We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel if nicer options not available”

Capital Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capital Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel if nicer options not available”
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at the Econo Lodge on a Saturday night on fairly short notice. I felt the price I paid was expensive for what I got, which was a very basic room with basic amenities. The rate may have been high due to the day of the week and given that most hotels in the area were sold out at the time.

The room was generally clean but in need of updating. It was very damp in the room and the room had a funny air-deodorizer smell to it, which we got used to after a while. The sheets were thin and had a few old stains on them, but were otherwise clean. The bed was somewhat comfortable. There was a large selection of cable TV channels.

The bath towels were very small and were also very thin and not soft. The bathroom was decent sized and had a generous counter-top for spreading out your things. The water pressure was good and the shower head nice. The shower curtain was short and a little difficult to keep in the tub. The bathroom had a switch-controlled overhead fan, which you don't see too often, but it did a terrible job at removing the humidity after a shower. It took 15 minutes for the mirror to de-fog after opening the bathroom door.

There was free wireless internet, but I did not make use of this to try it out. I also didn't sample the free breakfast, but I did see when I checked-in that the breakfast area was very small -- only about 3 small tables -- so we choose to get our breakfast off-site. The check-in process went smoothly and the reception was generally friendly.

The walls were thin and we were woken up in the early morning by guests in the room above and also out in the hallway moving about. In general, it was a decent stay and if I needed a room in the area again I would return if I could get a cheaper rate -- but I will probably try staying someplace else first.

  • Disliked — damp room; basic ammenities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank triptaker0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
thank you we have a new name now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    8
    3
    16
See reviews for
11
10
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed here twice so far. This is not a fancy motel, but it is adequate. Their prices are certainly fair. The only problem that we encountered was a problem with checking in and checking out...their computer was giving them all sorts of problems. They finally had to call Choice hotels to get it all taken care of. The staff at this motel certainly tried hard to please their guests. All whom we met were friendly. Eventhough it was August, we didn't swim in their pool as the Northeast was experiencing chilly weather the four days that we did stay here. We liked the grounds and also the location (more of a country setting rather than congested Albany locations). Our room was a queen sized. Having a microwave, small frig, and laundry facility were definitely a plus. If you want all the "bells and whistles" then this is not the place for you. If you want a clean quiet place at a great price, then you will be satified with this choice. Frankly, I have stayed in far worse motels in Myrtle Beach and in Florida.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast buffet....nothing special here
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
hope you are well now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rensselaer hotels

New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2007

On the positive side, the room was clean (aside from a mildew-y shower curtain), and everything worked. Bed was quite comfortable (a big plus), and it was convenient to have a microwave, fridge, hair dryer, cable tv, alarm clocks, etc. For the money, we were pleasantly surprised. The linens were hardly top-quality, but they were clean.

The breakfast was minimal, but certainly adequate for a quick bite. Also, everything seemed fresh and clean.

The staff is generally quite friendly and helpful; Patty's sense of humor may be an acquired taste, but we thought she was kind of a hoot. Also, if she recommends Teagan's restaurant to you, don't be afraid of its exterior. We were pleasantly surprised by the food.

On the negative side: calling the walls "paper-thin" is an insult to paper. Throughout the night, we could hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. Fortunately, we had neighbors who, for the most part, turned in early, but were nonetheless woken up a couple times by loud thuds/bangs.

If you're a sound sleeper, this place seems to be a good bargain for the area.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pphillipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
thank you hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

We stayed at Econo Lodge Downtown in Rensselaer and we loved it. Our room (king bed) was recently renoved and it was very clean. There were a fridge and coffee maker in the room.

The hotel is located only few minutes away from Amtrak Station and from downtown Albany.

For the price, it is very interesting. I recommand it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matqcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
thank you old guest hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2005

I loved the Econo Lodge! We got the room with a Jacuzzi. The room was wonderful & clean. The staff is the friendliest staff I've ever seen at a hotel. We've been there several times with & without our kid. It's a very pleasant stay. The breakfast cold buffet. The usual donuts, muffins, bagels & cereal. Juice & coffe. The staff does remember you & takes good care of their repeat customers.

  • Stayed December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany,New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2004

very nice, upgraded motel- there are more upscale rooms in a separate back building- these are all no smoking and a quiet area- breakfast is typical but the staff is super- they will remember you, and upgrade you!!

Helpful?
1 Thank albanyrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
thank you we are still top notch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2004

We've stayed at the Econo lodge twice for Hockey regionals in nearby Albany. The rooms are large and clean. There is a 'fridge' in every room. The management goes to great pains to make sure that your stay is pleasurable. There is an outdoor pool on site but as it is too cold for swimming in april, we haven't tried it. It is a very easy drive from the hotel to downtown Albany. For the price, you will not find a better place.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
thank you we still are very nice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Glenmont/albany
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Inn & Suites

Property: Capital Inn & Suites
Address: 110 Columbia Tpke, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3413 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Capital Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rensselaer
Rensselaer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing