We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice setting once inside....”
Review of Lento

Lento
Reserve with OpenTable
Lento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
606 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“very nice setting once inside....”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

the village gate building itself contains many small shops; several restaurants; and isn't very pretty in its neighborhood....but, Lento is really cool inside, decor wise....nice entrees and appetizers too..beer menu and wines too, were adequate....cant' say that the foods were all that great in taste-their corn soup that night, was not creamy at all; and very little taste to it...my italian pasta dish left alot to be desired....their peach tart was very hard crusted...but a nice atmosphere...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scouternurse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    29
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Incredible Restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We made reservations for 5:30pm because happy hour is between 4-6pm. Decided to show up a bit early because I haven't driven in the area before. There's a parking lot across the restaurant so there's no need to park on the side of the road. Once we've entered the doors at 5:10pm, we met Mitch who we've made reservations with. He was a kind man and seated us right away. Our waitress Laurie (I believe) was very kind as well. Always checking up on us, refilling our water a few times before it dropped below halfway.
The atmosphere is unique and very cozy. Has a downtown feel to it mixed in with a fine dining restaurant.
Now onto the food, we started off with 20 raw oysters because on Tuesdays (4-6pm) they're only $1 per oyster. There were several different kinds to choose from, and the first 10 we tried every one. Then once we knew which ones were our favorite, we ordered more of that kind. The oysters actually tasted very good and each kind did have it's own unique characteristics. The Royal Miyagi (BC) and Wawenoc (ME) were my favourite.
Then came the appetizer which we ordered the Blue Hill Bay Mussels. The mussels tasted delicious and so did the broth that came with it.
For entrees, I ordered the Duck Breast which was delicious and cooked perfectly medium rare. And for her, she ordered the Swordfish which I did try and was delicious. It just melts in your mouth, and that's how swordfish should be cooked.
We didn't have room to try any of their homemade desserts but there's always next time.
I highly recommend this restaurant and I will be returning very soon.
Having visited many restaurants in Rochester, NY; this has to be in my top 3.
Hope you my friends visit and I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Cheers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Local growers = good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lento's menu changes regularly to reflect their local roots, and there is a nice variety of selections ranging from sausage to seafood, sure to please everyone. Save room for dessert - our cherry pie was divine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Qlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“For the well-heeled Locavore”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent food, well served. Not "lento" at all - at least not for us. The calamari appetizer was perfectly done, and huge. The two of us shared it and it could have easily been our main course. Everything fresh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotspot with farm to table food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The place was packed, and I was so happy I made reservations for the 8 of us! Parking was plentiful, but a bit of a walk as the restaurant is within a labyrinth of shops and eateries. The decor was eclectic and fun; it has unusual spaces and platforms to separate tables. The food was fun and unusual. They pride themselves on serving local and promoting small businesses. Service was slow, but polite and professional. The customers were trendy 20 and 30-something year olds.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lento also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Lento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing