We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel. Perfect for Aquarium Goers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel. Perfect for Aquarium Goers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 as part of a wedding party. Booked and average 1 bedroom room for my fiance and I. Absolutely beautiful room. Immaculately clean. Extremely comfortable couch, excellent TV (with hook-ups for your laptop... bring your HDMI cable!), very nice work desk, and clean well laid-out bathroom. Views on the back of the hotel are better since you get to see the water and not the street. Downstairs you have a bar / food area in the lobby, an excellent complimentary breakfast spread, and two great pools; one indoor and one outdoor (Not the biggest pools, but perfect for cooling off). No hot-tub though. There is also a poolside bar which serves drinks and food till 11, and a nice sitting area very close to the water. Staff was very nice and extremely helpful. Hotel is literally connected to the aquarium banquet / event center, and one door down from the aquarium itself. The only downside: the bed. Slightly stiff for my taste, and the pillows are very tall. Bring your own pillows if your picky about that kind of stuff. Everyone in the wedding party had the same complaint about the pillows, but loved everything else about this place. I would definitely stay here again... but with my own pillow :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel have a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    225
    61
    12
    9
See reviews for
336
220
17
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed one night on our way from the North Shore back to New Jersey. Hotel is modern and generally was decent however it didn't seem up to the standard one would expect for the price paid. The area of Riverhead is pretty beat and there was a fair amount of 'characters' walking around the general area of the hotel. We wouldn't feet comfortable venturing out on foot from the hotel property and even if we did many storefronts are shuttered in the town. The room was comfortable, the staff young and in need of better training, and the breakfast was underwhelming. Not being familar with this area and what other options are available, we would say that this hotel is a reasonable choice. What really saved the day for us was the excellent dinner we had down the road at the Farm Country Kitchen.

Room Tip: High floor room although facing street was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Place Long Island East End, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Zingland:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us to continuously improve our customer service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed by our staff. Our hotel provides security staff 24 hours a day to make our guests stay more comfortable. I would also like to note that Downtown Riverhead has a lot of great new stores including a Ralphs Italian Ice, The Blue Duck Bakery and many more due to open up.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in our hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel

Sincerely,

Steven Shauger
General Manager
Hyatt Place Long Island/East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and used as our base for trips around the Hamptons and Montauk. Perfect location! Brand new hotel with great rooms and free breakfast. Also had two pols and a nice fitness center. Had a outdoor bar and arcade. Can't do wrong with this hotel! We had out 21 year old daughters and the four of us fit comfortably with two double beds and comfortable couch. About an easy hour drive to Montauk and Hamptons. Friendly staff and super clean!!!!!'. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burnsjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoy visiting Cooper's beach from Manhattan and it is hard to do 2 hour drive each way on same day. This Hyatt place is 25 minutes drive from Southampton beaches and restaurants. The hotel is nice and clean behind a dock which is interesting. We enjoyed our stay but the beds in our room were uncomfortable (beds in our cousins room next door were fine).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formula1Champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The service was incredibly good. All the staff were genuinely friendly and interested in making our stay a pleasant one. This is the first time I´m bothered to write a review about a hotel stay and this was the reason. I must give special thanks to Kristin, I guess, (red/brown hair) who did our check in on June 21st.

We had the romance package and everyhting was waiting for us when we arrived. Room was very spaciuos and clean. In addition, we enjoyed dining at the tRP which was surprizingly high end. It´s certainly the place to go when staying at Hyatt East End.

The wonderful staff and good amenities definitely make up for the fact the hotel is not located in a nicer or more happening place. It´s situated conveniently enough though to be used as your base for a little Hamptons/Montauk/LI getway. I did a good review on the options around and found this one to be a really great deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Upon checking into the property we were warmly greeted by a very knowledgeable and helpful front office staff who set the tone for a great vacation. Ideally situated next door to the Long Island Aquarium and just a short distance to the beginning of the North Fork wineries. We will defintely return to the Hyatt Place East End & Resort Marina.

Room Tip: water view is lovely, however there are no balconies/terrace to fully enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here with the husband for some R & R after we both had minor surgery. Staff exceptionally nice (especially the outdoor bar), very roomy room (when I asked for a river view, I was upgraded immediately), breakfast good. Bathroom adequate but floor needed a sweep. Perfect for what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
18.7 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
19.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Long Island East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Long Island East End

Property: Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Address: 451 E Main St, Riverhead, NY 11901-2556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Long Island East End 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End is located on the waterfront in the heart of downtown Riverhead and adjacent to the Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center and Atlantis Banquets & Events. The Hyatt Place Long Island/East End combines style and innovations to create a completely new hotel experience. An experience that offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers, ensuring you feel more relaxed, productive and fulfilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Long Island East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Hotel Riverhead
Hyatt Place Long Island East End Riverhead, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing