We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad night?”
Review of Gigi Trattoria

Gigi Trattoria
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean dishes prepared with the ingredients from our local farmers and food artisans. Enjoy traditional Mediterranean fare along with hand made pastas, thin crusted Skizzas (Gigi "pizzas"), and bountiful salads. Our ambiance is sophisticated, yet informal, and we provide options for family style dinning. Moderate prices, attentive service and consistently outstanding seasonal food encourage regular dining at Gigi Trattoria.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bad night?”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

First bad experience here after many good ones. Service was slow...my food was visibly burnt when dropped at my table. By the time our server made it around to asking about our meals I was just ready leave. Sent 3 of 4 pieces of fried chicken away and it didn't occur to our server that maybe I don't like
eating charcoal. 5/23/2014

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisBoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    69
    44
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Mediocre”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Should have learned my lesson and not returned, but got talked into it.
Ordered a Vodka Gimlet (lime juice and Vodka) and got a small glass of brown something with a slice of lemon floating on top. Asked waiter to take it away and please get me a glass of water. Appetizers were bland and tasteless and entrees were just plain slapdash and serve.
Bill for this unimaginative mess was an outrage . Will never, ever go back, in fact I won't even walk in the same side of the street for fear my hair will fall out .

Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining, but the food is just ok”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have been to Gigi's several times because my friends like it. I don't find much on the menu that interests me and I love Italian food. I usually order a Skizza which is a flatbread pizza that they are well known for. It is very good. It is never my pick when in Rhinebeck.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been here many times, but not in a few years. The menu has changed and NOT for the better. There is only One non-meat dinner entree and that is a super spicy pasta dish. Too bad if you want pasta with a different, non spicy sauce that is also meatless. This was requested and we were told they only offer the sauces that come with the entrees. A very rigid response to an easy request. It's too bad; this used to be one of our favorite restaurants. We will not return and do not recommend it any longer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laso11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistently great and that's why we keep coming!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We are a foodie family of 4 and we just love Gigi's. The service is friendly and welcoming and the new spring menu is wonderful. Last night we had one of our best meals yet with highlights being the soft shell crab (perfectly cooked), the pork chop with fava beans, anchovies and olives and my salmon with wheat barley, pomegranate molasses and greens. It was all wonderful. The place was packed last night and had a lovely festive atmosphere without being too loud. Now we are just waiting for the weather to oblige so we can use the outdoor seating area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kvgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gigi Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Gigi Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing