We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very kid friendly place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very kid friendly place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights in August. Very well located if you are interested in the North Fork vineyards. The town of Riverhead is trying to reinvent itself but not all that impressed. The surrounding towns are lovely. Very close to Mattituck which is very charming. Very close to huge discount shopping Mall which was very nice if you like that
sort of thing. Very nice Aquarium right next door to hotel. Lots of kids at the hotel.
Breakfast was terrific & so nice to have right downstairs. I would definitely give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebmom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    225
    61
    12
    9
See reviews for
336
220
17
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very good 2 night long weekend getaway at Hyatt. The hotel does charge a lot of money on in demand days which takes away the value somewhat but then eastern Long Island does not offer many good hotel choices.

Room – The layout of the room is very convenient and it is nicely appointed. I would definitely choose the marina/pool view rooms (even numbered) over the front parking lot facing rooms. There were a lot of families with little kids (us included) so the noise could be an issue at times. A small fridge is there for use but no microwave. The TV has good selection of channels (I did not see TV listing but once you connect to the hotel’s wi-fi, you can find it there). The bed is comfortable and A/C worked really well. I did not like the weak water pressure but the showerhead did have 3 – 4 different settings which helped a little bit. The bathtub also drained really slow and the lighting in the bathroom is pretty dim. The complimentary wi-fi worked relatively well. The signal was weak at times but not bad at all. Overall the room is modern, clean, and comfortable.

Location – Riverhead is a great home base for visiting eastern LI. The northern or southern beaches are 30 – 40 minutes away. The hamptons/wineries are about an hour away (depending on the traffic). Riverhead itself is not that attractive but the aquarium is right next door (we didn’t go but the hotel has coupons) and the immediate area felt safe.

Parking – There are only about a dozen spots in front of the hotel. The large lot across the street is gated and requires a room key to enter so you will need to check in first to get the key. Crossing the street is no big deal and there is a crossing guard at certain times.

Breakfast – The hours are longer than other hotels I’ve stayed at and the offerings are pretty good. The “skillet” included scrambled eggs, pancakes and a rotating meat (sausages, ham, etc.). There are breads, bagels, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, cottage cheese, and fresh fruit. Drinks include milk, apple/tomato/orange juice, coffee and tea. It appears the peak hours are between 9 – 10am but it is still orderly and the area is kept clean by the staff.

Facilities – The 2 swimming pools serve the purpose well. The outdoor pool has many lounge chairs and the small indoor pool is good for bad weather days. The gym is small but has the latest Life Fitness equipment: 2 treadmills, an elliptical, a bicycle and a bench and some free weights. There are no mats. I think a TV and an exercise ball could be a nice addition to the room.

Reception – The reception area is connected to the 24 hour café. The front desk staff does everything here. They deserve a lot of credit for being courteous and handling everything from making coffee to handling any issues to being a concierge, etc.

Food – The hotel has a poolside bar & grill. There is a seafood restaurant/bar right next door: Jerry & the Mermaid that delivers to the hotel. We tried the restaurant which was more than acceptable, offering good seafood pasta dishes, fish & chips, clams, oysters, etc. The better restaurant was a cute Turkish place called Turkuaz Grill. The food was excellent. You can get there by walking through the marina by the waterfront.

There are many many activities to do around Long Island and the Hyatt Place is a great option. The value should be much better during the off season.

Room Tip: Even numbered for marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piaget18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hyatt. Both times, we had phenomenal customer service. The hotel has two pools, one indoor, one outdoor. Both are kept clean. We were there during peak summer season and only once did the pool get a bit too crowded. It was very pleasing to spend almost the entire day at the pool.

The breakfasts are decent for a free continental. (My three year old LOVED breakfast.)

Having a Starbucks and 24 hour snacks is a very good touch. The rooms are nicely designed, but a few things prevent me from giving five stars: The fridge in the room is a cheap variety which either doesn't cool the food or freezes everything. There is no microwave in the rooms. When we travel with a three year old, these things are important. The toilet kept backing up and it was a hassle. And, this is a message to all hotels: if you are going to offer cable TV, can you please upgrade to have basic things like "info" and some movie channels?

That said, the best part about this Hyatt is the customer service. The people at the front desk are willing to do almost anything for guests. They are great. They ran my son's sippy cup through their dishwasher several times for me and were very helpful with any requests or questions we had. They faxed documents for us, etc. And the icing on the cake was that the manager discounted our bill substantially due to the faulty toilet, so that we left there feeling well-taken care of and sorry to leave.

Room Tip: We paid $20 extra a night for the river view. It was a lovely view, but not sure if it was worth it...
See more room tips
Green Features: No evidence of recycling. This was troublesome. But they do ask you to forgo getting linens and towels changed each day.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mick M,

We truly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our associates. We strive to provide each guests stay with both genuine and authentic hospitality. On another note our maintenance staff has resolved the issue with the plumbing in your room and again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We look forward to hosting your family in our hotel soon!

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatou, France
Level Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is clean, convenient and well located. It enables to go to many places around since there is nothing particular to do in riverbed excepted the tanger outlet, the aquarium (for kids) and cayak. We had a large room for 2 adults and 3 kids, well equipped with a nice view on the river. There are 2 swimming pools, one external (water was cold in August) and one internal. One basic fitness center. There is a large car park in front of the hotel and a nice pool bar where you can have breakfast (but nobody told us). Service is good, people are smart. Breakfast buffet is too "industrial", meaning food has no taste. A positive point : you can have Starbucks expressos as much as you want. Price is too high but they were full, so maybe it is market price

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Thomas P,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. When guests share feedback is tremendously valuable to us and we will be sure to utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing this feedback and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 631-208-0002.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Place East End as part of a romantic getaway weekend to the Hamptons - the hotel was very nice, relatively new, and the staff was friendly and accessible. There are not many hotel options around, so that definitely bumps the Hyatt Place up a notch. The only things that we didn't particularly care for were the breakfast offerings (c'mon, Hyatt Place - go visit Hampton Inn and even the Fairfield Inn for lessons in quality) and the soft bed, which didn't bode too well for my back. That notwithstanding, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenbeltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear greenbeltdan,

We are pleased that our staff was able to leave a positive impression on your romantic getaway. We also appreciate your recommendations on where to improve our services. This valuable information assists us with our goal of continuously improving. The next time you are looking for a romantic getaway take a look at our Romance in Riverhead package which is offered year round as it may be a great fit for you.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in August and wished we had booked longer. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms well organised into sleeping/sitting areas. It is well situated on the waterfront and there is a lovely boardwalk to stroll along in the evening. The town is a social mix but felt safe to us. A good breakfast though the eating area is rather cramped when the the hotel is busy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear MagicGirl57,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share kind words about our staff and facility. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay shore, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend were both very amazed at how nice the rooms are. Beautiful, comfy, cozy, and the amazing aquarium is right next door! Well done. The in-ground pool out back was bumping. The staff was super friendly. The bed is really nice. Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Joseph B,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and facilities. I am pleased that you were able to experience the Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center as well as our outdoor pool and grill. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Steve Shauger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
19.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Long Island East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Property: Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Address: 451 E Main St, Riverhead, NY 11901-2556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Long Island East End 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End is located on the waterfront in the heart of downtown Riverhead and adjacent to the Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center and Atlantis Banquets & Events. The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End combines style and innovations to create a completely new hotel experience. An experience that offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers, ensuring you feel more relaxed, productive and fulfilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Long Island East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Hotel Riverhead
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Riverhead, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing