arrived, the hotel is very good, new, the welcoming front desk personel were very pleasant and informative. The breakfast - one of the best ones, and as bonus they have complimentary "happy hour/diner/open bar (wine and beer on tap), what more can you ask? our room had river view, I would not settle for less, the only thing I would change is I would ask to be at the third floor, as unfortunately for us, the guesses on the room above us, had children jumping all around and we do hear loud and clear. The Gym as I love to keep my exercise routine, was well equipped. Yes I will come back and recommend.

Room Tip: I would choose river view, on the third floor, but a little away from the elevator, then it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciganinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently. It was a business trip so it only expected the usual. This hotel staff goes over the top for their guests and with their amenities. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great job. Perhaps others can learn from this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhh1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.7 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Property: Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio suites, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items and our free Social Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings from 5:30-7:30PM. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. Our shuttle is available Monday - Friday 6:30-10:30 AM and again 5:00-9:00 PM and will take you to your destination within a 3 mile radius. When it's time to unwind, relax next to the fire pit on our Patio overlooking the Genesee River and University of Rochester; or enjoy our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing