We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORIC LANDMARK PROPERTY ON SHORE OF CANADARAGO LAKE”
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake House
Frankfort, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“HISTORIC LANDMARK PROPERTY ON SHORE OF CANADARAGO LAKE”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Proprietors Gene and Chris Corrigan of the Lake House hosted a Chamber of Commerce Business After Hours last night at their historic landmark property. The hosts provided a full open bar and a lovely buffet supper with chicken wings, Swedish Meatballs and Chimichangas. The food was very tasty and nicely presented. The bartenders and servers were very congenial and efficient. The tables were covered with white linens and attractively decorated with a colorful fall theme. There was also live piano music which was most enjoyable. As the evening progressed and the cool fall air started to penetrate, fires were ignited in three open ceramic fire places situated on the sloped front lawn. This added
greatly to the comfort and ambiance of the evening. The event took place under the recently constructed pavilion situated at the waters edge. The pavilion itself is impressive and the view from this vantage point is awesome. Thanks Gene and Chris. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidelbergBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    11
    15
    35
See reviews for
63
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellows Falls
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our Antique Car Club spent two nights here during our annual one week tour in September, this one was September 7-8th 2013.

The place looks nice and cozy on first impression, but the impression doesn't last. Being handicapped I required a downstairs room as there are no elevators.

The room I was given was large, 2 double beds and one twin, it looked pretty makeshift like it was an after thought using part of the dining room sectioned off with crude paneling.

The worst parts were : a step up of about 10" to where the beds were located, (very dangerous if you had to get up for a pee at night), semi working lights, a dark hallway to an unlighted bathroom, but worst of all no appliance for heat during outdoor temperatures of 50 degrees, and an assemblage of some kind of crawlies and bugs in the bathroom.

On checking out, I wanted to pay the bill in cash, but the proprietor said the bill had already been paid with the credit card I had given as security when making my reservation.

I requested a credit be issued to the credit card but the proprietor refused saying it would require too much paper work for him.

To their credit, I must say, the food was excellent, the waitstaff was extremely friendly and efficient.

If anything, stop there to eat, but don't overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermonster05101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The Lake House was built in 1843 and has lots of rooms-(14 bedrooms on the second and third floors); obviously there are some that are off the dining room. One of those rooms is the first floor room that this guest rented. It is well-lit and very comfortable. The rest of his group were on the other floors.

We are a seasonal establishment and generally the heat is not on until later than the first week of September. Temperatures were in the 80's in the day time and in the 60's at night- it was not in the 50's but had this guest requested heat, we would have provided it.

In addition, we would have been glad to take cash instead of a credit card from this guest. Unfortunately, when he was ready to leave and the card had been charged, he decided that he wanted to pay cash. He had already been here for two nights and was on his way from here. Just like the big chains that slide the bill under your door before you leave in the morning after your stay, his card had been charged before his departure. The time to pay cash was on arrival; not at departure.

I am disappointed to have this comment from this guest. I tried to pay special attention to him because of health issues- making sure he had what he needed for breakfast and was comfortable. It would be so much easier to take care of his needs if he had shared them with me when I saw him at dinner and at breakfast to make his stay more enjoyable than complain after the fact when there isn't anything I can do for him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

DO NOT STAY at The Lake House! Don't let the reviews fool you. Read the bad ones, they say it all!! The second floor of the lodge was a disaster. The rooms were not cleaned when we arrived. The kitchen was horrible. There is no place to sit and eat. The furniture was so old and dirty, we actually had to bring in our own lawn chairs to sit. It smells and is very hot. You are better off pitching a tent and staying outside. The 3rd floor was much nicer & updated and it's a shame the owners, who were very nice, do not update the second floor. Again - DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Although we try not to intrude into your space while you are here, it was hard not to notice that there were more people staying than allowed by your contract and that's why you needed to use lawn chairs. We discourage letting kids sleep on the couch or floor on blow up mattresses in common areas but try not to fuss because we want you to have a good time . It does make you feel cramped. We mainly host baseball team families who stay while their children play in Cooperstown and really enjoy seeing all of the kids playing on the lake, fishing,and using the boats. There is a large outdoor deck available to our groups, a balcony that overlooks the lake, lots of outdoor furniture and chimeneas to sit outdoors and enjoy the beautiful, starlit nights. All rooms are air conditioned and have brand new mattresses, linens and bedspreads. We have a professional cleaning crew that takes care of the rooms and they are always ready and clean when our groups arrive. We don't clean during the week, that's up to you. The Lake House is the perfect place for groups to enjoy the camaraderie of being together in a place big enough/ and reasonable enough to stay in the Cooperstown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Lake House this past weekend for a little getaway. We found our room clean and comfortable. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were all fresh and clean. We found the little village that was about a mile down the road was charming and we enjoyed boating on the lake. Gene and Chris (the owners) were very eager to ensure our stay was a memorable one. They went out of their way to inform us of activities in the surrounding areas and making sure we had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant was top of the line!! We would recommend this place for anyone wishing to just get away and enjoy the country. We will definitely return for another visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about the Lake House. We are glad you found us and enjoyed a nice weekend with us. We hope you will back again next summer. Thanks again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Lake House Hotel recently - and found it to be a great alternative to a typical hotel stay. The building has been updated considerably and has beautiful floors, woodwork and character. We found our room to be very nice and well appointed. The beds were like clouds! The bathroom new and clean.
Our kids enjoyed exploring this big, beautiful building and also really liked having the common areas that were large enough for several people to congregate.
The little town is unique and has shops to explore, too. We were close to the lake - a minute or two down the road - where the Lake House restaurant accommodated us well. The food was excellent - and the sunset reminded us of Key West - simply gorgeous.
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel - it was perfect for the needs of our family.

Room Tip: Check out the Lake House Restaurant. Chimachangas are excellent!!! Yummy..... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MTammy,

The sunsets are beautiful! We appreciate your kind words and nice description of the Lake House. It is relaxing to be by the lake and relax. If you ever come our way again, we hope you will stay with us again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my family stayed at The Lake House for a few days this month,and we have to say it was very pleasant. The rooms were very clean and welcoming and the atmosphere of the place was warming. The gentlemen who checked us in was very nice, I do believe he is the owner. The food was outstanding. Another plus to staying there was being right on the lake and being allowed to use the canoes for free, the kids loved it. The gentleman who sits downstairs at the laptop by the upstairs door is really friendly and funny, I will look forward to going back to chat with him again. I dont think I really got a complaint,the only one hinder was small, the day we arrived we got there at 3 pm and was told check in wasn't until 4pm,which was ok but we had an hour to walk around and we did,it was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 7, 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainq33
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Not sure how I missed the last review before settling on this place. In my attempts to book it, the very last call was interrupted because the manager told me he was "eating" and had to call me back. He never did but we'd be in the neighborhood so I took a chance the room was still available. It was. The "Baseball" lodge should not be reviewed or considered part of the Lake House. As previous reviewer stated, it's 2 miles away and not on the lake but on a side street of a very small town. The town has one restaurant outside of the Lake House and outside of that there is nothing to do for a family.

But that's not the shocker. $170 after taxes is. The online description of the Baseball Lodge is clear that maybe it's OK for a team coming through playing baseball (a big maybe though) - but what about a working family passing through. The price for what you get is outrageous just because you can take advantage it. As the previous reviewer stated, it's like a dormitory. $89 would have maybe been fair. You are on your own at the Baseball Lodge. No staff, no amenities, unwatchable TV. The fridge is open to anyone so you really can't use it. And because it's and old house with no carpet, you can hear your neighbors moving upstairs and by your rooms all night long. Please send me a refund.

Our room was clean, beds were comfortable and bathroom was updated but one user only size. The room was our two beds and one chair. There was no room for anything else but two leg size passages to move past the beds. It also smelled like a cat was living in our closet. The TV was a 15" model with no remote. I didn't know you could by them that small. Cable TV was nothing of the sort - all channels were fuzzy as if watching with rabbitt ears. Not only in our room but both public family rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainq33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 1, 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to serve you again. Warmest Regards, Christine Corrigan Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
37 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
65 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing