We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whistle wood inn: a great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2009

went with three couples for three nights over new years. accomodations superior. warm cozy atmosphere. hostesses maggie and barbara treated us like family. breakfasts were delicious. stayed there once before about five years ago and had same experience. inn is a real winner in a fascinating area. warren and andy -- short hills nj

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank erzvilkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 395 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

It was hard to believe it was really happening, an affordable weekend getaway with the attention to detail of a four star B & B. We stayed in the cottage- cozy, private and well decorated. The room was large, and furnished with enough antiques and points of interest to compete with the fireplace and jacuzzi for our attention. The common kitchenette in the cottage was well stocked and included a diverse library of DVD's and books for our amusement. In the morning we enjoyed a generous homemade breakfast while we watched the horses frolic. Barbara and Maggie have something special up there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NycGridskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

This cozy, friendly and beautiful horsefarm was the perfect relief for my recent encounter with Economic Depression! Just "a stone's throw" from the hustle of New York City, it provided a welcome respite from the challenges faced by the recent economic downturn and a great opportunity to celebrate old friendships.

The horses, the views, the rooms, the fireplace combined with the comeraderie instantly forged over coffee, silver-dollar pancakes and the tastiest bacon (that looked perfect and tasted like heaven - AMAZING), were all unforgettable. I cannot wait to go back and see what Maggie and Barbara cook up for me!

Despite the economy and early-November weather, I ended my two days feeling like a new person - ready to face the world with renewed hope.

Ce

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CeMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

So close to NYC, yet so far away from it all... We keep coming to this comfy cozy B&B ( 3x this year already) to destress and be surrounded by Nature. No need to go further. Our favorite rooms are North Wind, Wyoming and Sweet Violet. Just outside our bedroom windows: every kind of bird, flocks of wild turkey, deer, rolling pastures with beautiful horses, flowers, trees, awesome sunrises and sunsets. Ahhh... The stress begins to melt as we drive up the Taconic to this little piece of year-round heaven we keep returning to. We're greeted by the sweetest dogs, Jake and Lulu, a Bernese and a Lab, who compete for affection. Being a bonifide foodie, almost all the area restaurants are first-class, and the inn-keepers don't hesitate to guide you to the best of them. The only drawback is that I always return home with a few extra inches around my waist, because the generous country breakfasts and dessert table are impossible to resist. Maggie and Barbara really know how to make you feel at home in this horsey/country retreat. Believe everything the other reviewers are saying. It's all true. Whistlewood is the ultimate B & B!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EscapefromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at Whistlewood. Our room was cozy, clean, and large. Maggie prepares delicious breakfasts made-to-order, and there are snacks and baked good set out for guests to enjoy all day long. The farm is beautiful, and the animals are extremely friendly. The horses will come to the fence for petting and treats.

We stayed in the room right off the common area and could hear the other guests getting breakfast in the morning. If you are not an early riser, make sure your room is further away from the dining area.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nursenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

A very beautiful, serene place....lots of land and great views....real horses!......delicious breakfasts and pies...maggie and barbara make you feel at home...we've been there three times and love it!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank misterb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

This was exactly what we needed and more! My wife and I spent our 5 year anniversary at this warm, quiet getaway. We stayed in the "Northwind" which is one of their largest suites and i could not have asked for anything more with a Jacuzzi and fireplace! Maggie was a phenomenal hostess and served up a wonderful breakfast every morning to get you started while making you feel at home. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hayadoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
913 reviews
6.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
59 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
20.0 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
11.3 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 52 Pells Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range: $150 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WhistleWood Farm is located on a hilltop, in Rhinebeck, less than two hours north of Manhattan in New York's historic Hudson Valley. Open decks, outdoor fire pit, pastoral views, wildflower gardens, the starry night sky form a setting for solitude or lively conversations. Pull up a chair on the deck or a porch to enjoy the views, or settle on a cozy fireside sofa with a good book. Explore the nature trails to the pond, the woods, the scenery, visit the retired horses, the donkeys, the Dexter cows and calves, feed our chickens for the freshest eggs or just... Relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistlewood Farm b&b
Whistlewood Farm Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing