We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick another hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pick another hotel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My son and I stayed two nights while visited the University of Rochester. While the hotel is new and within walking distance of the University, it is in a VERY bad neighborhood. We were afraid to walk outside at night. Our hotel room was dirty - cobwebs on the ceiling, potato chip crumbs on the couch and a dirty bedspread. The hotel was full of kids attending a soccer camp and they were extremely noisy. The walls/ceilings are thin and we did not get a good night's sleep. We complained to the management at 1:30 am when kids were still running up and down the hall and slamming doors, but they were not very responsive. When I brought the subject up to management again in the morning when we were checking out, all they did was offer a lukewarm apology. The breakfast was the only good experience of our stay. There were many choices, including fresh fruit (blueberries and watermelon). Pets are allowed in this hotel and there were several barking dogs. The barking dogs weren't much of a problem compared to the wild children that weren't supervised by their parents.

Room Tip: Either pick a different hotel or stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced because of the noise created by the kids. Please be assured that we will be looking into the issues raised in your feedback and carrying out any necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Please accept our apologies for this lapse in service.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    98
    34
    22
    14
See reviews for
139
42
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went to the Strong museum with my two children (3&5) We were upgraded to the two bedroom suite and couldn't ask for a better stay. Continental breakfast and dinner/snack in the evening including beverages. The pool and hot tub were clean and modern and the view of the river was fantastic. The service was exceptional and always happy to help. We felt like we were in a mini resort minutes away from the city.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our second stay at this facility. The river setting is lovely--they charge a tiny amount more for a river view, which is completely worth it in my opinion. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment this time, and will do so again in the future. The studio apartments are decent-sized, but having the extra space that came with a one-bedroom made for a much more comfortable stay. The breakfast is more than adequate, and as other posters said, the happy hour/light meals offered during the week is a big plus. Laundry is free for guests, and the gym is modern with decent equipment. We really appreciate the location close to the airport, and within a few minute's drive to various highways make it a snap to get around the Rochester area, from the suburbs to downtown Rochester. When we checked in thessafe in the closet wasn't working, but it was fixed quickly. We will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Pay for a river view. It's not that much extra, and the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved this place! Everyone is friendly, the suites are spacious, very clean and quiet. We had no issues with the noise-level whatsoever and during our stay, the hotel was booked. There is a very nice indoor pool and exercise room. The breakfast buffet was excellent and offered many choices from Chobani yogurt and fresh fruit to omelettes, home fries and sausage, but many more options as well. We really enjoyed the social hours that are offered on Tuesday,Wednesday and Thursdays from 5:30-7:30 pm when guests enjoy complimentary beer, wine, and soda along with a complimentary meal (the evenings we were there we had tacos one night, raviolis and meatballs another night and grilled hots and burgers another night!). This place is perfect for families and business travellers as well. We have recommended Staybridge Suites-Rochester to our family and friends. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Staybridge and loved relaxing on the outdoor patio next to the Genesee River!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BobKathyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The suites are wonderful and great value for a large family.  The kitchen gave us flexibility and choice to eat in or out. Staff was friendly, check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast staff friendly and responsive. It was a bit crowded. People had to find tables and seats, however we sat outside on the patio and had a great river view. The location was excellent as a UR alumni it was great sharing my old stomping ground with my kids. For those runners out there, the river path is a great running trail.  The only complaint that I have is the noise level in the hotel. You can hear every conversation and movement of your neighbor, especially in the bathrooms. I am sure our neighbors heard us too.  Besides the noise complaint, this hotel is an excellent value!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vauxhall, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

For romance this is a great hotel to go to its right on the river bank, quiet, secluded and the view is beautiful. My suite had a kitchenette, living room, flat screen TV and it was very clean. The customer service was great and the complimentary breakfast was the best I ever seen. You can’t go wrong by choosing this hotel its worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelerKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've stayed here about 5 times so far since my daughter is going to UR. Love this place, great big rooms and great service. Ask for a room facing the university for the best view. There is a pedestrian bridge across the lake that you can walk across to get to the university. I always stay here when I come to Rochester and am well pleased.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvTravv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.7 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Property: Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Address: 1000 Genesee St, Rochester, NY 14611-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio suites, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items and our free Social Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings from 5:30-7:30PM. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. Our shuttle is available Monday - Friday 6:30-10:30 AM and again 5:00-9:00 PM and will take you to your destination within a 3 mile radius. When it's time to unwind, relax next to the fire pit on our Patio overlooking the Genesee River and University of Rochester; or enjoy our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing