We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern Long Island visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, United States
1 review
“Eastern Long Island visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The room was very fresh and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the lobby and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
To Henry B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for the Hilton Garden Inn - Riverhead. We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    233
    67
    29
    17
See reviews for
236
274
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a long weekend (4 days) to go to the Hamptons area. We checked a few of the motels around Hampton Bays but they were booked up and what was available was pretty pricey. We figured if we were going to spend over $300 per night, we might as well be in a more luxurious hotel. So, even though it was going to be a half-hour drive each way to the beaches in Hampton Bays and West Hampton, we figured it would be worth it to stay in the Hilton in Riverhead. We were wrong.

We reserved an upgraded Deluxe King room with a whirlpool. I requested a room on an upper floor. When we got to the hotel, the room reserved for us was on the first (ground) floor. I pointed out that I had requested an upper floor and that I was not happy - from a security standpoint - about being on the first floor. People could walk by and look into our window (which they DID). In addition, our room was just a few rooms away from the back entrance. Anyone with a valid hotel room key can enter the back entrance - and the door closes slowly so if someone wanted to, they could come in right behind the person with the key. No security.
The front desk representative apologized and said that all of the "whirlpool" rooms are on the first floor (when I made the reservation - and spoke to a live person in the actual hotel - no one told me that.). She also said that they were completely booked so I couldn't change to a room on another floor, even though I said I was fine with a room that did not have the whirlpool tub. But no dice. So I paid the price of a luxurious room and did not get one.

The Whirlpool: I assumed (incorrectly) that this "upgraded" room was larger than the regular rooms. I was wrong. It's the same size...but it has a whirlpool bathtub IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BEDROOM. There is no glass door or curtain around it so if you were to try to take a hot bath, the water would turn cold very quickly. And...who wants to bathe in the bedroom?? I get that this is supposed to be a romantic thing...but it's not. So we didn't use it. Total waste.

The Bed: All over the web site, it states that they have the "Sleep Number" beds. We were psyched to try those out. Well, they DON'T have the Sleep Number beds. The bed was super firm and not comfortable for me or for my husband - and he usually likes a firm bed. As I'm writing this, the day after we returned home, my back is really achy. So when we were checking out, I mentioned this to the woman at the desk. She said that the "Sleep Number" beds were "TERRIBLE" so they replaced them with new Sealy mattresses. OK, well then update your website, Hilton. And if you're bragging about the quality of your beds, buy GOOD beds that are more comfortable.

The Shower: The water pressure was terrible. We had the feeling that the shower heads had restrictors on them to keep the pressure at a minimum and avoid water waste. That's fine to a point - but I was really looking forward to a nice hot powerful shower to soothe my poor back that was aching from the stupid hard bed.

Noise: I guess since our room was near an exit door, people in the hallway felt as if they weren't walking past actual occupied guest rooms, so it was very noisy in the hallway. The room itself, though was quiet - we didn't hear people in the other rooms. BUT...one night we got in late and we had the room darkening curtains closed so we could sleep late. We were sound asleep at SIX AM, and our SMOKE DETECTOR WENT OFF!!! It scared the crap out of us and we both literally jumped out of bed. It wasn't smoke...it was the battery. Hello Hilton? You have smoke detectors in every room of every hotel. How about every 6 months, you automatically change all the batteries? Well, we had to call Maintenance. And changing the battery didn't work out. He had to change the whole unit. So that was the end of our sleeping late that morning.

The Food: They advertise that they have "Room Service". Well, apparently, they do - but it's only at certain hours in the morning and evening. So if you come in late and are thinking that it would be nice to have a late night snack while you watch TV before you go to bed, think again. You can't.
Breakfast: They have a breakfast buffet for $10, which you can go to until 10AM on weekdays and 11AM on weekends. And on their web site, they make a big deal about their restaurant. I had the impression that it was really top-notch (from what they say on their web site). Um...NOT. Here are the breakfast buffet options: Cold clumpy scrambled eggs, very fatty bacon, oily sausages. Bland runny oatmeal. Toppings for oatmeal: raisins, brown sugar, overly-sweetened granola. Bagels (they looked good but I didn't have any). Some little cookie-type scones and mini danishes - both very sugary sweet. They have little containers of yogurt (one of the "light" brands - OK, but not a healthy style that I'd have with no junk added to it). There was 2% or 0% fat milk (no whole milk and no alternative milks like soy or almond, etc.). Orange Juice, Cranberry Juice, Coffee (decaf and regular). They had tea, but no herbal teas. Only black or green tea (decaf and regular). No herbal choices at all.
You have the option of asking them to make eggs or omelettes customized for you. So I asked for some scrambled eggs. They served them exactly the same way as the ones that were pre-made in the big buffet tin. Clumpy. The only difference was that these were hot.

The room has a refrigerator and a microwave. I'd recommend that you buy food while you're out and bring it back to the room in case you get hungry.

The Pool and Hot Tub - The pool is indoors and it's a dark room. The pool is pretty small and stinks of chlorine. We didn't go further than the door. There is an outdoor hot tub that looked appealing so we went outside to use the hot tub. There was oily scum floating on top of the water, as well as hair and other debris. We were grossed-out and I wouldn't even put my foot in to test the temperature. So we sat down to get a little sun. My husband jumped up - there were wet spots all over his shorts because the seat cushion was wet. We hope it was water. Probably due to a guest dripping something on the seat but the hotel could monitor that more carefully.

The Checkout Process - There was a wedding party checking in when we were checking out. We had to wait for a half hour just to check out. Really guys? This is a Hilton and I'm a Hilton Honors member. If you're anticipating a large party to be checking in, put a few extra people on the desk and have a separate check-out person from the check-in - and have a dedicated person or two for the party so they don't hold up all your other guests.

Housekeeping: The housekeepers were excellent. No complaints. Our room was very clean.

Staff - Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The front desk staff, the restaurant servers, the maintenance guy, the housekeepers - all were very nice.

We will not stay here again. We would have been happier paying the same thing and staying in a small motel near the beaches (even though I don't really like motels and I prefer a higher-end hotel). If this were a beach motel, many of the down-points I've mentioned would be a little more expected and, therefore, passable. In that case, I'd rate it Average. But this is a Hilton and we expected a lot more so I'm giving a Poor rating.

Room Tip: Don't get a Whirlpool Room and stay on a floor other than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCgiirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear NYC giirl,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for the Hilton Garden Inn - Riverhead, NY. I was glad to see that some aspects of your trip were enjoyable and the Housekeeping and Service were very good. I apologize for not meeting your expectations and the confusion about our whirlpool rooms and your request for a high floor. If you do read this, would you forward me the website that tells you about the Sleep System Beds you were refering to. On our website it clearly states in several places that we are Serta Perfect Sleeper property. I want to make sure that future guests do not have the same issue. If you do decide to give us a second chance, please contact me personally to assist and I will make sure your stay is pleasurable.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calverton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

this was an excellent hotel and i would recommend it to anybody. the room was very clean. the service was fast, friendly and professional. the pool/spa was clean and amazing. the food was absolutely delicious. i would stay here again any time and recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Betty B,
On behalf of the entire staff at the Hilton Garden Inn, Riverhead, we would like to thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Our TEAM works very hard to make sure that each and every guest has a positive experience that exceeds their expectations. We look forward to your returning in the future and if you need any assistance booking your next trip, please contact me personally at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. Our room was fantastic. 2 person whirlpool in room was nice as well as small courtyard with hot tub outside. We had supper outside one night by the fireplace. My wife walked across the street to Tanger Outlet - had to hop the median!! We used this as a base to tour the South fork one day and then Shelter Island and the North Fork the next. There is a bit of driving involved but that's what we were there for - very slow through the Hamptons this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear MrTT,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for the Hilton Garden Inn, Riverhead, NY. As a SENIOR CONTRIBUTOR to TripAdvisor I'm sure you went on the site to review the hotel prior to booking and knew it was going to be a lot of driving. Be careful about hopping the median to the Tanger Outlet, it is a busy street!! If you turn left out of the driveway and walk 2 blocks to the light it is much safer. Next time you are in the area, maybe you could take advantage of some of the packages we have to offer like a wine tour, Splish Splash Water Park and of course the Atlantis Aquarium. Again we thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn for your lodging needs. I will also pass along to our Food and Beverage department that you enjoyed dining out on the patio.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
513 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had confirmed reservations for Sunday and Monday nights, We were ahead of schedule so took the Cross Sound Ferry over on Saturday. We called the hotel direct number so see if there were rooms available. We got connected to what we thought was the specific Hilton we were booked into. We had the expectation that since we were Hilton Honors members they would extend the reservation at the rate we were coming in with.
We were told that rooms were available, but the price was $399, 250 more than we had on our pre-booked stay, NO to that, so we came onto the Island with no reservation. We found a place at an inflated rate, but not 399.
This soured us to the entire brand of Hilton Garden Inn, so that we may never book into one ever again.
We do want to shout out Kudos to our breakfast server, Jessica who should get the Miss Perky Award. She turned an otherwise boring meal into a real delight.
And Brian the manager was always doing what he could to make folks feel welcome. A good man to have in charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear BandB-Lovers,
It was great meeting you both and sharing conversation over breakfast. I was glad to hear that you found a place to stay on the Saturday Night. I see you are risk-takers coming into Long Island on a Saturday night without a reservation. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. I will be sure to let Jessica know that she has won the Miss Perky Award!!! Again I know we spoke briefly about the rates and reservations and I apologize we were not able to honor the same rate on Saturday night that you had for Sunday and Monday. Next time, please call and speak to me personally and I will make sure I can get you the best rate available. We will see you next time!!

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 6-18 and 6-19-2014. Both days there was no hot water in the morning. Advised Front Desk, in but nothing was done. Colleague also had no hot water in his room. Hotel is lovely, but without hot water, it's not a place I'll stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
To Katheryn D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Let me start by sincerely apologizing for the problem you had experienced. I know how frustrating not having hot water can be. We have isolated the issue that occured very early morning during your stay. As a hotel that is sold out a majority of the time I can truly promise that this does not happen often and can happen at any hotel property. I will be contacting you by e-mail personally to discuss further. We do hope you will give us a second chance.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel room may have had a roll in shower but beyond that it was a nightmare for use with a wheelchair. Even the door was impossible. I spoke at length about what i needed when making the reservation and was assured the room would be ADA compliant and could be negotiated in a wheelchair. Not true. Very disappointing. Received little to no assistance with the problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Traci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Traci,

I appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. We are 100% A.D.A. compliant and strive for all Accessible rooms to be located near elevators and emergency exits. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments and please contact us if you would like to discuss further.

Thank you,
Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
10.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Address: 2038 Old Country Rd, Riverhead, NY 11901-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exterior of the building pictured on a beautiful day. We are a brand new full service hotel that has many ugrades including some rooms with Whirlpool tubs. We have an indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool as well as an outdoor heated whirlpool. Hotel features: Full service, restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, lounge, indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool and outdoor spa, outdoor seating area with fire pit, preccor fitness equipment, laundry facility, business center and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead Hotel Riverhead
Riverhead Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing