We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay except for one fairly major issue---the HVAC unit was very noisy----not just a minor buzz but a deep seated rattle. We were in room 101--we brought this to the attention of the front desk and hopefully it has been fixed. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.
There is a very small bar area with a limited selection of drinks , beer and wine. The 24/7 food idea is good and what we ate was all very tasty---the chili nachos, flatbread pizza and mushroom soup. The breakfast bar could use some help--not as good as most Hamptons---usual eggs out of a box ,some tasteless ham and some dried out blueberry waffles--yuk. the only good thing was a nice mixed fruit salad which was fresh and delicious.
We would stay here again but would want to go test the AC before moving into the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRPETE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear DRPETE24,

Thank you for your review of our property and I am delighted that you shared that our hotel is a nice place to stay. I apologize that you had an issue with noise coming from your HVAC unit our Maintenance Staff has since made repairs to the unit in your room. You had plenty of positive feedback about your stay in your review and please know that our staff will do everything in their power to make your next stay perfect.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 932 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great stay at this great hotel. Beautiful rooms with friendly and very helpful, professional staff, especially Katie. The best breakfast we've ever had at any hotel. Centrally located with many so many amenities. Its the best hotel we've ever stayed at on Long Island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newyorkfamtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear newyorkfamtravelers,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, amenities and facility. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you and your family in the future.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Great, friendly staff who is all about top notch customer service. The breakfast is more than the basics at other hotels in the area. Spotless rooms with plenty of room - the beds are perfect. Riverhead is a great area with lots of food options close by. The hotel is also immediately next door to the aquarium... Easy options if you're with kids.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank EWC174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear EWC174,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experiences at our facility. The complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet, which includes a multitude of hot and cold items is a great way to start off your day. Our Housekeeping staff work very hard and I am pleased that your guestroom was spotless. Offering clean and comfortable accommodations is a top priority for all of our staff and I thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a (very) limited service hotel with a (so called) stylish and contemporary design (which we found actually quite bland). Check-in was okay but the "Gallery Host" seemed a bit slammed (which they are most of the time or so it seems, given that they are manning the reception / food corner, picking up the phone, replenishing the food, etc). Our room had a good layout; it had 2 comfortable queen beds and was a generous size featuring a seating area. There was a large bathroom with a stand up shower. Cleanliness in the bathroom could have been better; TV set not clean either. No in-room safe available. Complimentary wifi did not work for the entire evening although it was brought up to the staff attention. In the morning, breakfast was very busy; there was a very nice food selection and the buffet was regularly replenished (coffee was good too!). Location was great, not far from the Tanger Outlets. It took about 3 requests to get an in-room movie adjusted from our bill, as it was included in our package. We did not have very high expectations and understood this is a simple hotel concept but still thought Hyatt could come up with something a bit more convincing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Hotelmgr,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize that your experience was slightly disappointing. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us to continuously improve our customer service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed by our staff.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in our hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 631-208-0002

Sincerely,

Steven Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I travel all over the east coast and the place I keep coming back to is the Hyatt place in
Riverhead NY long Island.
The staff there is so very friendly and nice, they know my name when I come through the door. You get treated with all kinds of respect when you are there.
You can ask them about anything and they will have an answer, directions there great about that. I will sit there for a night cap and talk to all of them about life or any thing. Ryan is one of the best I have ever seen, he is cleaning something all the time like, windows ,counters keeping floors dry during rain and snow times . This place is about the cleanest place I have ever stayed at.
There is restaurants and shops in walking distance up and down the street. Quite place. Breakfast is free and the best at that just about anything you want for a continental breakfast goes. Go there you will not regret it.

Andy/MA.

Room Tip: Back of hotel the rooms look over the water and boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1953Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

1953Andy,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property with the tripadvisor community. Our staff constantly strives to deliver top notch service and we are pleased that you have come back to stay with us on multiple occasions. Thanks again and the staff and I look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Attached to the LI Aquarium, is why we stayed. Who'd think to stay in Riverhead, but after researching Sesame Place, Mystic, or Dutch Wonderland, all of which would be great in the Spring or summer, the aquarium, and hotel seemed like the perfect weekend family get away with our toddler. He is already excited we can walk to the aquarium, look outside our room at the boats, mom and dad are excited they have gated parking, the hotel is new, has free hot breakfast, a gym, bar, cafe takeout food, free use of wifi, iPhone chargers, pool noodles and floaties for kids arms, we can walk to dinner, etc. and Riverhead is really undergoing a transformation. FYI, booking through the hotel's 800 number was much cheaper than any website, they also gave automatic AAA 10% discount. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank MikeNYPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear MikeNYPhotographer,

The staff and I are pleased that you and your family were able to have a memorable stay. Our location and facilities make us a great destination for families such as yours. I highly recommend coming back in the summer or fall to taking advantage of one of our great hotel packages. We look forward to hosting your family in our Hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were in the area on business, and we stayed at this Hyatt Place for 3 nights. The staff are very nice, the hotel is very clean, well maintained, etc. My only complaint is that when booking on the Hyatt site, I searched for "pet friendly" properties (which this is), but no where in the booking process did it address the cost. There is a flat rate of $75 for a pet - not too bad for 3 nights, but what a whopper if you just stay one. Apparently there's another $100 fee if you stay over a week. AFTER staying there, I did in fact find all this information on the hotel's website (not easy to find however), and again, it's NOT brought to your attention when booking. Breakfast was included and was above average for a continental-type breakfast. For all you non-pet people, the room we stayed in had NO indication there had ever been a pet there, so they must use the money they collect to do a pretty thorough cleaning. They have both indoor and outdoor pools, and our room had a very nice view out over the marina. Easy to walk to several area restaurants.

Room Tip: One side faces the marina, which is nice. Some of the rooms on that side have a partially blocked vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Al-Sue-Maine,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
68 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
176 reviews
19.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Long Island East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Address: 451 E Main St, Riverhead, NY 11901-2556
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range: $133 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Long Island East End 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End is located on the waterfront in the heart of downtown Riverhead and adjacent to the Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center and Atlantis Banquets & Events. The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End combines style and innovations to create a completely new hotel experience. An experience that offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers, ensuring you feel more relaxed, productive and fulfilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Long Island East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Hotel Riverhead
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Riverhead, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing