We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff. Great Location. Knowledge”

Wilderstein Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Rhinebeck
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderstein Historic Site, with its exquisite Queen Anne mansion and Calvert Vaux designed landscape, is widely regarded as one of the Hudson Valley’s most important examples of Victorian architecture. The estate was the home of Margaret (Daisy) Suckley, whose extraordinarily close relationship with Franklin Delano Roosevelt has been well-chronicled and is the subject of much interest. Wilderstein’s guided tour includes the elaborate 1888 interiors of the first floor of the mansion, the exterior architecture, landscape, annual exhibition, and video. The regular season for guided tours is May through October. In addition, the mansion is open and decorated for the holidays from Thanksgiving weekend until the end of December.There is also a network of hiking trails on the property, special events throughout the year, a gift shop, and spectacular Hudson River views.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level Contributor
599 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great Staff. Great Location. Knowledge”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a beautiful restored home [you can only however tour through just 5 rooms [the upstairs is off limits]. Amazing views from the porch and lawn of the Hudson River and Catskills Mountains beyond. Interesting learning about one of FDR's mistresses.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning views of the Hudson River and a gorgeous home”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a treat Wilderstein (pronounced Wilderstine) . Most of the first floor has been carefully and painstakingly restored so the tour is worth the few dollars they charge ($10 or $9 for seniors) but the real charm is the gorgeous views of the scenic Hudson River from several vantage points. A small book is sold in the gift shop that explains the history of the three generations that lived in this home and how they squandered their inheritance over the years. I would recommend a visit and the tour. Finding out that the last person to live here was the Daisy that became FDR's confident for 20 yrs. and was with him when he died made the visit all the more interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Limited tour but still worth it”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are like me, you would mostly be interested in the Wilderstein home to learn more about 'Daisy' (Margaret), who was FDR's cousin and trusted confident. Unfortunately, because of an overly talkative person in our tour group, we actually learned little about her and more about the family history. The guide had some trouble controlling this individual, so it's difficult to know what a normal tour may comprise. It is limited to the first floor and takes about an hour, including an informative video where Margaret and her sister are featured - quite charming to hear them reminisce about the good old days. If you have time on your hands while visiting the area, I would still recommend it. The view from the house is the most beautiful that we saw of all the grand homes in the Hudson Valley area and the foundation and volunteers have done a wonderful job of restoring the exterior.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wilderstein”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

IT was a great place to visit. The people working there were very nice and happily answered questions. The only issue that I had was there were only 4 rooms to see. A small kitchen (used by the help, the owner when she was a lone, dining room, library, music room. For the price I would like to have seen more

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maryjo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Visit”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We toured a number of mansions along the Hudson River Valley and this was one of our favorites. It is charming and we can imagine living there. The view of the Hudson River is wonderful. Both the exterior and interior are beautiful. We caught the last tour of the day (3:30pm), so it was just us and two others. After the tour, we walked down a short trail down to the carriage house to take a quick look. It is in disrepair but it is their next restoration project. I am sure that when it is finished, it will also be lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank likesc0mf0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderstein Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Wilderstein Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing