We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Gem on Long Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo East End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo East End
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Gem on Long Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked hotel for a Christmas family night that the hotel hosted. What a beautiful hotel. There is a big bar with live music. Outside are two gas fireplaces that have comfy chairs to sit and stay warm. The staff was great. We had booked two double beds but were informed due to Sandy they only had queen beds ..but would give us air mattresses. We declined and fit a family of four on the bed... We slept like rocks. Beds were very comfortable. The rooms were small but very clean. The only thing I did not like about room was that the bathroom has a frosted window as a wall and when someone is in the room at night it lights up the bedroom. Otherwise I would recommend hotel for anyone looking to explore the Northfork. Winter or Summer.

Room Tip: The hotel is very long from front to back. We were given a room in the back of hotel. If you do get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    186
    62
    31
    16
See reviews for
97
213
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel during Hurricane Sandy when we had no power or heat. We were so grateful that the hotel had rooms! It's located in a nice quiet setting off of the LIE, right behind the Tanger Outlets. The hotel is very new with a ski lodge feel to it and very modern. The rooms are a nice size, very clean, and nice amenities. A great place to stay if you are visiting the outlets to shop or visiting the East End for wineries. Here's a tip: the outlets have a discount coupon for the hotel in their coupon book of 15% off your stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewaren, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was wonderful and has the absolute best service I ever experienced! The staff is professional and down to earth. We were there the day before Hurricane Sandy and altho tensions were high, EVERYONE was so hospitable. The front desk staff, room service, bartenders, servers, EVERYONE...JUST AWESOME! Thanks Indigo for the most fun wine tour, most memorable evening by the firepit enjoying music and appys, and for being so courteous and professional to your guests. We'll see you in a few months!

Room Tip: For an extra $50, you can get a patio by the pool and firepit. It was soooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razzy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGH
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We only stayed one night- part of The Uncorked Tour- but the room was lovely... clean and pretty- a gorgeous pool- a delicous breakfast- The tour included a town car to drive us to 3 wineries ( actually one champagne,one wine and one vodka) with a picnic lunch- we just loved every minute and hope to stay again in the near future. Oh and the bar and restaurant are classy!!

Room Tip: Not sure just question the helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A friend is managing this property and I know they only provide best practices to create a great hospitality service environment. It's certainly evident from the photos both professional and client submitted that the location is wonderful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tripper4ever_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were disappointed. The room is small and the layout is awkward. It is nicely decorated but that doesn't make up for not even having space for a small coffee table or that the bathroom has a frosted window onto the bedroom (why??) and an awkward location right near the bed. We found the hotel staff to be very unfriendly too (e.g. at check in she didn't even answer our question about where the elevator was and we had to ask the security guard). I will say that the room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very professional and helpful. We wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank addie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo East End, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear addie1979,

We thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. I am pleased you found our housekeeping staff professional and helpful. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to the room accommodations and conduct of our front desk staff. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this location of the Hotel Indigo on October 13, while visiting several of the wineries in this area of Long Island. As with most Hotel Indigos, the room was great; modern, clean, well-kept. However, we found the service to be extremely lacking.

I won't say much about the room, other than the images and hotel website are accurate. Modern, open showers with a glass partition in the bathroom, Keurig one-cup coffee makers in the room, high-end alarm clocks, free WiFi, cordless telephones, etc. If you like modern, clean rooms, you won't be disappointed.

Yet, even though we stayed just one night, we were disappointed by the staff three time; all of which were straightforward, simple expectations.

First, my wife realized that the hair dryer in the room didn't work when she got out of the shower in the morning. She called the front desk and asked if someone could bring another hair dryer. Even though she was told yes, she gave up waiting after 30 minutes without getting one. (Usually, making your female guests leave the hotel in October with wet hair is not a how to satisfy guests.) By the time we checked out 70 minutes later, we still had not received a new hair dryer, nor had the front desk called us back.

Secondly, the hotel advertises free coffee in the lobby mornings from 7 to 11 AM. Yet when we checked out, the coffee carafe was empty. The front desk called the kitchen and asked for more coffee, but ten minutes later, the carafe was still empty and no one had come out to fill it, or even take it back to the kitchen.

Lastly, we ate dinner in the hotel restaurant the night we arrived (Bistro 72). When we checked in, the front desk offered to make us reservations; jotted our names and time down, and said they’d let the restaurant know. When we showed up to the restaurant at 8:00 PM (the time we requested), we were told by the manager that “the front desk just let us know that you had a reservation 15 minutes ago. I’m not sure if we have something.”

My wife and I turned around and saw an empty restaurant, with the exception of two tables.

They did give us a table, but not without a lot of drama and anxiety from the restaurant manager. Oddly enough, the hostess apologized once the manager left the room. We never did see the restaurant fill to capacity, and we were there until 9 PM.

Small inconveniences, I know, but given that Hotel Indigo positions itself as an upscale hotel, things like having coffee available in the lobby (as advertised) and being able to honor a restaurant reservation without making a guest feel guilty are reasonable expectations. Did these minor problems ruin our stay? No, but then again, when you're paying over $350 a night for a hotel room, these kind details should be handled correctly and professionally, not ignored by a staff that doesn't seem to care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AuthorAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo East End

Property: Hotel Indigo East End
Address: 1830 W Main St, Route 25, Riverhead, NY 11901-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo East End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very center of it all — the Hamptons,the North Fork, beaches, vineyards,shopping and nightlife, Hotel Indigo is yourstarting point for all the excitement Long Island's East End has in store for you. Indigo has all the luxuries and amenities you deserve. From the restaurant and lounge to our fireplaces,pool, and outdoor spaces, find your greatescape in one of our 100 contemporaryguestrooms on over eight private acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo East End Riverhead, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing