We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rhinecliff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinecliff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhinecliff
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our first experience with the Rhinecliff was their Sunday Jazz brunch. We then decided to get married there. The hotel rooms are lovely. All with jacuzzi tubs. Some with terraces overlooking the Hudson River. If you want a romantic night, try the honeymoon suite. All of our guests who stayed there were impressed.

The tavern serves three meals a day, in a very cozy atmosphere. There is music most weekend nights.

The hotel is close to Rhinebeck, NY which is a great little town to spend the day in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aww, thank you for your kind words, welcome to The Rhinecliff family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    56
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
139
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for a night in mid-December for a pre-holiday getaway. It was just what we needed! We arrived around 3 pm and found the room ready, with classical music playing on the direct tv. The view of the Hudson River, Kingston Lighthouse, and Catskills beyond was just beautiful, and the sunset was perfect. The room had so many extras you don't get at a normal hotel-dimming lights, whirlpool tub, rainshower-it just set the perfect mood for a relaxing and romantic getaway. The décor was minimalistic but perfect, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We heard the trains, but it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was amazing. The proximity to the village of Rhinebeck was great-we had a wonderful dinner, some shopping, and then just relaxing time at the Rhinecliff. A wonderful experience, and we hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and our little touches, do come and see us again!
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place is a gem. Just the right ambience......lovely and not pretentious. The trains are NOT a problem. Friendly staff and breakfast is included. Bar closes at ten but China Rose across the street is open. Perfect for our anniversary overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mum,
Thank you very much but you know you're not supposed to do this...! Sorry.... just kidding! Annemarie, thank you so much for your kind words, we love it when out guests have a good time with us, thank you again and Happy Anniversary!
Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This past weekend I threw a 34th anniversary party for my parents and combined it with my dad's 55 birthday and my husband and my 1st anniversary (which was at the Rhinecliff.) First of all...the Rhinecliff staff could not have been any more helpful in the planning process for the party and on the day of. While setting up all of the decorations, the staff was more than accommodating in helping! The night went off without a single issue. The staff was incredible to our guests all night...who by the way still have not stopped raving about the food. I highly suggest throwing an event at the Rhinecliff..it is WELL worth it. THANK YOU RHINECLIFF!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Emily and Steve,
Thank you so much for taking the time to be so nice to us, you know we love you dearly and it was great to have your wonderful families back celebrating with us again, you know you rocked The Rhinecliff at your wedding and did nothing less on your anniversary/birthday triple play! Our fearless Maitre D' Amy has said it was so great to see you that she would love to come round to your house and clean up anytime you have a big party......ha!
See you soon and Happy Holidays!
James
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Rhinecliff Hotel is an excellent bed and breakfast hotel on the Hudson River. Our only disappointment was that their restaurant was not open for dinner, but there was an excellent Chinese restaurant across the street. In all their literature, advertisement, correspondence, as well as signing in two places on your hotel contract, they tell you there are trains. The hotel sits on the Hudson River with train tracks and train station between. We loved it. The trains run all day and night, and blow the horn when leaving the station.

The room was comfortable with a giant bathtub and jacuzzi. Boy was that relaxing. The shower was placed in the ceiling, and you did have to turn it off to soap-up. Different, but that is what I am looking for. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pictures below show the view from just inside our room, with a train going by. The structure to the right is a walkway from the hotel parking over the tracks to a boating dock and little park. We took a ride on the Hudson which went by the hotel for the photograph. If you like trains, a beautiful setting, and something different, the Rhinecliff Hotel is the place.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scheinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear S,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we certainly do embrace our trains and it's a joy when our guests embrace them equally, thank you for being good enough to take the time to tell the world.....all aboard!!
Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Gorgeous, large room (#301) with dark wood floors, comfy bed, cute balcony with nice view, lots of outlets for computers, phones. The bathroom was beautiful and after a hard day of travel the whirlpool tub a shower with the large shower head felt so good. The bar has a spectacular view and was decorated for autumn with pumpkins and candles. Loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teckelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dearest TG,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we have tried so hard to provide nice things that our guests will enjoy, such that it's a true pleasure to hear we are indeed being enjoyed, so thank you again for taking the time to let us know you had a good time!

Kindest regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are many accidents waiting to happen . Someone from managemnt should spend a night in each room to see what . The BED-- may be interesting to use old wood to make a frame for the bed but the corners come to a point-injured my husband's shin when he exited bathroom right in front of bed at night - corners should be padded/rounded. RUG- edge curled and not taped down on slippery wood floor. SHOWER-shower head on ceiling may look "sexy" but have to be a contortionist to do legs/private parts. Glass shelf useless since soap falls to floor.TV- defies logic to turn off. Needed housekeept o instruct. HEAT/THERMOMETER- never got temp under 80. Programmable overkill. Housekeeper trIed as well- no success. ACCESSABILITY- 3 flights down to breakfast a challenge.FOOD SERVICE No food/bar service since considered early October winter. - you knew our arrival dates- should have let us know- Once was enough

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank millicent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschapm, Owner at The Rhinecliff, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your recent stay with us, I do try to respond to everyone’s comments, and of course we try to learn from them and improve where we can. I actually do regularly stay in the rooms just to try them out and sometimes we do have to make choices between a certain aesthetic we’re looking for and functionality. A prime example is storage space, we deliberately chose to keep the rooms simple and uncluttered by the usual hotel dressers, chests and big TV cabinets, which has left some rooms a little short on storage space if you have lots of stuff indeed, I don’t have the answer yet to that one, it’s an ongoing debate, many guests love the uncluttered almost zen—like feel due to the lack of furniture all over the place! To answer a couple of your points though, I will take a look at the beds, they are indeed kind of special but we don’t want any health hazards and I’m sorry if your husband banged his shin, thank you for the point. I have no answer to our rain shower drenching heads built in to the ceiling, we spent months getting them right, I guess next time around we’ll try and do three dimensional ones! The heating can be tricky at this time of year as the heating systems do need to be on as the nights can get cold, but recently it’s been inordinately warm during the day with 70-80 degrees being normal, it’s generally best to just switch the AC on to solve this temporary issue. We do close for full dining seasonally as Rhinecliff is very quiet post Labor Day, we have re-opened the bar though to offer our house guests soothing libations and snacks to fill any gaps.
But anyway, at the end of the day I still remain sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, please do contact me for a full refund which I hope may at least mitigate your unhappy feelings which I would certainly love to cure!
Kindest regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinecliff
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
10.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhinecliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhinecliff

Property: The Rhinecliff
Address: 4 Grinnell Street, PO Box 292, Rhinecliff, NY 12574
Location: United States > New York > Rhinecliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhinecliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-birthed after a painstaking five-year renovation, The Rhinecliff is a boutique country hotel, nestled on the banks of the mighty Hudson River and enjoys unparalleled river and mountain views. Featuring beautiful antique floors and woodwork, and world-class cuisine, The Rhinecliff (National Register of Historic Places) is two minutes drive from Rhinebeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rhinecliff Hotel Rhinecliff
The Hotel Rhinecliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing