We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem!”
Review of Omega Institute

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omega Institute
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
Mesa AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This was my second time at Omega and I am so glad I had the opportunity to go back!. My previous trip was four years ago for a weekend yoga workshop. It was a wonderful trip, although now having spent 5 days there this time 'round, I realized that being there for a weekend is really just too short.
I think you really need at least 4 days there just to allow yourself to come back into balance and relaxation, and to take advantage of all the different activities and opportunities at Omega (from yoga classes, to meditation, to sauna, kayaking, reading by the lake in a hammock, walking trails, enjoying a massage....)

So let's be clear about what Omega is. Omega is a great place to go and relax and rejuvenate, but it is not a luxury resort or destination spa type place, so if you're expecting 5 star stuff, this may not be the place for you. (Although having been to Miraval and other luxury type resorts, I can tell you I had just as good a time at Omega, which is much much cheaper).
So......having said that:

If you go for simple R and R program, stay at least 4 days, if you're going for a workshop I suggest adding a day or two to your stay before or after your workshop, just so you can enjoy all that Omega has to offer, because the workshop does take up most of your day.

Housing: This time I stayed in a single A Cabin and loved it 'til the last night. Last time I stayed in the dorms and had a terrible time due to noise all through the night. The single A cabin was great. The room was beautifully appointed, had heat and ceiling fan, and gorgeous tiled bathroom. My only complaint about my room was that sound traveled rather easily from the room next to mine. I was fine the first 4 nights I was there, but my last night people arrived in the room on the other side of the wall next to my bed and I could hear every step they took as they walked around their cabin. I could also hear them talking. Nonetheless, I was extremely pleased overall with my choice of housing this time. I will never again do the dorm housing. Now, it's private cabin all the way for me!

Grounds/Location: I feel like I'm in this protected "bubble" when I'm at Omega. Everything is right there, so you don't need to leave to do activities or go back into "the real world". The grounds are beautiful. There is wildlife all around--I saw so many groundhogs on a daily basis. You can sit on a bench in the sun and drink your tea, or eat your lunch on the lawn in front of the dining hall,or enjoy a few hours just sitting by the lake area where they have hammocks and lawn chairs set up. Omega is just a beautiful, peaceful, calming place. It's also nice to be without TV and phones (they do have several payphones which I used frequently--the cell service there is pretty nonexistant). They do have free Wifi in the cafe, which I also used without any problems. I brought my own computer but they have 3 computers (with Internet access) for shared use in the back of the cafe.

Food: I remember the food being really good there the first time I went. However, my situation this time was very different, as I recently discovered I have multiple food allergies, including most notably gluten, dairy, and soy. Honestly, I found it difficult for me to eat at Omega b/c of my dietary restrictions. I highly recommend you bring your own food (protein supplements, especially) if you have food allergies/sensitivities. Omega serves only vegetarian food, so I found getting protein there a challenge b/c of my restrictions. Their food is very soy "heavy", if you ask me. Almost every entree at lunch or dinner had soy in it. If you like soy and are not allergic to it I guess it's no big deal. I literally was unable to eat any of the "main" entrees on the buffett at lunch and dinner because they all inevitably had soy, gluten or dairy, so most meals I ate a salad and hard boiled eggs. I actually brought my own special cereal for breakfast, which I'm glad I did, because I would have had literally nothing to eat at breakfast. They do have a "plain foods" ( a grain/vegetable/ and legume) option at lunch and dinner, which was really great for me. Oh, and the Omega Cafe does serve food as well (although you have to pay separately for this), and they do serve meat there. They have some awesome desserts at the cafe (try their raw vegan chocolate macaroons), although the food there is pricey. The cafe staff was really friendly and even gave me some recipes for desserts I ate there.

Other stuff: Definitely get a massage at the wellness center. I did an 80 minute deep tissue massage with Lynn that was incredible. I also did a reflexology treatment b/c I'd never done it before, it was just average, and a Tip Top Toe, which basically seemed like a repeat of the reflexology. Next time if I want to do some treatments at the wellness center I think I'll stick with just straight massage.

Omega and Kripalu seem very similar to me, if you like Kripalu you'll probably like Omega, and vice versa. There is definitely a "hippie" vibe at both places, with plenty of dreadlocks and "earthy" vibe, which I'm totally into, but it might not feel OK for some. I think I actually prefer Omega to Kripalu, if only because it seems easier to spend more time outside at Omega, whereas at Kripalu it seems like everything is inside.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AZgirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
11
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
queens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed for 1 week in a cabin B room. The beds are very small, the sheets and blankets are chintzy the bathroom and shower stall not too clean. The water that comes out of the faucet in the bedroom has an acrid smell.

The grounds are lovely and the staff helpful and happy. If you're just going for R and R not a workshop it could get boring. Get a more expensive room with air con, it will be worth the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank venice57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I have stayed at Omega twice this year and plan on gong back again before the season ends. The first time I went to Omega's R&R weekend I stayed in the tent cabin and while I was excited to be able to sleep and rise in the woods I was a bit creeped out being there by myself. There are plenty of people around you in the camping area but being a city girl my imagination wanders, so if you are of faint of heart and staying on your own it could get a bit scary staying in the woods by yourself EVEN THOUGH IT IS TOTALY SAFE. The second time I went was with my sister and it was less frighting staying in the tent cabin. The ground of Omega are clean and wonderful - the lake is relaxing and there are plenty of kyakas and canoes to take out for a boat ride. Three meals a day are served and there is a cafe for a latte afternoon or evening snack and perhaps a game of scrabble. There is plenty to do at Omega on a R&R retreat or if you don't want to do anything at all that too is fine. Omega is really like a summer camp for adults I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank billyboy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I spent two nights at Omega in a Single Cabin with a private bath. It was rustic, yet the decor was modern. There were hardwood floors in the bedroom and tile in the bathroom. I was grateful to have my own bath, as many of the accommodations offered on the campus have shared baths. The shower tile and the sink seemed like it could have been cleaner. I'm not sure if it needed more cleaning or if it was just worn.
There was plenty of wildlife right outside my door. It was a very peaceful retreat without TV or cell phone. It's paradise if you are feeling overstimulated. Fresh meals are served three times a day. The food was freshly prepared and mostly organic and local. What a treat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XXXXX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

OMEGA is a class-act! The workshops are fantastic and the campus lovely. I wish I had stayed in the moderately-priced accomodations on-campus or at a nearby hotel.

Instead, I rented a vacation home in the area from www.vrbo.com and the landlord STOLE MY DEPOSIT. That's right, I paid an inflated price for a mold-infested old house at 474 Field Rd, Red Hook/Milan (i won't name the landlord) and the guy had the audacity to steal my deposit of $1,000. If you want to stay off-campus and you find a property via a website, VISIT THE PROPERTY FIRST OR ONLY RENT BASED ON A PERSONAL REFERRAL FROM SOMEONE YOU TRUST.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
13 Thank MiMi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bx ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

It was a great experience. real community feel to it. cabin was clean and centrally located. had heat and a fan food was good wellness center great i definately will return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camille778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Omega is a great retreat for those really looking to get away from it all. The sense of community make it relaxing and refreshing to be in a place where people are truly kind spirited.

Kayaking/canoeing on the lake were great. Food was refreshingly good-
mostly vegetarian. We stayed in the single dorms.....very sparce but clean. Evening programs were good, yoga/meditation daily were excellent. Utilized wellness center for massage/reflexology, again excellent.

We did a girls weekend/workshop and rank it as one of the best trips we've been on. Lots and lots of laughing!

Just what we needed to be recharged for life in the real world. We're going again next year. Just a note of caution--some of the workshops are soul searching/psychotherapy like, if you are going just for a relaxing time you might want to choose accordingly.

  • Liked — Relaxation at its purest
  • Disliked — Evidence of Stuart Little's visits to my room
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 3boyz2keep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
10.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
10.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Quality Inn Hyde Park
#2 of 4 in Hyde Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#3 of 8 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omega Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Institute

Property: Omega Institute
Address: 150 Lake Dr, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3252
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Omega Institute Hotel Rhinebeck
Omega Institute Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing