We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your Buck!”

The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Rhinebeck
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The CENTER for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization which is dedicated, through its arts and education programs, to providing arts experiences for people of all ages.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have a particular fondness for Charles Dickens and have seen several productions of "A Christmas Carol" at McCarter Theatre in Princeton, NJ, at the Civic Theatre in Allentown, PA, as well as a performance by Gerald Dickens in Bethlehem, PA. The latter, who is the great-grandson of the author offered an inimitable narration of bits of the play, but he certainly didn't enact the play. I have also read the book countless times and seen every possible movie rendition ever made--at least in the English language.
The center is without architectural whimsy, the theatre rather small and plain. The play was rather bare bones, as well, in terms of scenery and sets. But the cast--oh, the cast! Each role was played with such relish, such enthusiasm, such joy that so captured the central message of redemption that I found myself smiling throughout the entire performance. Marley's Ghost was my particular favorite.
We were able to thank some of the actors who mingled with the small crowd after the applause died down, and I told Mr. Scrooge I had never seen the play acted with so much heart.
We left the theatre feeling warmly toward all of mankind--and what better gift at Christmastime?

Thank aimeelyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aimeelyon,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review for our theatre here in Rhinebeck. We love bringing joy to every face that comes into our space throughout the year.
Kinds regards and we hope to see you at the CENTER again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have been to this theatre several times now. It's a great substitute for having to trek into NYC in a lovely country setting and offers shows in a small-theatre setting.

Tickets are quite reasonable and the actors are just wonderful. We saw "Noises Off" on its last night of performance. Kudos to the actors in being able to keep up with the frantic pace this play offers. Hysterical, hysterical, hysterical from beginning to end.

We will absolutely return here for another play while we're in the area.

Phyllis from Florida

Thank YerTizUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Phyllis,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We love that people from outside of the state get a chance to come visit us in the beautiful Hudson Valley and take in some wonderful theatre in a unique and fun setting.
Thank you so much for sharing your 5 star-review!
We hope to see you at the CENTER again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

From Broadway hits like Spamalot to serious drama like Streetcar Named Desire, on almost any weekend theatre fans can see a very well produced directed and acted performance, and for a fraction of the cost of an NYC play. More than once I've heard people say it was as good or better than the Broadway version. Subject matter is often revival of American classics and each spring there is a small Shakespeare festival. The Center also hosts an extensive series of children's and adult classes in acting and performing skills. Advance tickets recommended (avail online)--for any "big" play they often sell out Fri/Saturday eves and Sunday matinees. Look for dinner + theatre specials at Terrapin restaurant.

Thank Knohanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are thrilled that audiences enjoy our eclectic offerings throughout the year. And our community deals, like the one you mentioned with Terrapin, makes the CENTER the place to go to make a night in beautiful Rhinebeck.
Thanks again and see you at The CENTER!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The plays and the musicals are as good as any on Broadway. The dance concerts are as good as any professional dance company you might see in New York City. The theater is intimate with great sight lines; you feel like you are actually a part of the production. Many of the performers either have been or are currently professional actors, singers and dancers. The Center offers many programs for children and up and coming actors, singers and dancers. It is charming and rustic, yet totally comfortable and professional.

Thank Abtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so very much for your 5 star review - we hope we can keep impressing you with our productions and our education that we bring to the community. Look forward to seeing you at the CENTER!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My family and I just enjoyed the most wonderful performance of Spamalot. The show was delightfully dizzy and silly, and performed with superb comedic timing and joie de vivre. Every actor was well-cast and excellent, which was no small feat given they all acted, danced and sang in a variety of styles, with English, French and even Finnish accents. This was a more professional and enjoyable show than many Broadway and off-Broadway shows I've seen, and received a totally deserved cheering, standing ovation. The theatre itself is intimate and comfortable, sound and view appears excellent from all seats. Plenty of parking. Wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!

Thank VacationReviewer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and glowing accolades.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon at the CENTER!

Very best,

Kevin Archambault
Director of Community & Public Relations
(845) 876-3088 x12

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck also viewed

 

Been to The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing