We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only knew what you were missing...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you only knew what you were missing...”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

You would NOT stay anywhere else in the Hudson River Valley. The property is peaceful and beautiful - one might even call it bucolic - but it is still only minutes from downtown Rhinebeck so driving back after a delicious dinner and a drink or two is much easier than you might imagine. Maggie is the perfect hostess and a great cook - but be careful that you don't fill up on homemade muffins or buttermilk pancakes made from scratch before it's time to give her your order for eggs!

I was traveling with my brother and sister-in-law and we stayed in the 2 larger rooms in the Carriage House, which I highly recommend. Beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and gas fireplaces. All you would ask for in a terrific setting such as the Whistle Wood Farm. The air conditioning is a definite plus.

Maggie also knows all of the good places to eat in town, so be sure to ask her for advice - although she is far from shy and will give it to you even if you don't ask!

Whistle Wood is definitely on my list of must-return-to-places!

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms in the Carriage House. There are 3 of them there, 2 rather large ones and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntwHarrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    28
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
234
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just spent three wonderful nights in the Wyoming Room and loved every minute of our stay. Starting with Maggie's wonderful tour of the Inn, our room, the farm, the animals and places to walk and places to eat.

The room was wonderfully decorated in a western motif with lots of color. A perfectly comfortable king size bed, lovely linens and great bathroom.

Breakfast, cooked fresh every day was even more spectacular since the eggs came from the chickens roaming the barnyard. Maggie makes eggs to order better than anyone we have ever known. Her hand picked chantereles were an extra added treat along with daily made muffins of various flavors or fresh cinnamon buns. Beats most chefs at the many B and B's we have stayed at over the years.

Her dinner recommendations were spot-on especially Le Petite Bistro.

A wonderful place to stay out of the center of Rhinebeck but just a three mile drive to dinner and back.

Do not miss this wonderful place if you are planning a trip to the area. Hyde Park and all the other local sights to see are within a very short drive through lovely horse country.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would make anyone smile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Whistle Wood Farm is that rarity, it is exactly as it is described and pictured. The setting is rural, blissfully quiet, and yet only a couple of miles drive into Rhinebeck for restaurants and shopping. It is also very convenient if you want to visit the Rheinbeck Aerodrome for their antique plane museum and shows. This is the place to stay if you want to relax and unwind. Breakfasts in the sun room adjoining the rustic country kitchen, were excellent. The added plus is that you can help yourself to tea or coffee, and homemade cakes and pies when returning to your room in the afternoon. We were very impressed and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms are all ground floor and quiet, and the ones with their own patio (summer) or fireplace (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britseyeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at Whistlewood during a recent trip around the Hudson River Valley...on my first morning there, went for a walk that Innkeeper, Maggie, suggested behind her lovely place. In just that short walk in the woods, I saw a kingfisher, three wild turkeys, three white-tailed deer and a fox! And then there are all the domestic animals to visit with, too: hens, horses, dogs, cats.

After my walk, I came back to a very tasty, ample breakfast of freshly-made pancakes, muffins, eggs made to order, fresh fruit, coffee and much more--all served outside on the pretty patio. The big meal, the beauty of the grounds and the friendly company of Maggie and other guests almost made me want to stay at Whistlewood all day rather than go on my appointed rounds of big estates and art galleries in the area (I pursued my itinerary, eventually...)

I would highly recommend Whistlewood to anyone making plans to visit the Rhinebeck area. Maggie is warm and welcoming (but also respects her guests' privacy), and she is a great resource for things to do and places to eat.

I'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: My room, the Tumbleweed, has a private bathroom across the hall which I didn't mind at all. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaSparkle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPINNER123, Owner at WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your complementary review of the farm. I am so very happy that you came and then went out and enjoyed the farm and our trails. We have been grooming them for years and sometimes I don't think that folks walk them. So hurray for you! The area is great and very different in all of the seasons, so come enjoy the "wildlife" again soon. Have a wonderful
holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights/3 days last week. The B&B is exactly as advertised and as described by other reviewers. The property is very, very beautiful and well kept. At the height of the summer, with all the flowers in full bloom in the front garden, one feels transported into another land. Hard to believe Manhattan is only 2 hours away.
I love that there are many little areas for relaxation both inside and outside. It all feels very warm and cozy. We had never stayed at a B&B before, and we were afraid of having to make small talk with annoying or boring people - that never happened! Even though it was booked at full capacity, it is large enough that you don't feel crammed at all. The people we did meet were lovely, fun and interesting.
We stayed in the smallest room, "Tumblewood". It is very small, but perfect for our needs. Everything is spotlessly clean, and every detail had been carefully studied and arranged. You have coasters everywhere, an iron and ironing board, even bathrobes in the closet! The bathroom is across the hallway, but it is private to that room only, and literally 3 steps away. It was not a problem at all!
The true reason to stay there, in spite of all this, is the breakfast: amazing!!! I have never had anything like it, and my husband is a gourmet chef. Maggie makes you omelets with eggs from the farm's hens, the freshest ever, with in-season produce from the garden. The fruit salad is fresh, made every morning with local fruits; there are 4 or 5 cakes of all kinds on the table, plus cookies, bread, jams, etc. Maggie also makes french toast, pancakes, etc. You name it, she makes it!
After breakfast, Maggie gives guests the fruit scraps to takeover to feed the chickens...make sure you try that - it's hilarious! They all run towards you like crazy the minute you approach, it's as if they wanted to eat you alive! Really fun. Thank you Maggie.
I am so glad we were able to find this last-minute 2-night booking, at a time when she is booked to capacity virtually every night - the experience is truly worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Mu husband & I came here on Aug 18, 2013 for our anniversary & stayed for 2 nites. We had such a nice time. The B&B is VERY clean. Really nice rooms with private bath; the little deck outside our bedroom was perfect. The breakfast is VERY good! Fresh baked goodies all day long! Maggie is so nice. She made sure that our 3 days were the best 3 days. My husband & I would love to come back!

Thank you Maggie!!

Barbara & Barry B

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Whistlewood last weekend for two nights and absolutely loved it there! The grounds are amazing - fields of grass and flowers, horses, donkeys, chickens, Adirondack chairs everywhere - it's a great place to walk around and explore. The rooms and common house areas were great too - we stayed in the Juniper room which was big and had a private porch, which we ate breakfast and relaxed on. The service by Maggie and her staff was very attentive - the snacks/baked goods and breakfast were all delicious! They even accommodated a late check-out for us with no problem. The B&B is a short 5 minute drive into 'downtown' Rhinebeck and was very convenient.
We would definitely come back! It feels like a true escape out in the country, with all the convenience of a upscale accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
861 reviews
6.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
41 reviews
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
11.3 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
20.0 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: WhistleWood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 52 Pells Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WhistleWood Farm is located on a hilltop, in Rhinebeck, less than two hours north of Manhattan in New York's historic Hudson Valley. Open decks, outdoor fire pit, pastoral views, wildflower gardens, the starry night sky form a setting for solitude or lively conversations. Pull up a chair on the deck or a porch to enjoy the views, or settle on a cozy fireside sofa with a good book. Explore the nature trails to the pond, the woods, the scenery, visit the retired horses, the donkeys, the Dexter cows and calves, feed our chickens for the freshest eggs or just... Relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistlewood Farm b&b
Whistlewood Farm Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing