We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service and gorgeous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo East End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo East End
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
sewaren, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service and gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was wonderful and has the absolute best service I ever experienced! The staff is professional and down to earth. We were there the day before Hurricane Sandy and altho tensions were high, EVERYONE was so hospitable. The front desk staff, room service, bartenders, servers, EVERYONE...JUST AWESOME! Thanks Indigo for the most fun wine tour, most memorable evening by the firepit enjoying music and appys, and for being so courteous and professional to your guests. We'll see you in a few months!

Room Tip: For an extra $50, you can get a patio by the pool and firepit. It was soooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razzy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    180
    62
    31
    16
See reviews for
96
206
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WANTAGH
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We only stayed one night- part of The Uncorked Tour- but the room was lovely... clean and pretty- a gorgeous pool- a delicous breakfast- The tour included a town car to drive us to 3 wineries ( actually one champagne,one wine and one vodka) with a picnic lunch- we just loved every minute and hope to stay again in the near future. Oh and the bar and restaurant are classy!!

Room Tip: Not sure just question the helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A friend is managing this property and I know they only provide best practices to create a great hospitality service environment. It's certainly evident from the photos both professional and client submitted that the location is wonderful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tripper4ever_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were disappointed. The room is small and the layout is awkward. It is nicely decorated but that doesn't make up for not even having space for a small coffee table or that the bathroom has a frosted window onto the bedroom (why??) and an awkward location right near the bed. We found the hotel staff to be very unfriendly too (e.g. at check in she didn't even answer our question about where the elevator was and we had to ask the security guard). I will say that the room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very professional and helpful. We wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank addie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo East End, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear addie1979,

We thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. I am pleased you found our housekeeping staff professional and helpful. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to the room accommodations and conduct of our front desk staff. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this location of the Hotel Indigo on October 13, while visiting several of the wineries in this area of Long Island. As with most Hotel Indigos, the room was great; modern, clean, well-kept. However, we found the service to be extremely lacking.

I won't say much about the room, other than the images and hotel website are accurate. Modern, open showers with a glass partition in the bathroom, Keurig one-cup coffee makers in the room, high-end alarm clocks, free WiFi, cordless telephones, etc. If you like modern, clean rooms, you won't be disappointed.

Yet, even though we stayed just one night, we were disappointed by the staff three time; all of which were straightforward, simple expectations.

First, my wife realized that the hair dryer in the room didn't work when she got out of the shower in the morning. She called the front desk and asked if someone could bring another hair dryer. Even though she was told yes, she gave up waiting after 30 minutes without getting one. (Usually, making your female guests leave the hotel in October with wet hair is not a how to satisfy guests.) By the time we checked out 70 minutes later, we still had not received a new hair dryer, nor had the front desk called us back.

Secondly, the hotel advertises free coffee in the lobby mornings from 7 to 11 AM. Yet when we checked out, the coffee carafe was empty. The front desk called the kitchen and asked for more coffee, but ten minutes later, the carafe was still empty and no one had come out to fill it, or even take it back to the kitchen.

Lastly, we ate dinner in the hotel restaurant the night we arrived (Bistro 72). When we checked in, the front desk offered to make us reservations; jotted our names and time down, and said they’d let the restaurant know. When we showed up to the restaurant at 8:00 PM (the time we requested), we were told by the manager that “the front desk just let us know that you had a reservation 15 minutes ago. I’m not sure if we have something.”

My wife and I turned around and saw an empty restaurant, with the exception of two tables.

They did give us a table, but not without a lot of drama and anxiety from the restaurant manager. Oddly enough, the hostess apologized once the manager left the room. We never did see the restaurant fill to capacity, and we were there until 9 PM.

Small inconveniences, I know, but given that Hotel Indigo positions itself as an upscale hotel, things like having coffee available in the lobby (as advertised) and being able to honor a restaurant reservation without making a guest feel guilty are reasonable expectations. Did these minor problems ruin our stay? No, but then again, when you're paying over $350 a night for a hotel room, these kind details should be handled correctly and professionally, not ignored by a staff that doesn't seem to care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AuthorAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glurch2891
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Recently I had an early morning business meeting on the south fork of Long Island, normally driving distance for me, but because of the early start time I stayed overnight at the Indigo.
Being that it was a slow time of the year (Mid October), there were only a few cars in the parking lot. Check in was smooth despite some electronic problems at the front desk, and the staff was very nice.
I had dinner at the bar while watching a baseball game, to my surprise the food was excellent, much better than i expected. The restaurant/bar was pretty empty with maybe 15 other patrons, so it was a quiet evening. Unfortunately the bar closed at midnight despite the fact that the game was not over so I just finished watching the game in my room. Although I think that keeping the bar open for another hour or less would have been a good business decision, since I and two colleagues were still there and probably more than covered the cost by our purchases.
The room was great, not large but big enough, with a very roomy bathroom. The bed was comfortable and I really appreciated the Keurig coffee machine in the morning.
The room was a long walk from reception so if you have mobility issues or are carrying a large amount of equipment make sure you ask for a close room.
Overall, the property was perfect for what i needed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Glurch2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at an Indigo, and it was a nice change of pace. While the room seemed a bit cramped, the decor really made it feel homey. There were some nice little touches....Keurig coffee machine in each room, Aveda bath products, a spa shower, and a free bar (or to-go) drink for Priority Club members. After a night of long rain, I woke to a slight musty smell in the room. I wish there we door delivery of the paper, and I wish there was Express Check Out. The hotel is conveniently located, and I felt the value was solid, overall.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Majorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
21.6 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo East End

Property: Hotel Indigo East End
Address: 1830 W Main St, Route 25, Riverhead, NY 11901-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo East End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very center of it all — the Hamptons,the North Fork, beaches, vineyards,shopping and nightlife, Hotel Indigo is yourstarting point for all the excitement Long Island's East End has in store for you. Indigo has all the luxuries and amenities you deserve. From the restaurant and lounge to our fireplaces,pool, and outdoor spaces, find your greatescape in one of our 100 contemporaryguestrooms on over eight private acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo East End Riverhead, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing