We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winterfest Warm Up package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winterfest Warm Up package”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We (my wife and I) went for the Winterfest Warm Up Package - $300 for two nights with full breakfast ($13 value per person) and free shuttle and admission to one of the vineyards for the Winterfest Jazz festival ($20 value per person).

Location: Conveniently located at the end of the Long Island Expressway. Across the street from the Tangers Outlet. Minutes from the center of town, Riverhead. Nice central location for the Northfork vineyards and easily accessible for a side trip to the Hamptons.

Staff: Friendly and professional. Welcoming and knowledgeable. The front desk was always manned by at least one but usually two people. Gerard the shuttle driver was fantastic.

Hotel: Clean and comfortable. Indoor, outdoor pool and hot tub. Fitness center and business center. One or two conference rooms.

Room: Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, blow dryer. Two queen beds, one night stand with lamp, one work table with lamp and ethernet cable, two phones, one swivel chair and one living room chair. The beds were firm - I like firm but it was too firm for me, not comfortable for people who like their beds on the softer side. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

Breakfast Service: at the lobby restaurant. Comes with both food (eggs/pancakes/bacon etc) to order and a continental buffet. Food was very good. Servers can be more welcoming and friendly and faster/quicker in serving.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bokx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! Our staff in every department goes above and beyond to provide the best possible experience for each of our guests and I'm so glad your experience was enjoyable. We are looking to expand our package offers so please check back with us shortly as we are looking forward to providing more options as far as our packages go. I'm very glad we were able to offer you a great deal and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as explore the local area. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to the north fork of Long Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    233
    67
    29
    17
See reviews for
236
275
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently booked the two night Jazz on the Vines Winterfest package. First the good points...the room was lovely. The bed was terrific! Their sleep bed system is out of this world...a great night's sleep...and a good selection of pillows, too, from firm to soft and fluffy! We attended a free jazz concert in the heated tent the first night and the lead singer had a terrific voice. Day two was the shuttle bus to the Baiting Hollow Farm Winery. What a great afternoon. We received vouchers for 6 wine tastings and food. The wines are great...try the Red Velvet and the 2011 Chardonnay. The food was delicious. The owner would not give up his wife's secret meatball recipe, though...too bad! They were sooooo good. The duo Top Cat was playing...they do a great mix of 60s and 70s and had us up and dancing before the end of the afternoon. We also had a full breakfast every morning, including make-it-yourself waffles and made-to-order egg dishes. The dining area is small and there will be wait if you are a late riser. We also ate dinner there both nights because we were "wined" out and there was some snow so we decided not to venture out. Service is slow (not enough help?) and the waitresses forget things like the silverware and ketchup (sort of a given when the order is a burger and fries, no??). They need a better dessert selection, too. And the restaurant and room service ends promptly at 9pm, so don't expect to eat late, unless you make a purchase from the pantry and use the microwave in the room. And again, not much of a selection except for ice cream treats. Bar prices are steep...$12 for a JW with a splash of water! But the staff are pleasant and helpful and the location can't be beat if you are going to visit the North Fork wineries. Nice indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs, too, but we didn't use them. If I could get another " package" for special event weekends, I would definitely return. And the Tanger Outlet Mall is right across the road!!!

Room Tip: Our friends had a room overlooking the front of the place...parking lot and mall view. We were acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNurse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Staff at check in and out were professional. Pool, hot tub good. Good location across the street from the outlet mall where you can visit a local wine tasting room in addition to shopping. We did not try the restaurant at the hotel. We found this to be a good location to exploring long island restaurants, wineries and small towns.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel! We truly appreciate feedback such as yours as it helps us to maintain our service and quality standards. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully next time you will join us in our restaurant for breakfast or dinner. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The bar charged 8 dollars one night for a glass of house red wine and 11 dollars the next night for the same wine, though we did notice the bill stated 'blanc', tho we received and wanted the same red. We let it go. That was the same night we decided to grab a quick bite in the dining room instead of going out. The chicken wings were fatty and rubbery and concealed under a pool of bbq sauce. The hamburger and fries gave my husband food poisening all night which delayed our return trip home the following day. Breakfast was too expensive at $11.99 for a bagel and coffee? We did make reservations through Hilton as we're AmEx gold card members and see that breakfasts were offered at 10 dollars booking direct (as we did). You need a sliding scale on your breakfast types. Eggs and buffet, fine - bagel and coffee, needs a different charge. We were hoping to enjoy a chat by the fireplace on our last night but it wasn't working. We asked the front desk if the remote needed a battery and they said that maintenance was off for the night. So, no cozy chat for us four and no friendly attempt by your front desk.
In short, thought the room was satisfactory, our visit was marred by poor customer service and poor quality of food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wla1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with your entrées, I have brought your comment to our culinary team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in area we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I recently attended a wedding in New York. The brides' family had reserved a block of rooms for the wedding guests at this hotel. The hotel has a lovely modern lobby with a fire in the fireplace and lots of comfortable chairs on either side of it. I used this space for quiet reading one morning when my husband was working in the room, but the wedding guests also used it as a meeting point and social gathering spot.

The hotel price includes a complete breakfast with omelettes and French toast, as well as muffins, fruit and food that you would expect to appear on a breakfast buffet. The wait staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were great. The breakfast area also converted to a bar area at night where the guests could gather and party after other events.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed here 2 New Years Eves in a row, it is close to home and a really good deal, the staff are great, and just for a night to get away. When we were not happy with our first room, they switched it with no hesitation and sent a new key up within minutes. The pool is always a big hit with our son (5 years old). Although there was only one staff on for some of the evening hours; Christine; was attentative when I asked for towels for the pool (they were out) and when we called down for a cot for our son, she advised me that she was the only staff in the building till 11 pm and as soon as the housekeeping staff came in for their shift she would have one sent up. The cot arrived at 11:05 pm, with a smile. I even loved that we were "welcomed home" when we came back from dinner. The last time we stayed also was a very similar experience and the time before that. I walked in the door to the check-in counter and was greeted by my name even before I announced myself. The staff remembered who I was. That is amazing! A sign of great customer service. (The cookies are always good too!)

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are really nice when one is avaiable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoshannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms clean - heating system quiet. A little bit of road noise on one side. Mattresses worn and saggy. Breakfast is bad experience. Twelve dollars for inattentive waitresses. Poor cooks. Overcooked eggs and soggy bacon. Skip the breakfast and you'll enjoy the room (except for the mattress.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRiverhead, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Steve,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your quick feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and we will be sure to share your comments on breakfast with our culinary team. We strive to provide our guests the best in service and amenities and we will use your comments as we continually strive for this goal. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future so we we can show you the quality stay you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you,
Megan Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
10.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Address: 2038 Old Country Rd, Riverhead, NY 11901-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exterior of the building pictured on a beautiful day. We are a brand new full service hotel that has many ugrades including some rooms with Whirlpool tubs. We have an indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool as well as an outdoor heated whirlpool. Hotel features: Full service, restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, lounge, indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool and outdoor spa, outdoor seating area with fire pit, preccor fitness equipment, laundry facility, business center and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead Hotel Riverhead
Riverhead Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing