We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not bad for a group”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for a getaway weekend with other couples for some wine tasting and such. Arrived late on Friday, and the heat in our room was not working - they offered to try and find someone to repair, but it was already midnight and we were tired, so we lived with the chill for a night. They did fix promptly Saturday while we were having breakfast. Hotel offers a solid restaurant/bar area (felt the food a bit overpriced for what it was, but after a day of wine tasting, nice to not have to travel to dinner).

Pros – good location for accessing the wine tasting area of the North Fork or visiting the local farm markets (and, based on the map, not a bad location for the South Fork, though we didn't go that way). Helpful desk staff.

Cons – there's no way that was a queen-sized bed. The heating/cooling unit was, as mentioned above, temperamental. Once on, the room got incredibly stuffy. Not a bad place, but I just didn't feel incredibly comfortable. Not much to do in Riverhead itself, or, at least, didn't seem to be too many alternative breakfast/dinner options without travellng up one of the forks.

Overall, I'd say it was a good option for what we set out for, and great for having a group together. If I were to go as an individual or couple to explore the East End, I think I would probably search for a quainter, more unique option in the area, such as a B&B, or just stay out on Greenport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Wolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Rob_Wolff,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve.I am delighted to hear that our location was suitable for your needs and our front desk helpful. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    194
    66
    33
    17
See reviews for
102
228
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

As usual the Hotel Indigo Team did a great job of making me feel welcomed! Thank you so much to Harry and Sharlene for being so helpful and pleasant to speak with. You must try Baiting Hollow winery and Crooked Ladder Brewery! So much fun! I will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Was in NYC, working and decided to tack 2 extra days onto the trip for quick trip out to LI. I was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Hotel Indigo. Fantastic location, charming staff, very nice rooms and a surprisingly good meal at the restaurant. Absolutely would stay here on my next trip to LI. It was so quiet both nights of my stay, that I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear bamcg,

Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding your stay! I am so happy to read that you were impressed with the entire Hotel Indigo hotel as well as the staff. We hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
The Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Really loved the decor of the hotel - unique design. Really loved the beach inspired print on the bedroom wall. The grounds are lovely and absolutely loved the outdoor fireplace. The pool area looked fabulous but unfortunately it was raining during our stay so we did not have the opportunity to use it. One feature i thought was a nice touch is that they have a fully stocked bookshelf in the lobby and the books are free of charge for the guests.

The customer service was decent, but not outstanding. Their seemed to be quite a bit of confusion over the pre-paid breakfast we ordered online.

It seems there is quite a difference staying during the week versus the weekend for several reasons (we stayed on a weekend). First the price was about double the price that is offered during the week. Honestly it was the most i have ever paid for a hotel in my life, and while i definitely enjoyed my stay, it was definitely overpriced for what we paid. For the price offered during the week it is definitely worth it and a good choice. The other negative during the weekends is that the place seems to cater to wedding parties, and really made things quite busy with loud and neurotic wedding go-ers all over the place.

So overall really like the hotel, but recommend for during the week only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egallerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear egallerie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your most recent stay at The Hotel Indigo East End. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our complimentary library! I do apologize for any disturbance you may have experienced due to our wedding crowd. We do hope we will see you again in the future!

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
The Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hotel Indigo East End is a beautiful, modern hotel at the gateway to The North Fork of Long Island (LI Wine Country) and the South Fork (Hamptons and Montauk). You get access to two beautiful areas of Long Island from this hotel.

Staff is friendly and professional. Rooms are beautifully done, modern (yet cozy) and clean. The food in the restaurant was very good. And although it wasn't "pool season" the outdoor pool area is chic with comfortable furniture, fire pits and a bar. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidman365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear KidMan365,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I was so happy to read that our staff took great care of you and that you enjoyed the hotel! We truely hope to see you again!

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
The Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Brought our two dogs. Rooms nicely decorated and clean.
Ate dinner here for two nights, food was excellent.
Nice pool.
Convenient for shopping at the Riverhead shopping outlet and wine country on the North Fork.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Booker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Booker2009,


Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Hotel Indigo East End. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again!

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked on-the-go during a trip from Boston to New Jersey when crossing the LI Sound as the location was "on the way". This was our first visit to an Indigo facility, and were met with a sickly "vanilla smell" in the lobby which stayed around the whole night...couldn't wait to get out of there!! Then, asked for a "quiet room" and were put "near the back, where not many people were staying this night" and found after dinner that a refrigerator truck was parked just outside in the parking lot with its unit running all night (couldn't turn it off as it was on a 10-hour timer was the excuse given to us), and they couldn't move it, so had to sleep with earplugs all night...not fun!

The staff need to be able to control this, as they didn't even know the truck was parked there till we asked them to move or turn it off. Not very helpful, although they did speak with the driver who wouldn't help.

Seems the staff need more training on customer service resolution issues, as they are young and inexperienced when in a hotel which should be "above the "Express" experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leaddog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsalvatico, Manager at Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Leaddog83,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The Hotel Indigo. It is only through valuable feedback like your's that we are able to address our shortcomings.

We have addressed the issue regarding our truck drivers, they will no longer be able to park their trucks outside of our guest rooms. We have allocated parking in the back of the hotel that is away from our rooms for any large trucks.

In regards to the vanilla scent in the lobby, we do have scent machines which are meant to enhance the experience for our guests, and we apologize for any offense it may have caused for your senses. We may have just replaced the scent which is why it could have been a little stronger than usual.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a "great" lasting memory.

All the best,

Michael High
Front Office Manager
Hotel Indigo East End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
64 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
44 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End

Property: Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Address: 1830 W Main St, Route 25, Riverhead, NY 11901-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very center of it all — the Hamptons,the North Fork, beaches, vineyards,shopping and nightlife, Hotel Indigo is yourstarting point for all the excitement Long Island's East End has in store for you. Indigo has all the luxuries and amenities you deserve. From the restaurant and lounge to our fireplaces,pool, and outdoor spaces, find your greatescape in one of our 100 contemporaryguestrooms on over eight private acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End Riverhead, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing