We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Longest Continually Operating Inn in America” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tavern at the Beekman Arms

The Tavern at the Beekman Arms
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Longest Continually Operating Inn in America”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We would go here to the "1776 Tavern" to see our friend, Melissa "Missy" Kelly, a CIA-grad, and Exec Chef who ran the kitchen. She was mentored by the legendary Larry Forgione, and now owns her own restaurant, Primo in Rockland Maine, where they also have a small, working farm and artisanal food shop -- it's fantastic, too!

The Beekman Arms is a must stop when you're in Rhinebeck (also do not miss the live shows on the W/E's at the Rhinebeck Aerodrome!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoryJorysScriptorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    131
    47
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashley Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We tryed to stay at the Beekman arms but it had been booked for months ahead, so we had lunch a few times. the pub was relaxing and nice. The staff were wonderful and took the time to talk with us about the history of the Beekman, which we enjoyed very much. I was a wonderful meal and a great education of what is so near for so many. we will return there but will book many months in advance to stay in the Tavern. My husband even went there while I was at the spa and got a history tour. It was a wonderful time for us both.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frankie054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quaint, historical setting AND great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Usually when dining at "historical" locations you expect the atmosphere to prevail over the quality of the food. However, The Tavern at the Beekman Arms is an exception. I recently had dinner here with a friend who claimed that she had never had a bad meal here. The quaint and dimly lighted bar was cozy and the cocktails well made and nicely presented.
It was a dreary, rainy night outside so I tried the Butternut Squash soup as a starter. It was pure smooth sunshine in a bowl. My entree was the coffee braised short ribs which I devoured. This was the kind of dish where you clean your plate and then look for the last roll in the basket to sop up the leftover gravy. This was served with mashed potatoes (with skins) and a very fresh "summer succotash" - all yummy. My friend had a small cut of prime rib which was done exactly to her liking and very flavorful. Unfortunately, neither one of us had room to try dessert.
Service here was attentive and friendly without being overly intrusive. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A visit at a pre-Revolutionary inn in Rhinebeck, NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place is unique for exploring something from long ago; the employees are very friendly; the service was excellent. Started with the beet salad, so so good; I would recommend the crab-stuffed baked shrimp, no disappointments there. We also had the lobster newburgh crepes; I would have liked a bit more sherry flavor, but they were yummy. The dessert was lovely: dulce le leche with chopped hazelnuts in the scoop's center, and covered with a lovely caramel sauce, dressed with chocolate sauce; we shared. Since they have been in business for a very long time, they must be doing something right. I'd go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrism72112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Ridge, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My folks decided to head up from Bergen County NJ for a day trip to Hyde Park and asked us to joing them for dinner. The server was prompt, patient, knowledgable, and extremely friendly. The food was on par with the service and the atmosphere was both cozy and light. I would highly suggest giving the Tavern a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern at the Beekman Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern at the Beekman Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing