We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop in at Ventosa Vinyards - Winery”

Finger Lakes Wine Country
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stop in at Ventosa Vinyards - Winery”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ventosa winery is on Seneca Lake just east of Geneva. The décor is Tuscan. The view is great. The café has great food, that you can take out on the large deck, view the vineyard, the lake, and make believe that you're in Tuscany.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    59
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Are we in California or New York?”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The quality of New York wines has become equal to some of the best California and European wines! As is evidenced by the number of award winning medals you can view when you arrive @ one of the wineries.The lakes are just spectacular, summer or winter, with many good restaurants along each shore, with wonderful vistas, or the water splashing in close to your feet! The prices have escalated in the past 10 years, but you get what you pay for. Wonderful getaway for us as most of the lakes are just an hour or so from our home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DBandWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Gem...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The entire Finger Lakes area is worth seeing...highly recommended. This area, Niagara Falls, & the Adirondacks are the 3 gems in the crown of NYS. We love all of the lakes. Penn Yan is beautiful, & Skaneatles is stunning. Dr. Frank's is a must see for wine...but there is no wrong choice no matter where you go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulaandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great wine, quaint towns”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Finger lakes is one of our family's favorite vacation spots and day trips. We have vacationed on several lakes with Keuka Lake being our favorite. We would recommend checking out the town of Hammondsport, NY...very quaint and charming! Nothing can beat spending the day driving around any Finger Lake and visiting their many wineries, restaurants, & antique shops. Our favorite winery is Bully Hill...great restaurant overlooking Keuka Lake and they give the most fun winery tours!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One Day is Not Enough”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you live within 2 hours driving distance, you need to make your way to the Finger Lakes Wine Region. Not only that, but you need to plan on spending a couple of days here. My recommendation would be to book a bed and breakfast for the weekend and spend at least 3 days / 2 nights exploring the wine trails, eating at local restaurants, relaxing at the parks, hiking the trails, and shopping in the small towns. This is truly the perfect getaway and if you live within 2 hours, it's practically in your backyard!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finger Lakes Wine Country also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Finger Lakes Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing