We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospherics OK , Service and Attitude less than acceptable.”
Review of Liberty

Liberty
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Atmospherics OK , Service and Attitude less than acceptable.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Who's who in this place? Bartender was rude so we decided to sit at a table. Waited for menus and a server but none arrived. Food when ordered was mediocre and undercooked. Sent back soup which was cold and tasteless. Server was completely disinterested. Paid bill and wound up at MacDonald's in Hyde Park, at least we know what to expect.
Never, Never Again !!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    28
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Went as a party of 6 for Sunday lunch, and ate in the restaurant. Kids built their own burgers, ladies had the salmon and the gents the grilled chicken on brown rice and salad. Service was just right, food was delicious and the Americana theme set the atmosphere.
This is a must visit restaurant, I thought as good as if not better than terrapin or Gigi, one of which doesn't open their restaurant in Sunday. Give it a try, we will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Copterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stopped in for a nightcap and late night snack. There was band downstairs that sounded good but we never ventured there. Good company, drink and food in the first floor bar. Nice that they have a late night menu. The Buffalo shrimp is outstanding bedtime snack!
One of the owners appears to be very hands on and available. He stopped into the bar with frequency and we all knew who he was. This is the kind of place that you should want to go to and support. My interaction with the staff was outstanding but with a present owner, I am sure that any concern would be promptly addressed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Preston1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, eat in thenTavern”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We discovered Liberty in the summer of 2012 and have been there 4 times now. We recently tried them out for brunch. These people know how to put a menu together, pair food with wine and craft beers, how to season, cook and prepare fresh, clean gastro pub fair. Eat in the tavern, it's done up really nicely, it will make you feel Ike you stepped back 100 years in time. The service is good and knowledgable and it doesn't have the normal stuck up Rhinebeck atmosphere that you can get in some restaurants in that often, pretentious little town. It's right next to Upstate Films too which is a plus. The only downside are the prices, which are normal for Rhinebeck, which are a bit pricey, but it is a great place with great food. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taddoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

In town for a memorial service- while the food supplied for the memorial service was plentiful, the wings were great, plenty of fruits and veggies- the hamburgers were VERY undercooked . The stairs going downstairs are in desperate need of repair ( proceed with caution) love the old atmosphere vibe

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing