We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a challenge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Island National Golf Club

Long Island National Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18 Hole Private Member Only Golf Club
Remsenburg, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a challenge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm nowhere near a great golfer but I can hold my own on less challenging courses like Indian Island, Calverton Links etc but this course is craggy and difficult and frustrating and wonderful!! In my experience the staff wasn't exactly friendly but who cares? Just get me to the first tee and all that disappears. Can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank momoboosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Links Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you love links golf, you'll love this course. The east end of LI is sorely lacking in high quality public golf, but this course is brilliantly designed, has always been in good shape, and has a friendly staff to boot. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank frankingeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit painful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful links course, in very good shape, with murderous tall fescue grass all over. Add to that the strategically placed bunkers and occasional water, and you have a tough but enjoyable course. If you are not in the fairway you better bring a ball-hunting dog and a lot of patience. Great course!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nrmbnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Do not waste your time. The Director of Golf was the rudest person I have ever dealt with, I believe his name was Labadore. We drove over an hour to get to the course only to be told that someone on his staff booked our tee time without proper authorization. He told us he would not let us out on the course until he spoke with his employee, who didnt come in until 1 pm, to make sure we were not lying. Being that our tee time was at 9:30 and it was only 8:30 at the time, waiting for his employee to come in would do absolutely nothing for us. Needless to say, I would never go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank nytonc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiting Hollow,NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“experienced golfers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

nice course well kept. need to stay on the fairway. not a course for beginners.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island National Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Long Island National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing