We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot”
Review of Olde Rhinebeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Allenhurst, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I highly recommend the Olde Rhinebeck Inn. We only stayed one night, a Thursday. Wished we could have stayed more, but it was booked for the weekend. But we were very happy with our choice, after looking at places we had thought about during our vacation planning. We stayed downstairs in the two-room suite. There was absolutely no noise from the road. In the morning, we opened the door to the front to let the sun shine in our room, and it was quiet and peaceful. Jonna is a wonderful cook and full of information about the area. She even included our friends at breakfast, even though they didn't stay there. We will definitely go back, and reserve far enough ahead to get more than one night!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
283
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

No, I am NOT the owner. Neither had I ever met her before spending a weekend there. This 1700s inn is not only everything of good that you may have read from other reviewers - it now lives in my heart as the best B&B I have ever been to. The two reviewers that said that were unhappy there must be family of competition in the area or were just very unlucky. We had stayed at other places in Rhinebeck before - just ok, colder and impersonal places. The Olde Rhinebeck Inn was very special: perfect place for honeymoon or love nest; owner is very friendly, a genuinely nice person. It is hosting as art, not just business! And it is the combination of everything that made me so happy: beautiful landscapes around it, ponds, trees, clean room, attention to details, Time Warner tv, free Internet, wonderful breakfast, marvelous historic estates to visit in the area, unique high school zoo in America not far, tea and coffee at any time, wonderful restaurants in area... Price was very fair. Not for cheap people though. The owners should also open their own restaurant so good was the breakfast! I did feel like home. I will definitely go back and tell all friends about it! We slept very well. Never heard any noise from road as one of the unhappy reviewers wrote. Highly recommend! At any time of the year!

Room Tip: We stayed at a huge suite on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonia, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We loved the inn and Jonna was a wonderful hostess; a fabulous cook; very knowledgeable of the area; welcoming/accomodating and there was absolutely nothing lacking in our stay.

The decor was charming in a sophisticated antique and country fashion and everything was immaculate. The rooms were large, light and airy.

We only had a few days for our honeymoon and can't wait to go back. The location away from the town was perfect and we had fun day time excursions and very good eateries for dinner.

We stayed in the Plow and Harrow suite and definately will book it after the holidays. We plan on visiting the inn as our regular get-a-way.
The Taylors

Room Tip: The Plow and Harrow has a sitting room, adding to the privacy of the stay. Very, very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our little family, Mom, Dad & 6 year old had a wonderful stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn. We stayed in the cozy Spirited Dove room at the top of the stairs. Jonna was very accommodating, even anticipating a 6 year olds dietary requirements. She is so knowledgable of the local area and sent us on a perfect walk and introduced us to letter boxing (look it up, it is really fun). We hope to stay there again and recommend it without hesitation for families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our first (and certainly not our last) stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn was perfect. The nearly 270 year old property is warm, cozy, elegant in it's old world charm and inviting—a warm glow in the Hudson Valley countryside. The rooms are large, yet cozy, clean, comfortable and well-appointed with modern amenities (e.g., Netflix on Roku device, Wifi, etc.).

Jonna, the innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess and came outside into the cold November night air as we pulled in at 9 o'clock in evening. Breakfast in the dining room (the oldest part of the property) was delicious (juice, coffee, berries, baked goods and an entrée). After Sunday morning brunch, Jonna taught and played a Scrabble-like game with the guests around the dining table.

If you haven't been, the town of Rhinebeck is equally charming and lovely—great restaurants, shops, antiques and even a small movie house and live theatre.

Looking forward to our next escape.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyjams74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

What a great escape.
Building was built in 1745,total of 4 rooms.
Comfortable,cozy,terrific atmosphere.
Large clean rooms,with modern amenities, made it easy to stay in the comfort of our suite.
The only element better that the Inn itself was the innkeeper,,Jonna.
Her passion for B&B's were only surpassed by her pride in describing the history
of this home and the work that has gone into maintaing its original feel.
Breakfast was outstanding.One day a couple arrived, just for breakfast, as they were meeting friends who had spent the night at the Inn.They travedled two hours to make a 9:15 breakfast.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Wow, what an incredible experience we had at this gem of a B&B in the Hudson Valley! While attending a retreat-workshop at the Omega Institute, my cousin and I made the decision to stay in off-campus accommodations. And boy, were we blessed to choose Olde Rhinebeck Inn! Jonna, the innkeeper, is the consummate professional, as well as being quite knowledgeable of the area, as far as its rich history, recommendations for restaurants, day trips, etc. The love for her home/inn shines through in every little detail -- from beautiful, comfortable rooms, appointed with carefully selected furnishings. We even fell in love with the bath products, only to discover that great care had been exercised in choosing products that were "scentsational" as well as eco-friendly. And those robes!!! I've traveled extensively and these robes were so spectacular that all the ones before pale in comparison. (We told Jonna she might want to check our room carefully upon checkout in case they disappeared, but no worries, she has them for sale, so we didn't have to resort to sticky fingers). Our room on the first floor had a Dutch door, which we kept open at night to enjoy the crisp, invigorating night air. Our room was exceptionally clean, and the beds were blissfully comfortable. Even though it was built in 1745, this inn has all the modern amenities available to its guests -- free WI, great flat-screen TVs, and modern bathrooms. Coffee was available at all times of the day just outside our door.

The breakfasts were AMAZING!! (Did I mention that surely Jonna must win all the blue ribbons at the county fair for her culinary skills?) It was great to sit at a common table with interesting people from all parts of the U.S. Great way to start a day!

You can't go wrong at this outstanding inn, and I can hardly wait to plan my next trip to this gem of a B&B!

Room Tip: Downstairs room on right front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernBelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
7.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
16.8 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#1 of 16 in Saugerties
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Rhinebeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Rhinebeck Inn

Property: Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Address: 340 Wurtemburg Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic... Elegant... Rustic... Intimate. Walk the original wide plank floors, admire the patina of centuries old buttermilk finishes and lie beneath rugged hand hewn chestnut beams. Lovingly restored, delightfully appointed suites and fine amenities provide plush accommodations for the perfect getaway. Located just three miles outside of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, and ideally situated to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing