We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adventure wiithin driving distance”

Finger Lakes Wine Country
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“adventure wiithin driving distance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been going to Seneca Lake for the past 10yrs. We attend the summer Jazz Fest at Glenora Winery. What a fantastic view! Sitting on the side of the lake, enjoying good wine, good food and great music. You can bring in your own or purchase on site. There is a wine tasting room and a retail area filled with wine related merchandise. We have also done the Hazlet (?) Winery and tasting on the other side of the lake as well as climbing the steps in Watkins Glen State Park to view the waterfalls ( I think there are around 18 waterfalls).. We usually stay in Corning. Other places we have visited on the Finger Lakes wine trail are Belhurst Castle in Geneva, the Grapefest in Naples, Horsehead and Elmira, NY. Love this area, Next trip to see the fall colors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaz1luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    56
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Ohio
1 review
“Deerhead Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Four of us went to Deerhead Inn for dinner. We all had the salad bar and we all got stomach aches and the runs. This was Oct. 5th. They were all right in 1 or 2 days but it is Tues. Oct 8 and I am still having a problem.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Lake Owasco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our family rented house on the lake for a week Memorial Day weekend 2012 for our family reunion. What a beautiful area! The house was awesome and everyone had such a great time. there was a park nearby where we took our grandchildren and we had a blast. Then we walked along beautiful trails, enjoyed nature. We visited several wineries which was fun. All in all a great experience. It is such a beautiful relaxing area with so much to see and do. I had to make a choice from a list for the dates we visited so I put Nov 2012 but we were there in May 2012 :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tzawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Variety of Wineries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We toured the wine region on a Tuesday in March and were pleased to find so many of the wineries open. There was no traffic, and the scenery was beautiful. Found some great wines and met some very interesting winery owners.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Winery Standouts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife & I visited the finger lakes region for the first time & we were impressed with the scenery & the overall quality of the wineries. We obviously did not visit all the 100+ plus wineries in the region & were only able to visit about 25 or so in the Seneca & Cayuga lakes area. The top 3 of those we visited were Herman Weimer, Ravines & Sheldrake.. Reislings from all three (including dry) were excellent as well as an outstanding Chardonnay (2012) from Weimer (probably one of the best Chardonnay's I've had). Ravines had some surprisingly good reds (their Meritage in particular). Sheldrake's dry reisling, pinot gris & ice wine were great as well We were unable to visit Keuka lake to go to the Dr. Frank winery. ALmost all wineries in the area had at least one good wine but the 3 above stood out in the quality of all the wines we tasted. In addition prices for the most part were very reasonable

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barryfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finger Lakes Wine Country also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Finger Lakes Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing