We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”
Review of Le Petit Bistro

Le Petit Bistro
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We came to Le Petit Bistro for dinner with friends and few weeks ago and had perhaps the finest meal we have had in Rhinebeck. My wife who tends toward vegetarian found the menu very limited from her point so while we will return it cannot be quite as often.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobDry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    57
    24
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“French Cuisine with a Subtle Twist”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This french restaurant, located in the heart of Historic Rhinebeck New York is a superb example of what can be done when local people own a small restaurant. One of if not the best restaurant in Rhinebeck, it is always packed so reservations are really necessary. They offer some standard dishes (Escargot, Steak Frites, etc.) and always have delectable specials to choose from. The bread is outrageous, they have a lovely wine list, and the service is terrific. If you know you will be in the Rhinebeck area, call 1-2 weeks ahead and make reservations. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining in Rhinebeck”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a very nice dinner at Le Petit Bistro in Rhinebeck. We have been here several times, and while we found some slippage when the new ownership took over a few years ago, they seem back on track, with well prepared, interesting food, good drinks, and pleasant service. In fact, there was a large party at the restaurant, and our server suggested we order quickly before the kitchen was overwhelmed by ten or so orders. We did, and as it turned out we were fortunate, because others who ordered later wound up waiting a very long time which certainly hurt their evening. From our standpoint, we had a good experience, although the large party as often happens spoke and shrieked very loudly, and thank goodness our table was some distance away. We understand most restaurants' willingness to serve large parties, but we wonder if the racket and disturbance to the ordering process is worth the trouble.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A small and busy restaurant with excellent food. Very nice ambiance. A somewhat limited menu should be a consideration
to be sure that there are desired choices. Atmosphere was active and fun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bills2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been here twice. The first time, I enjoyed the NY Strip Steak and during the second visit I had the trout special with a sweet asian sauce, jasmine rice and julienned vegetables. Both were excellent and perfectly cooked. The trout was served whole, which didn't bother me, but my non-fish-eating husband didn't appreciate it as much. The wine we ordered was very good, and for dessert, my husband ordered the Kit Kat cake, while I had the sorbet. Reservations are recommended, but be sure to ask for seats at the bar if you prefer a bit of space and privacy. The tables are very close together, making it impossible to avoid eavesdropping on other diners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing