We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and did a mini tour of The Hamptons. Riverhead is a great base to do this. We got a ‘shop to you drop’ package deal, which included a book of coupons for the nearby Tanger outlets as well as two complementary glasses of wine one evening.

The bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable. We had a large corner sofa and desk area in the room we stayed in.

There are three computers in the lobby for guest use and the complimentary breakfast is adequate. There is also additional parking across the street in another lot which can be accessed with your room key.

The staff were very helpful, particularly the dark haired girl on the front reception desk, when there was a mix up with housekeeping and our room was not cleaned one day, she was very helpful and apologetic.

Great hotel – can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairead2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 943 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room is suite-like, with a large comfortable sofa and ottoman to relax, large-screen TV with HD channels, and great bathroom set-up. The little things reflected a hotel with above-average quality. There was a very good exercise room and two pools. The breakfast included several hot items that were already assembled and other bread, cereal, fruit and yogurt items, also better than average and fresher than often found elsewhere. It's in a downtown area of Riverhead that currently suffers from a lot of empty storefronts but it's also a convenient launching point for exploring either the north or south fork of Long Island. Jerry and the Mermaid next door is also a good restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I really enjoyed visiting the Hyatt Place in Riverhead. The room arrangement couldn't be more prefect for a traveling family. I loved how the room was divided with a pull out bed in one section and the two queen beds in the other. It was a very roomy area for us to get ready in the mornings and the sleeping arrangements were comfortable. The kids enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pool. Me and my husband enjoyed the outdoor area with the bar directly across the pool. We could have a few drinks and enjoy the sun while the kids played in the pool. The morning continental breakfast was pretty good. It was always very crowded downstairs in the morning with people taking advantage of the free breakfast. There was cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, and a few warm items to choose from. You can't complain for a free breakfast. Front desk staff was very nice, never had any problems with check in. When we checked out we used the kiosk and it couldn't have been easier. There was a parking lot across the street which offered free parking as well. The room was an excellent value and was the perfect, relaxing stop for the last leg of our trip. Finally, there was a restaurant (Jerry and the Mermaids) right next to the Hyatt. It offered reasonable priced food and a nice atmosphere with a view of the harbor. The owner, had a great attitude and provided friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family_vacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Room Type: Booked standard King
Rate Paid: $100 corporate rate
Reason For Stay: Business
Overall Score: 59/70

Location - 8/10

A little tricky to find off the LIE, especially at night, but once you get there, its in a fine place with plenty of dining and entertainment nearby, including an aquarium right next door (with sea lions in an outdoor exhibit.

Room Design - 10/10

The larger mini-suite design gives you plenty of room to move, with a large desk and sitting area. A single large screen TV serves both areas. The bathroom area is larger than most.

Room Amenities - 9/10

High speed internet was almost unbearably slow, but I managed. The TV offers the new lodgenet service that lets you control the TV with your smartphone, minimizing contact with the remote. There was a small bar area with a fridge and coffee maker.

Design and Layout - 9/10

The hotel was very spacious, with lots of seating, a business center and a bar. Instead of the usual market there was a grab and go section with fresh foods and drinks, nicely appreciated.


Amenities - Non Club - 8/10

There is an indoor and outdoor pool and a well equipped workout room.

Club Room - Not Applicable

Hotel Staff - 8/10

The staff was quite friendly, knew the area and was always willing to answer questions.

Dining - 7/10

The rate includes a free breakfast, and it was ok. Pre-assembled breakfast sandwiches were available, a selection of fruit and pastries as well as cereal. The chill table could have kept the juices colder.

Comments and Notes:

It's not part of the hotel but check out Jerry's Mermaid next door. It doesn't look very impressive, and in hot weather might be a bit warm, but the food was top notch and very reasonable for the area.

Although a newer hotel the room already showed a significant amount of wear and tear, but that's not surprising in a hotel that probably caters to a lot of families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night before local triathlon. Rooms are extra large with great flat screen tv, desk, fridge and big comfy couch. Called down to front office and they even brought us up a microwave. Great outdoor pool bar/ restaurant too. Location is great , right next to great restaurant and the aquarium.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreimer043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really nice hotel, with great spacious rooms. We really enjoyed our stay! Breakfast is not a highlight, but this was to be expected at a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuikku84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. It's new, nice amenities, next to aquarium and close to highway to get to Hamptons. Rooms were very spacious. Good breakfast and coffee bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac6641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
68 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
177 reviews
19.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Long Island East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Address: 451 E Main St, Riverhead, NY 11901-2556
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range: $129 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Long Island East End 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End is located on the waterfront in the heart of downtown Riverhead and adjacent to the Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center and Atlantis Banquets & Events. The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End combines style and innovations to create a completely new hotel experience. An experience that offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers, ensuring you feel more relaxed, productive and fulfilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Long Island East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Hotel Riverhead
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Riverhead, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing