We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Hotel with Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent New Hotel with Great Staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent Staff with a nice clean and tidy hotel. Pretty easy access to and from the hotel and right across from some of the best shopping on the island. Good for business during the day and drinks/shopping in the evening. I ate locally and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank richied824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    233
    67
    29
    17
See reviews for
236
275
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were excited to go to this location for the proximity for a wedding. Arrangements were made by the Brides parents for us to have a early check in. Normal check in time is 3:00PM, we arrived at 2:30pm, and proceeded the front desk. We were then told that no one could check in before 3:00PM, by a very rude desk person who spoke to us like we were misbehaving children. She did not even ask for our name, she was just plain rude. We were finally able to check in to our room at 3;30. NO Towels, No Toilet Paper, and the room was not vacuumed. We had no time to call down to the desk, because we had to get to the wedding. I had to call back at Midnight when we got back to get towels, and I had to go to the desk and get them myself. I grabbed a roll of toilet paper from another guests room.
The room had mold and dirt in the shower as well as the Powered vent in the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluepoint007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by our front desk agent and the missteps you encountered with our room amenities and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, I hope that you will be our guest again so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,
Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Staff and service at this hotel is the best you'll ever receive. Very friendly, they ensure your experience is special. They are informed, competent and they treat you like you are home or part of their family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really enjoyed the hotels proximity to the LI north fork wineries. The hotel is up to par with all high quality hotels. Rooms were well appointed. Bathrooms were very clean and everything functioned well (toilet, sink, hairdrier and lights). While we didn't use the TV much, the 40'ish inch television was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Miguel Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
413 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while we were visiting Long Island wineries. It is a strange location because of access, you have to go west to go east. A minor inconvenience but odd. Ask for a room in the back so you don't hear the road noise. The Tanger outlet center is directly across the street. The front desk staff seemed very inexperienced and had a hard time checking us in because we were using points and it took three people to finally figure out how to check us in. Typically for a "points" stay there is something extra extended (free breakfast or a drink) for being a loyal Hilton customer but not here and in fact, not even a thank you for being a loyal Hilton customer. Would have been nice but oh well. It was very hard to control the temp in the room but that seems to be the norm in Hilton Garden Inns, since I stay in a lot of them. Next time we head to LI we will probably try some place else -- it was fine but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd number on the east side of the building -- it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the missteps you encountered in service and hospitality. Please know that we value your input as a loyal HHonors member and we will share your comments with our team as part of our ongoing service training. We have addressed the issue with your temperature control system and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our brand standard commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel was nice, but honestly I didn't use many of the amenities. I was there for a wedding close by, so the only time I was in the room was for 20 minutes when I arrived, and then overnight until I checked out. My problem is that the water did not work properly in the shower. It started luke warm then heated up. After a few minutes it got cold, so I had to adjust the knob to make it lukewarm. After 2 minutes it became scalding hot. I didn't have time to complain because I was running exactly on time for the wedding. I paid a decent amount for the room. All I ask for is a clean, working bathroom, and a clean, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Bryan,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our old unit and don't foresee any additional issues. Thank you again for your review and I sincerely hope you choose to stay with us the next time you return to the area.

Thank you,
Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Will exceed your expectations! I had a group of 13 for a funeral in Southampton, NY. I did not like the choices there so decided to stay in Riverhead.

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and so many great personal touches. Nice public private and seating areas (if that makes sense) in lobby and a two-sided fireplace. The rooms were nice- maybe typcial Hilton Garden Inn. It has a chimnea and an outdoor seating area. It it offers free internet wireless throughout hotel, and a restaurant that closed at 9:00pm. I did not get a chance to eat at hotel but was told that the breakfast was good.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and it was worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
152 reviews
10.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Address: 2038 Old Country Rd, Riverhead, NY 11901-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exterior of the building pictured on a beautiful day. We are a brand new full service hotel that has many ugrades including some rooms with Whirlpool tubs. We have an indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool as well as an outdoor heated whirlpool. Hotel features: Full service, restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, lounge, indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool and outdoor spa, outdoor seating area with fire pit, preccor fitness equipment, laundry facility, business center and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead Hotel Riverhead
Riverhead Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing