We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation spot”

Lake House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lake House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Lakehouse in August and both the accomodations and the restaurant were fantastic. We tried a lot of things from the menu during our stay and it was all really good...scallops, stuffed flounder, the best wings, and the desserts....out of this world...I recommend trying the profiterole! We also had breakfast one morning and the pancakes and fresh fruit were awesome. Our room was so pretty and comfortable. The bed and pillows were top notch. The Lakehouse has country charm and unique style. There are beautiful antiques that chronical the history of the property and the surrounding area. The hosts, Chris and Gene, are so pleasant and accomodating. I actually was surprised at how welcoming Chris was and how quickly I felt right at home. We had a great time at the bar talking to Gene who knows quite a bit about the area. You don't find hospitality like this these days. This is definitely a spot for anyone who likes a one-of-a-kind vacation in a historic inn (the owners told me it has been in operation since 1843) and relax in a beautiful country setting with freedom to enjoy the property. The owners don't even mind if you bring your own cooler or bbq grill and enjoy the beautiful sunsets along the lake. I've never been to a place like this and we can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Smartern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2015

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

What looks like a lovely setting, sitting outside was a disaster as we were attacked by flies. This was after being greeted by a less than friendly receptionist. Crusty and uninviting would be a generous description. We should have seen the writing on the wall. The meal was simply awful for 4 of the people in our party and just OK for 2. The place was dirty and I certainly would never return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank joecerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and suggestions. We will use it to improve our service and quality for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed at the Lake House for a week with a group of friends while our sons played baseball at Dreams Park in Cooperstown. We had dinner and lunch several times that week and were never disappointed. It was always delicious, bread was homemade, the desserts were outstanding and nothing beats sitting on the deck with a cold drink at the end of a long day watching the kids play ball. The sunsets were gorgeous and it was the most relaxing part of our trip to Cooperstown. They also gave us a 10% discount on all food/drink because we were guests there. It was a win-win situation for us for lodging and dining. I would recommend it to anyone going to Cooperstown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank weloveourpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

What a terrific review. You covered virtually every aspect of what we think a customer should be evaluating when choosing a business such as ours. Included in your review was also the mention of the need in our multicultural society for variety. We are pleased to provide this variety to our community and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Lakehouse is one of those gems you hope you stumble across when you are traveling that makes you glad you wandered in. Gene and Chris are the best kind of hosts and the service was wonderful. The home made soup was great and the prime rib was exactly the way I asked for it. The cheesecake was terrific.

My friends always kid me about being a picky eater, but I certainly wasn't picky at the Lakehouse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Misterhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2015

What a terrific review. You covered virtually every aspect of what we think a customer should be evaluating when choosing a business such as ours. Included in your review was also the mention of the need in our multicultural society for variety. We are pleased to provide this variety to our community and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in upstate New York, this is it. Great place to stay if your son is playing at Cooperstown Dream Park. The Food is out of this world. Great hospitality, everyone there was super nice. We felt like we were at home during our stay. Highly recommend Bed and Breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tcdawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

Thanks for the kind words- we love the Lake House and feel like custodians of a great place that will continue long after we are gone. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself, too. Come often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake House Restaurant also viewed

Richfield Springs, NY
Richfield Springs, NY
 
Richfield Springs, NY
 

Been to Lake House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing