We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger!”

The Gate House Cafe
Ranked #36 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Please see our website for the most recent menu and pricing.
rochester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Burger!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a popular spot for casual dining though I try to avoid going at peak service because the room is not large and is quite noisy. About 1:00 PM for lunch, often at the fair sized bar, this place may have the best burger and fries in town tho` they also feature wood fired oven dishes and, of course, pizza.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doodles11Rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    84
    41
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always tasty dishes and friendly servers”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visit regularly after RBTL Saturday matinees. Service is friendly, atmosphere is funky, food is imaginative in flavor and presentation and wine and cocktail selection is extensive. All in all, a fun place to grab some after theatre fare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiromag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place for burgers!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've never had a bad meal at this restaurant. The burgers and wood oven pizza are great meals. Great place for dinner with family and friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Runnerny2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a good surprise”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

went here when for the 100th time I did't feel like waiting too long for a table at the sushi place. I have heard they have great burgers. I think this was one of the best i've had. something with pesto. homemade fries were also delicious. will be going back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ayapua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Gate House Vodka Martini”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went there on a Monday...Busy, but pleasant atmosphere..Tried a Gate House Vodka Martini..Wow.. I love this place, and I am quite the critic. Well managed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vballray7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate House Cafe also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Gate House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing