We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and interesting!”

George Eastman Museum
Ranked #3 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The George Eastman Museum is located in Rochester, New York, on the estate of George Eastman, the pioneer of popular photography and motion picture film. Founded in 1947 as an independent nonprofit institution, it is the world's oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives. The museum holds unparalleled collections-encompassing several million objects-in the fields of photography, cinema, and photographic and cinematographic technology, and photographically illustrated books. The institution is also a longtime leader in film preservation and photographic conservation.
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fascinating and interesting!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

While we were in Rochester for business we decided to take some time to visit the George Eastman House. My Dad who had worked at Kodak for many years and had visited it upon his retirement had so enjoyed it and recommended it to my husband and me. We highly concur! The museum has an array of old cameras which did bring back a lot of fond memories. There are some lovely photographic displays. The Eastman house itself is beautiful. There is also a section for children that has a lot of fun, interactive and educational activities. Definitely a must see if you are in the area!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank set2go52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    200
    35
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing house, amazing man, amazing story!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visited the Eastman House because we love touring historic homes. This one is a beauty! According to our docent, almost 90% of the house's contents are original. That's pretty amazing, considering the house served as the president's home for RIT for a number of years. It also served as the actual photography museum, prior to the addition of the current museum.

The Eastman House is fascinating. Eastman kept excellent records, so the staff is very knowledgeable about George Eastman himself, as well as the house. Any room that is on display has photographic records to accommodate it.

The International Museum of Photography was also quite interesting and part of the admission to the house. We paid extra to see the Norman Rockwell exhibit. It was truly worth the extra few dollars!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Luvtotravellotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I drove to Rochester especially to see the Eastman House and I wasn't disappointed. This is truly a wonderful place. It's self guided and you can take pictures inside. Upstairs you'll find a couple of rooms that tell you more about George Eastman and Kodak. I found it interesting and entertaining. There are also changing exhibitions about photography and a movie theater with special screenings.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank babdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building and Grounds”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is a must see if you are in Rochester. This is the home of an amazing man (and his mother) who did so much for the City. It is an historic home and the exhibit that was there was the Norman Rockwell exhibit. Fascinating look at the man and the way he worked - using photographers to take pictures of the models from which Rockwell would composite into a painting. I learned so much. Continuing on to the rest of the home, you see how George Eastman lived. It's really overwhelming. Read about his daily life, his contributions, and his death. He was a man who controlled every aspects of his (and others') life. Well worth the price of admission!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank tncutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornell
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anytime is good but summer is best”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

If you go in the summer you get the added bonus of the gardens. But the photography and the Eastman House are always spectacular. Even the gift shop is cool. If you are going to the Park Ave. Art festival or the Clothesline Festival it is very nearby and makes a nice addition to either event. Its also very close to the art museum and science museum.

I've been several times and enjoy it more each time I go.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BillLovesBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Eastman Museum also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to George Eastman Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing