We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Italy/Napa/France in New York”

Martha Clara Vineyards
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chicago
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A little piece of Italy/Napa/France in New York”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a great time with family and friends at Marthas on a Saturday. Only downside was the traffic and crowds, but we are all there to relax and have a great time. No pressure from the staff to get moving. We had a private wine tasting in the loft and it was very tasty and informative. Loved how they paired the wines with food!!!! We will return someday!!
I will say that they need to expand the womens bathrooms I could have sold tickets to the mens rooms with there line being so long all the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chifinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    17
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer since 2005-Oktoberfest relocated to back of farm”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Loveddddd. the festival. Loved the food, beer wine, band etc. However, after going to this festival for so many years. we were disappointed that it was moved from the front lawn (where it had always been) to the back of the farm OFF the main grounds. The security and the tasting room was also confused about purchase of tickets, so they had us go to the tasting room to purchase tickets, then move our car about a mile in. Ok, I admit, a bit of a diva. However, the parking lot closest to the event, was like a long walk on a hot day.When we arrived at the table to get our wristbands. they also were uncertain. It was a bit of a debacle, again, we got over it. The band was fun, the beer and wine were flowing, so at the end of the day....it was great. Just have my gripe, over the new location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yanksansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best 'Hanging out' winery!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I love Martha Clara winery because they always have something going on, even in the winter. There's a spacious room where you can go with your own food and sit and drink many bottles of good wine. Great place to hang out on eastern Long Island!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank flammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good wine, nice location”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Visited Martha Clara Vineyards for their Octoberfest this weekend. It was perfect weather and a really fun ambiance--beer, wine, german food, polka band, horses...what else could you ask for? Food was delicious but a bit pricey, although we were pleasantly surprised that it was only $5 per beer! Kids and pets were welcomed and added to the fun. We visited the actual tasting room after spending a few hours at the event. It was HUGE and very nice inside! Light wood and two big bars to have a glass or try a tasting. The wines were delicious--personally I recommend the Riesling. Outside were several barns with lots of animals which were fun to see, especially after having some wine!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good wines”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was one of our favorites for wine quality during our recent wine tour. They have a nice store front too with stuff you actually want to buy.

But as with just about every winery we visited the service was terrible. There were only two servers for way too many people. We were completely ignored for a while before finally being asked if someone was helping us....ummm...NO. Once we were acknowledged the service was nice, but again the server was spread way to thin.

I don't completely blame the workers as there's no way they can handle the number of customers. Plus there was nobody manning the store front so customers there had to pay at the tasting bar...HELLO MANAGEMENT!!!

I just can't imagine this place during a "real" busy day, but the same could be said for just about every place we visited.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Chooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Clara Vineyards also viewed

Aquebogue, Riverhead
Sagaponack, Hamptons
 

Been to Martha Clara Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing