We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East End
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Lake NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very attractive, clean and well located for a business or leisure visit to the East End of Long Island. Just a short drive to either the North or South Fork of Long Island. Visit the Vineyards and quaint towns of the North Fork or the beaches of the South Fork. Hotel was very well maintained with a hot, complementary breakfast each morning. Twice, I did find that the complementary coffee was not warm, but once the staff was alerted, the cold coffee was replaced. My visit was during the winter months and the fireplace in the great room for breakfast and in the evening were a nice extra touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillQIndianLakeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    31
    13
    14
See reviews for
63
52
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A bunch of friends and I went to a North Fork wine party last weekend and we stayed over on Saturday night. The room went for $169 a night and they tried to bump us up to $199 and $299 respectively. This is not a $199 a night hotel and I think the $169 was way overpriced for what you get. The rooms are large at least mine was, clean, however the rugs really need cleaning especially the hallways. Beige dirty rugs in a hotel are not nice to look at. The rooms are beige also, a nice large tv with plenty of channels. I slept well. My one problem was there was a nice common room with a tv and fireplace. My friends and I wanted to come back to the hotel and get a take out dinner or pizza and sit by the fire but no go as they had closed the room for a private party. Since it is a common area they did not have the right to rent the room out to a private party. Which they did. We would have like to enjoy it also for $169.

All in all the hotel is $50 too much for what you get. The breakfast is good if you just want coffee, banana and yogurt or a bagel. You are down the street from Tangers Outlets so it is a nice hop there from the hotel. $10 for a cab then the Jitney back to the city. The hotel staff is very friendly and the 2 women on the night shift and morning shift were especially helpful. Holiday Inn if you read this you really need to give those two women a raise. and clean you rugs. Nasty. There are not many hotels in the area so you are kind of stuck here or the Hyatt. Would I stay here again, maybe if I was going shopping but skip the wine. Worst wine ever.

Room Tip: I had room 213 a handicapped room. Shower was really strange, (a padded seat) but room extra wide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Looks nice from the outside but the rooms are smelly and are beginning to look worn. The breakfast bacon and biscuits and raisin bran were not palatable. Just an average place to stay. Please fix the smell coming from rooms! Maybe it's time for new rugs?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlingtonmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very dissapointed, they advertise that they have a heated pool but it is Ice Cold, guess we brought bathing suits for nothing :(
My child was looking foward to swimming during our stay.. Saw someone else complain about this and management replied and said they fixed the problem .... Guess not

Besides that the hotel is nice, very clean and reception desk was helpful...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonytyson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express East End, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Tonytyson2009,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the condition of the pool during your stay. We understand the discomfort this has brought to you and the kids. We highly value your views and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Pretty standard as hotels in this price range go. Clean room, nice staff. Free breakfast was actually very good, more offered than usual at hotels. It is close to the outlets and wineries, and a short drive to the aquarium, so thats convenient. The thing I would advise if that if you do not like the smell of smoke MAKE SURE you request a non-smoking room! We were originally put in a smoking room (we booked through priceline and I guess thats the standard). The smell was AWFUL. Almost immediately upon entering the room, my boyfriends eyes swelled up from allergies. We asked to be moved to a non-smoking room, and since we had booked for 3 nights, they could only guarantee one night at a time in a non-smoking room, and we should just keep checking during the following days to see if anyone cancelled. The non-smoking room was also a bit musty but I always bring febreeze for just this type of situation, and it seemed to do the trick. The next morning there was a different person at the front desk. When I explained the situation & asked if anyone had cancelled, she arranged for us to stay in the non-smoking room for the rest of the stay. That was nice, it was a weight off our shoulders and we were able to properly enjoy the rest of our trip. Overall, this Holiday Inn Express is decent and less expensive than the other hotels in Riverhead.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room if you don't smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After a disappointing stay at the Dune Deck Hotel in Westhampton, we decided to stay a little further away from the beach and save money. It was well worth it. The Holiday Inn Express in Riverhead was the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever been to. They had a delicious breakfast. The rooms were nice and clean, and the service was friendly. It is close to shopping and the outlets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spending only 2 days on Long Island, we found this hotel in Riverhead that was very close to
the Tanger Outlets. Traveling with my daughter, my mother, my sister and niece, we stayed in a 2 bedroom queen suite that had a sofa bed. The room was large enough for all. Breakfast was
good. The staff, especially one night employee was extremely kind and welcoming. I was surprised of other reviews that complained about the staff. We drove to Greenpoint and visited
wineries. Staying out in Northfork would have been much more expensive. We did have trouble finding a dinner restaurant and ended up in a TGI Fridays. If I went again, I would make dinner reservations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolDanipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East End

Property: Holiday Inn Express East End
Address: 1707 Old Country Rd, Riverhead, NY 11901-4422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East End 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express East End Hotel is centrally located in the heart of the north and south forks of Long Island's Suffolk County. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modern luxury and impeccable service of the Holiday Inn Express East End is sure to please. Guests staying in any of our spacious rooms will enjoy our 24-hour business center, free wired and wireless internet access, Express Start complimentary continental breakfast, a refreshing workout in our 24-hour fitness center, or unwind in our Great Room enjoying the warmth of our fireplace along with coffee and tea available 24 hours. We are conveniently located to some of the most popular sites on Long Island: Tanger Outlet Center, Atlantis Marine World Aquarium, Splish Splash Water Park, Long Island Wine Country, Riverhead Raceway, the famed Hamptons, and much more. Please contact the hotel directly to inquire about our packages.Visit Riverhead, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express East End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East End Hotel Riverhead
Holiday Inn Express Riverhead
Holiday Inn Riverhead
Riverhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express East End Riverhead, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing