We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

George Eastman Museum
Ranked #3 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The George Eastman Museum is located in Rochester, New York, on the estate of George Eastman, the pioneer of popular photography and motion picture film. Founded in 1947 as an independent nonprofit institution, it is the world's oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives. The museum holds unparalleled collections-encompassing several million objects-in the fields of photography, cinema, and photographic and cinematographic technology, and photographically illustrated books. The institution is also a longtime leader in film preservation and photographic conservation.
Picton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful display of the Eastman history and his connection to Rochester and humanity. Great restoration/preservation of the house and furnishings. Certainly worth the time and price to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ferdfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    208
    36
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The house is excellent. Take the guided tour, you will get a lot more out of the visit if you do so. Don't miss the small cabinet with momentos of Eastmans controlled departure. The camera museum and photo displays are also entertaining and informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and great tour”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the Eastman House and galleries. The home has many original furnishings and the volunteer tour guide was very personable and educational. Before our tour, we wandered the photography galleries as well as the technology gallery with an array of cameras. The gardens were beautiful this time of year and painstakingly cared for by volunteers. We loved it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very interesting exhibit about photography and related technology. Also some very good photo exhibits. there is also a garden tour and a tour of Eastman's home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I cannot say enought wonderful things about this place. I had an afternoon to myself, while on vacation & decided a wander around would be a great way to stay out of the sun & showers.
What an impressive house, it has huge kerb appeal. The main enterance is at the back of the house & it is huge. I firstly went to the gender exhibition that was on in the galleries, & it was magnificient. A detailed history of photography along with all of the most memorable phototgraphs through world events.
The part of the house that was occupied by George Eastman and his family was so oppulant, & it was a great treat to be able to get so close to the items & event into the rooms. Only a small rope kept visitors on the right path.
I got a great insight into the families life & the culture.
I also had a visit to the coffee shop & the baklava was better than Harrods. It came on a lovely old plate & the only downside was that my tea was in a paper cup & not an old cup.
It was a great way attraction & I would highly recommend it .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 20508143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Eastman Museum also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to George Eastman Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing