We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding reception that could not have been more perfect”
Review of The Rhinecliff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinecliff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhinecliff
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2010

In May this year we celebrated our wedding at The Rhinecliff. It was everything we could have dreamed of - together with our 88 friends and family we had such a wonderful and memorable wedding reception. We are very thankful to the staff and management at The Rhinecliff who helped make our special day so perfect.
People often say that wedding planning can be stressful and overwhelming. For us it was quite the opposite, the Banquet Manager made it a simple and enjoyable process. We didn’t feel like we had to fit into a certain wedding concept, instead we were able to share our ideas and the hotel worked to make it happen.
From the cocktail reception, to the dinner and the accommodations, everything turned out to be top class and elegant throughout the whole weekend. Our guests raved about the food and took full advantage of the after bar party downstairs by dancing with us until the late hours of the night.
We would highly recommend The Rhinecliff for any banquet celebration - the setting is stunning yet quaint, and the service and food is outstanding. Thanks to the hotel staff and management for providing the attention to detail and quality of service that made our wedding a dream come true.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 257 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding for a quick getaway before our longer honeymoon a few months later. We chose the bridal suite which at least for this occasion was well worth it -- large, two balconies - one of them huge, great views, open layout with a jacuzzi and big comfy bed. The whole hotel had a brand new yet warm feel to it, esp. the restaurant downstairs which was terrific, both for breakfast and dinner. We also didn't mind the trains - was part of the charm for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manhattanmacaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My husband and I just stayed at the Rhinecliff for two nights to celebrate our anniversary; we got engaged last year while we were staying there.
It is a beautiful hotel, with a lot of care given to the excellent restoration. The hardwood floors are beautiful, and the place feels simultaneously very modern and somehow of another time. I love the sound of the trains at all hours, so that didn't bother me much, but one drawback is the thin walls: you can literally hear EVERYTHING. The earplugs they provided totally rectified the problem, though.
We stayed in a river room, which was beautiful but strangely sparse. Sticking a flat screen TV and a rain shower in a room doesn't equal luxury amenities, and I still think it's weird there's no storage space at all. Other than that, the rooms are wonderful; the beds, especially, are amazing.
One thing that did irk me was that our maid didn't make our bed, just kind of threw the coverlet on, and didn't replace our water glasses. This is a small critique, but just sayin': if I'm spending $200 a night on a hotel room, it'd be nice to have the bed made.
Other than that, such an amazing place. I love it here. The food and the bar are wonderful, too, and the complimentary breakfast really exceeded expectations.
The tiny flaws a picky traveler might find are, really, easily taken in stride considering the incredible river views and the great feel of the place. I love it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I suppose my opinion on noise might be skewed because we live in NYC and are used to a certain level of noise at night anyway, but contrary to some other reviews of The Rhinecliff we had no trouble sleeping at all. There are earplugs in the rooms but we didn't use them. The hotel building is smaller than I thought, but the rooms are sizable and the bathrooms were huge! We had a jacuzzi tub and a walk-in shower, my parents' room only had a tub with a shower attachment. The balconies were beautiful and the river was right across the train tracks in front of the hotel. It was cold so we didn't hang out on the balcony but in warmer weather definitely would take in the sunset view. The hotel restaurant was pretty good, the ambience was nice and the food was tasty but the table service left a little to be desired. Breakfast was ample (and free!) - we were all so full we skipped lunch that day! Overall a very nice luxe hotel just a quick train away from NYC. We actually had a car this time, but if we were to do this again (without the in-laws) I would probably take the Amtrak up to Rhinecliff and spend a night or two at the hotel. The town of Rhinebeck is very close by car but would be quite a hike on a hilly road without one. Still, maybe you could arrange for a car service to take you to a nearby attraction like the Vanderbilt or FDR house.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslielikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed here for several nights as a respite from New York. It's a recent renovation of an old station hotel - the very friendly staff can tell you the stories - and seems to have become something of a local institution, the excellent restaurant often very busy with special nights, the bar also usually quite lively. Our room was large and full of character (the renovation seems to have been done with real care and attention) and had an amazing view over the River Hudson (the surprisingly quiet railway in between). We used Rhinecliff as a base for exploring the local area (Woodstock, Roosevelt / Vanderbilt mansions, the Catskills); but best of all were a visit to Opus 40 (an unusual sculptured slate quarry, one artist's work of 40 years) and a stunning walk in Minnewaska State Park.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank oakpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Right adjacent to RR tracks but, noise not a problem unless you are a light sleeper or like to sleep much past 7:00 AM. Stunning view of the Hudson River from your small balcony. No elevator so, pack light. The food is excellent and the complimentary breakfast is the best.The outside patio setting with the river view is worth the trip. No soap holder in the shower!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The owner of the Rhinecliff has demonstrated a true dedication to customer service. The hotel itself is beautiful and clean. Breakfast the next morning is a delight. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaCuRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinecliff
11.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhinecliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhinecliff

Address: 4 Grinnell Street, PO Box 292, Rhinecliff, NY 12574
Location: United States > New York > Rhinecliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Price Range: $179 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-birthed after a painstaking five-year renovation, The Rhinecliff is a boutique country hotel, nestled on the banks of the mighty Hudson River and enjoys unparalleled river and mountain views. Featuring beautiful antique floors and woodwork, and world-class cuisine, The Rhinecliff (National Register of Historic Places) is two minutes drive from Rhinebeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rhinecliff Hotel Rhinecliff
The Hotel Rhinecliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing