We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omega is relaxing”
Review of Omega Institute

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omega Institute
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Omega is relaxing”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I have stayed at Omega twice this year and plan on gong back again before the season ends. The first time I went to Omega's R&R weekend I stayed in the tent cabin and while I was excited to be able to sleep and rise in the woods I was a bit creeped out being there by myself. There are plenty of people around you in the camping area but being a city girl my imagination wanders, so if you are of faint of heart and staying on your own it could get a bit scary staying in the woods by yourself EVEN THOUGH IT IS TOTALY SAFE. The second time I went was with my sister and it was less frighting staying in the tent cabin. The ground of Omega are clean and wonderful - the lake is relaxing and there are plenty of kyakas and canoes to take out for a boat ride. Three meals a day are served and there is a cafe for a latte afternoon or evening snack and perhaps a game of scrabble. There is plenty to do at Omega on a R&R retreat or if you don't want to do anything at all that too is fine. Omega is really like a summer camp for adults I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank billyboy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
11
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I spent two nights at Omega in a Single Cabin with a private bath. It was rustic, yet the decor was modern. There were hardwood floors in the bedroom and tile in the bathroom. I was grateful to have my own bath, as many of the accommodations offered on the campus have shared baths. The shower tile and the sink seemed like it could have been cleaner. I'm not sure if it needed more cleaning or if it was just worn.
There was plenty of wildlife right outside my door. It was a very peaceful retreat without TV or cell phone. It's paradise if you are feeling overstimulated. Fresh meals are served three times a day. The food was freshly prepared and mostly organic and local. What a treat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XXXXX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

OMEGA is a class-act! The workshops are fantastic and the campus lovely. I wish I had stayed in the moderately-priced accomodations on-campus or at a nearby hotel.

Instead, I rented a vacation home in the area from www.vrbo.com and the landlord STOLE MY DEPOSIT. That's right, I paid an inflated price for a mold-infested old house at 474 Field Rd, Red Hook/Milan (i won't name the landlord) and the guy had the audacity to steal my deposit of $1,000. If you want to stay off-campus and you find a property via a website, VISIT THE PROPERTY FIRST OR ONLY RENT BASED ON A PERSONAL REFERRAL FROM SOMEONE YOU TRUST.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
13 Thank MiMi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bx ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

It was a great experience. real community feel to it. cabin was clean and centrally located. had heat and a fan food was good wellness center great i definately will return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camille778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Omega is a great retreat for those really looking to get away from it all. The sense of community make it relaxing and refreshing to be in a place where people are truly kind spirited.

Kayaking/canoeing on the lake were great. Food was refreshingly good-
mostly vegetarian. We stayed in the single dorms.....very sparce but clean. Evening programs were good, yoga/meditation daily were excellent. Utilized wellness center for massage/reflexology, again excellent.

We did a girls weekend/workshop and rank it as one of the best trips we've been on. Lots and lots of laughing!

Just what we needed to be recharged for life in the real world. We're going again next year. Just a note of caution--some of the workshops are soul searching/psychotherapy like, if you are going just for a relaxing time you might want to choose accordingly.

  • Liked — Relaxation at its purest
  • Disliked — Evidence of Stuart Little's visits to my room
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 3boyz2keep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Omega is a converted summer camp and that says it all, nothing luxurious about the place, very outdoorsy - but nice if that is what you're into. I would recommend the single deluxe dorm. It's not a dorm at all but a small renovated room with a bath down the hall, wall insulation is non-existant. The basic single dorms have not been renovated and are in rough shape, not worth the small cost savings. The other accomodations are quite a bit more expensive. Although there is camping option for less. Have them send you their detailed catalog.

Food is okay and is veg. and vegan for the most part. Workshops are varied or for the first time just go for 2 nights of R&R to get the feel of the place (no program). Nice little beach area with clean water and free use of kayaks and canoes without a lot of hassle on small lake. Clothing optional co-ed saunna, with co-ed changing room. Nice screened in outdoor cooling room which comes in handy when the saunna is full of attractive folks in nothing but their birthday suits. None of the pervasive and militant homosexuality I have encountered at a similar facility in Western MA.

All in all a great place to get away to for a few days a couple times a year. Being a converted summer camp it does close down once it is cold enough for the pipes to freeze.

  • Liked — Beautiful location, great workshops, the most sensual sauna I have ever seen.
  • Disliked — Would like non-veg. meals, insulation in walls between rooms and more deluxe single dorms rooms.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NEasternUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I just got back from a weekend workshop at Omega and feel relaxed, re-balanced, and ready to face to cruel real world again.

Omega has a nice variety of classes to choose from: cooking, songwriting, trapezing skills, and empowerment types of things. For the most part, I think you need to be open-minded and open to the self-improvement process in general the most out of the Omega experience.

My workshop had the typical journaling, sharing, and meditation one expects at a enlightening type of workshop. The musicians gave me a flashback to "A Mighty Wind". Typically, I snark at such things and skeptical of "forced intimacy" exercises, but I really withheld judgement and found myself impressed by the facilitators and touched by the people in the workshop. I felt invigorated afterwards and enjoyed taking a break from the fast pace to focus on cleansing breathes.

The food. There's a lot of it. It is vegetarian, but they try to give you variety. And thank God. They have coffee. Many of these places treat coffee like crystal meth and ban it completely. I'm glad Omega is completely reasonable. They also have very luxurious wellness treatments. They extend the menu beyond the typical massage to things like "shamanic healing" and "chakra balancing". I really wished I tried that, but couldn't justify the expense.

The accomodations. I registered late, so the only rooms available were in the dorm. I had a dorm single, which had a shared bath. The dorm single rooms were like little cells. The walls were super thin, you had to either bring linen or rent linen (which I did, but didn't receive a pillow). I'm not high maintenance, but require a room where I can sleep. I could hear the body sounds of the people next door. It was pretty rough. The showers were terrible as well. I know that Omega is very concious about saving the earth, but there was NO water pressure. Drip, drip, drip. I guess I'm spoiled. However, this die not spoil the experience.

I was intimidated at first when I got to Omega. The parking lot seemed to be filled with luxury cars and I was fearful that the crowd would be intense and high maintenance. But the people there were very nice and welcoming. You should know that there are many solo travelers there who don't know a soul there and feel just as scared as I did the first meal!

So tips:
Stay in a single room in a cabin
Bring comfy shoes -- the rooms are typically at the top of a hill.
Don't think you will get any cellphone reception
The cafe is great -- there is wireless, great snacks, lots of caffeine
Withhold that judging voice inside of you. You can have a great time here!

  • Liked — enriching, enlightening environment
  • Disliked — dorm room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank banchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
861 reviews
10.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
41 reviews
10.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
16.0 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omega Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Institute

Property: Omega Institute
Address: 150 Lake Dr, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3252
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Omega Institute Hotel Rhinebeck
Omega Institute Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing