We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading
Level Contributor
308 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We recently enjoyed a very good 3 night stay at this hotel.
We picked it due to good reviews on Tripadvisor and mainly as a base for visiting the Hamptons.
We arrived late in the evening after a long day travelling from the UK and over an hours drive from JFK airport.
There isn't much parking at the hotel, but there is a car park reserved for Hotel guests just across the street, where you use your room key card to enter. We checked in ok . we found the staff friendly and helpful.
We were given Room 125 on the ground floor at the front of the building.
A spacious room with a king size bed and a lounge area with sofa and desk. Big 42" TV. Not much hanging space but we got by ok. No safe, but there was a Tea and coffee making machine.
Nice bathroom with a very good shower. We found the bed really comfy and the room was quiet, no traffic noise.
There is a complimentary breakfast which was quite good. A few hot items like sausages and egg muffins. The usual cereals and juices, toast etc and some nice pastries. Coffee machines.
It opened very early too which we liked.
There is a swimming pool at the back of the hotel. Not a bad facility and they've made the best of the limited space. There's a small bar next door. There is quite a nice marina at the rear of the property where you can rent kayaks and canoes and there is a board walk where you can walk along the river into town.
We found the hotel in a great location for visiting the Hamptons. West Hampton is a 10 minute drive away,We also got to visit Montauk and Sag harbour. All are lovely and worth visiting. there is a great Tanger Mall also 10 minutes drive away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    237
    65
    13
    9
See reviews for
360
228
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here while visiting the wineries in the North Fork. The hotel is modern and clean. Our room overlooked the marina - a really nice view. The facility offers a complimentary breakfast, which was very good. We took advantage of their "romance" package, in which we received champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and a gift card to a local restaurant. The package was a great addition to our trip. The champagne and strawberries were delivered to our room immediately upon request. From what I've heard, parking can be an issue, but we got lucky with finding a spot. As for the price, our package was worth it, and other hotels in the area that I priced out are just as expensive. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJBmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Danielle618,

I are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the Romance in Riverhead Package. You mentioned in your review that you experienced some of the local wineries, I would recommend that you take advantage of our Grape Escape package which we offer in the Fall. If you would like more information please visit our hotel website. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you in our hotel in the future.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Room was big and clean. WC and shower were ok, no safe in the room. Hotel has indoor and outdoor pools, but we didn´t use it because of terrible chlorine smell. Staff on the reception was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok, little better than in many US hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinkilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Helsinkilainen,

Thank you for sharing feedback on both our facility and staff. It is our goal to provide authentic hospitality to every guest we host in our hotel. We will use your feedback to help improve our customer service and we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt this past week and felt that the $367.00 I paid was a waste of money. It was the same experience as staying at a much cheaper hotel. We had to unpack and haul all of our bags up to the room while dressed in formal clothes. The lobby staff just looked on and didn't offer help. The room was just okay. It was definetly not worth the money. The only problem is that Riverhead's only other options are very scary low budget motels. We should have just paid for transportation home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Lyn22,


Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with a review of your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us to continuously improve our customer service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed by our staff.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in our hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 631-208-0002

Sincerely,

Steven Shauger
General Manager
Hyatt Place Long Island/East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

You get what you pay for at Hyatt Place Long Island. Big and clean rooms even though our room was overlooking the parking lot rather than the marina. I thought the town of Riverhead was a little bit run down (even so, we managed to find a couple of nice restaurants) but as soon as you leave the city center the atmospheare is nicer. Make sure that you have a plan to get around if you are touristing in the area. Staff was friendly and the hotel has most of the facilities that you would expect such as a gym and an Indoor- and outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salvinunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear salvinunta,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. You provided a great room tip and anyone who has stayed in a guestroom with a view of Treasure Cove Marina Resort Marina and the Peconic River will tell you how great it is. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel that hopefully you can enjoy even more of them the next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A one night stay cost us over $300, but the room was large and well appointed with a couch and sitting area, desk, refrigerator, king size bed and large stone and glass shower. It had every electronic convenience you would need as well as 24/7 room service and buffet breakfast. The hotel is on a marina and has both an indoor and outdoor pool, bar & restaurant facilities. It is within feet of the Long Island Aquarium where we were attending a wedding. My biggest issue was the parking. As the hotel is in town, parking is at a premium & the hotel lot is across the street with a gated, gravel lot. The spaces are very tight if you have a large vehicle and is difficult to navigate in sandals. Other than that... and a lack of lighting in the bathroom... it was lovely

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYI7thWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear NY17thWoman,

Thank you for sharing feedback about our facility with the tripadvisor community. You provided a very detailed review and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Regards,


Steve Shauger

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here on a business/pleasure trip at the end of June, 2014. From the check in to check out, it was a great experience.
Front desk was very helpful answering questions and making suggestions for things to do in the area. Our room was bright, cheerful and very clean (suggestion: pay the extra few dollars and get a room with the water view). There were two pools - one inside and one outside. Although we didn't use them, they looked very clean - the inside one is heated. There is a poolside bar with music on weekends.
The complimentary breakfast included hot and cold options - a nice way to start the day.
Parking is free across the street in a gated area or near the entrance if you are lucky.
I can't think of a reason not to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with harbor view. We thought the fifth floor was quiet but if vending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baillie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Baillie B,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with the tripadvisor community. You had a very thorough and informative review and you discussed plenty of the great features we have to offer. Next time you are in the area we would love to have you stay with us again and hopefully this time you can enjoy our indoor and outdoor pools.

Regards

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
225 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
7.2 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Long Island East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Property: Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Address: 451 E Main St, Riverhead, NY 11901-2556
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Long Island East End 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End is located on the waterfront in the heart of downtown Riverhead and adjacent to the Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center and Atlantis Banquets & Events. The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End combines style and innovations to create a completely new hotel experience. An experience that offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers, ensuring you feel more relaxed, productive and fulfilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Long Island East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Hotel Riverhead
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Riverhead, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing