We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gate House Cafe is our son and his wife's favorite restaurant in Rochester.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gate House Cafe

The Gate House Cafe
Ranked #36 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Please see our website for the most recent menu and pricing.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
255 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Gate House Cafe is our son and his wife's favorite restaurant in Rochester.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We've been to The Gate House a couple of times now on visits to Rochester. No matter when you go, there's probably going to be a bit of a wait. It's very popular with the hometown crowd. My husband had wings and I had pizza with olive oil, olives, and goat cheese. My husband was disappointed that his wings didn't have more Parmesan cheese and my pizza was ok. The sweet potato fries were tasty, but seemed a little short on the brown sugar and honey topping.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    78
    38
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food poisoning confirmed by health dept.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Dont recommend eating here. Chefs don't wesr gloves amd my whole party got sick from dairy products that was confirmed by nys health dept. I'd say eat at ur own risk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sfarrell005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“BEST SWEET POTATO FRIES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

FIRST THINGS FIRST: GET THE SWEET POTATO FRIES FOR A MOUTHFUL OF DELICIOUS HONEY AND BROWN SUGAR COVERED DELICIOUSNESS... these are literally the thing that makes me keep coming back to the gate house.

I probably eat here at least once or twice a month, and I really recommend the Gate House as a favorite to any visiting or who have yet been. They have excellent food. Also, if you are on the paleo diet it is easy to accommodate you here as well!

I recommend the Xerox pizza if you are going to get pizza.

Also, all the burgers are great... I always ask for a burger without a the bun, and sweet potato fries...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aberfitchfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have frequented here many times and on each visit I was very pleased with my meal. I have there sandwiches, pizzas and salads and all are very good. It can get noisy here when busy so unless that bothers you pick an off time to go, if not just sit back and enjoy the atmosphere.

One can come here alone, with friends or before a night on the town as it is located int he NOTA it is not far from The Art Gallery or Auditorium Theater. One could park here on a nice evening and walk it's that close.

My only criticism would be to beef up their soup choices and maybe add a few more vegetarian options otherwise I have no complaints.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun and full menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant surprise going here for lunchwith the work gang. Great menu and the food was delicious!
Food delivery was a bit slow...but worth it

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate House Cafe also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Gate House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing