We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Brief Stay”
Review of The Veranda House

The Veranda House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Veranda House
Ranked #8 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Langhorne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Brief Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at The Veranda House Saturday July 9, 2011. The room was very clean, comfortable, and exactly what we expected from a B&B. We spent more than an hour sitting on the front porch and found that extremely relaxing. The only trivial complaint was the size of the bathroom, which was small but that was not an issue because it was sparking clean.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was very good. Our hostess Yvonne was very polite, courteous, and took the time for a special request from me for Waffles, which were excellent. There were two other couples at breakfast and we enjoyed their company and the conversation.

If and when we return to Rhinebeck, we would definitely return to the Veranda House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbytMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
8
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Trenton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

A very relaxing stay, in a quiet comfortable room, with a charming hostess, and delicious breakfast. The perfect location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAnne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at the Veranda House for 5 nights over the 4th of July weekend and were very satisfied with both the accomodations and the service. The beds are large and comfortable with a lot of extra pillows. The bathroom for the "Forget-Me-Not"room is spacious and modern, with a lot of amenities.The breakfasts are generous and very good, especially the home baked coffee cakes and muffins. Yvonne (the innkeeper and breakfast chef) was flexible about breakfast times and graciously accomodated our special requests. There is also wireless internet! Rhinebeck is a lovely town, with many attractions nearby. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dennis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

While the inn was in a modest state of maintenance due to some exterior painting, the accomodations were pleasant and the inn was charming assuming you enjoy Victorian surroundings. Rooms were of adequate size and although the bathrooms were quite small (formerly closets for the rooms of the previous home) they were well equipped. The linens and beds in the rooms were quite nice and comfortable.

The room included a full breakfast which was excellent and prepared by the innkeeper, a charming lady formerly from England (Yvonne) who proved to be a very good host (or hostess if youn prefer).

In the sitting room, there was wine available as well as ice if you provided your own beverages. While there was cable TV should you want it, the TV was quite old and could use some updating.

All in all, the stay was enjoyable, the price/value of the rooms was very good and the town of Rhinebeck and surrounding countryside was exceptional both from a historical/cultural standpoint as well as from a pastoral perspective.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out each room on line for select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HTJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband & I recently spent a Saturday night at the Veranda House with friends. It was a much needed few days away from the noise of NYC. We found the Veranda House to be charming, and very conveniently located to town and nearby hiking in Ferncliff Forest. Yvonne was great and in my opinion, the perfect B&B hostess. She was informative (she told us of the Poet’s Walk nearby) but non-intrusive. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our friends stayed in the Rose Room which was a larger room with a very comfy looking lounger. Our room was the Forget-Me-Not room which was smaller, but had the larger bathroom. French Toast for breakfast was yummy. I would definitely stay there again. And if you are in the area, I strongly recommend the Flatiron Restaurant in Red Hook – awesome!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlbarlow57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottageville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2011

stayed in the ivy room,the jacuzzi was great, it was a great country breakfast and the house was decoreted nice for the holidays

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaluna824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed at this inn this summer when visiting my family in the area. It was a very nice place and the innkeeper was perfectly fine. My only comment is that the breakfast is too late. By 9:00 am I need to be long gone. A buffet and coffee earlier is better. Thankfully Bread Alone is a wonderful cafe that is right in town and opens early.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
0.0 mi away
Old Stone Farm
Old Stone Farm
#7 of 15 in Rhinebeck
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
0.0 mi away
A Kingston Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veranda House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veranda House

Property: The Veranda House
Address: Rhinebeck, NY 12572
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing