We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Jerry and the Mermaid”

Jerry & The Mermaid
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open Seven Days a Week Year Round. Located directly next to the Hyatt Place East End Hotel and Atlantis Long Island Aquarium! Just minutes from Tanger Outlets and a short drive to the Hamptons or LI wine country. Arrive by car or by boat using one of Jerry's complimentary docking slips!
Lindenhurst
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner at Jerry and the Mermaid”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a wonderful meal at Jerry and the Mermaid in Riverhead, next to the New Hyatt Place and a few short steps from the Riverhead Aquarium.
My Wife and I had been there a few weeks ago with my brother and sister in law,for a very quick salad lunch as we were leaving for a show.
My wife and I were shopping at the Tanger Mall and we decided to go back to this restaurant, as it had anice atmosphere and the Salads we had had were very good.
We are definitely GLAD we went Back.
We ordered fired Calamari as an Appetizer, which were done to perfection. had a Great Bloody Mary.
I ordered the wasabi encrusted Salmon with Rice and Fresh Vegetables, Excellent, as we weren't sure of the Stufffed Crepe Newburg sauce, our Waitress LYNN, went into th kitchen and took a small salad dressing cup with the sauce for us to taste. I thought that was very Kind of her and it proved to be excellent as my wife ordered it. Lynn was one of the BEST waitresses I've ever had, and being in sales I've gone to a lot of restaurants. The food was over the top and I'm sure the chef is either Culinary Institute trained Graduate or Johnson and Wales. All in all One of the Best restaurants we've been to and we recommend it to all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    139
    49
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great oyster rockerfellers, artichoke francaise, and wings!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Was staying at the Hyatt Place next door and decided to try the restaurant in the parking lot. A few of us tried several dishes: steamers, marinated burger, artichokes, and wings. All items were delicious and the sauces they make on premise were delish! The bartender/waitress was very helpful in assisting in our choices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leslie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food, great prices”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My friends and I were in the area for some wine tastings for the weekend. This place has some of the most delicious food. The prices were very reasonable, the staff was very friendly and the chef even came out and asked us how everything was. There is something for everyone here: bar food, entrees, seafood, chicken, steak etc. , and great drinks. I would definitely go back. t was pretty empty for a Friday night, but it is the off season and we had a pretty late dinner. I would imagine this placed is packed in the summer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candi9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding fare for the price”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This used to be a local diamond in the rough but has been brought more to the front based on its location adjacent to the Hyatt hotel. Great place in the summertime when you can dine on the outdoor patio. Seafood dishes are exceptional and the specials never fail to delight. My wife is a big fan of the grouper with pignoli nuts. Been frequented on the down low by celebrities like Charles Barkley, Lady GaGa, Kate Upton and Cameron Diaz in the past.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c1desm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Expansive bar selection, warm environment, nice menu. Many of the dinner selections are a bit heavy handed, but tasty, and the (non-fried) specials show some subtlety. I ate there twice, so that says something!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Layne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerry & The Mermaid also viewed

Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Jerry & The Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing