We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably nostalgic place! A must visit”

Lake House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lake House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile.
Gilbertsville, New York
1 review
“unbelievably nostalgic place! A must visit”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I visited the Lake House a week ago. What an incredibly beautiful nostalgic place. Gene was in a rocking chair in the foyer and regaled us with stories of the "ghosts" upstairs, the history of the Lake House and local history. As a child my grandparents owned a camp almost directly across the lake. Also as a child, we moved to Ct and just this past year moved back. This was my first visit to the Lake House. (We're going back tonight for dinner and the Elvis concert, rain and wind forecast and all!)
The Inn has kept true to its historical era with the wall coverings, carpets and period furniture. The old magazines and newspapers others have complained about are laid in the foyer on the table. We got goose bumps reading the actual story of the JFK assassination in the newspaper of the next day!The original newspaper! The magazines are all from the "good old days!"
Gene and Chris are truly delightful hosts. Chris personally came to each table of diners to inquire as to our meals and to chat.
I could spend an hour raving about our meal! Oh, my it was incredible!
Gene was amazing, friendly, funny and informative.
This place is truly from a (sadly) by gone era. They just don't exist anymore.It feels like a cherished family home, and you feel like you belong there.
If you are accustomed to fast, impersonal service, want to be left alone, don't appreciate your hosts friendly welcoming attitudes, this is NOT the place for you. If you want to be transported back to a bygone era, or give your kids a glimpse of what life used to be like, this is a place you MUST NOT miss!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 727cheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    12
    10
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The Food was excellent and the service was as well.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable, Went to a concert" Letterman" the food was great and the service was fast and courteous. Would most definitely go again! The scenery is beautiful and the old decor absolutely beautiful. Can make beautiful memories for weddings and any event.. Love this place. Friendly waitresses that will do anything to accomodate and help in all your dining needs...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2015
We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us, Christine Corrigan, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a lovely, moderately priced restaurant on the lake in Cooperstown. We ate two breakfasts and a dinner there. The food was good and the wait staff was courteous and efficient. They have a nice outdoor deck.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2015
Thanks for the kind words- we love the Lake House and feel like custodians of a great place that will continue long after we are gone. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself, too. Come often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large, mediocre portions”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The waitress was agreeable when we had to move inside from the lakeside porch because of harrassment by flies. We were served immense amounts of bland food. The service was fine, the waitress competent, energetic, and willing to write separate checks. But there was little pleasure in the meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank leslielynn1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2015
Thank you for your input about our hotel. Our rooms are regularly monitored for quality, but I do apologize that there were issues within your room. I will look into making sure the rooms are better inspected moving forward. I do hope that you enjoyed Cooperstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield Springs, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sad Disappointment”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've reviewed the Lake House before and I have to say - after our last visit I'm so disappointed. Our waitress was wonderful but flustered - our food was NOT good - dry chicken on the salad, frozen veggies on the fried veggie tray (don't order it - HUGE waste of $$) and my steak was tough. What saved the night from being awful??? ..... Allison was playing the piano, the sunset was beautiful and I was drinking wine - oh and we danced on the stage while chatting with Allison. Go, have a cup of soup and a glass of wine, listen to Alison, watch the sun set, then leave w/out spending $$$ on a big dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBeth13439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Lake House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2015
Thanks for your comments and observations. They are appreciated. It is a great old building and we do like a mix of things and enjoy collecting lots of things. It is nice to own a big building and to be able to enjoy them. We appreciate your business. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake House Restaurant also viewed

Richfield Springs, NY
Richfield Springs, NY
 
Richfield Springs, NY
Richfield Springs, NY
 

Been to Lake House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing