We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Pointe Church of God Couch Tour of 52 people stayed at this hotel on Oct. 4, 2010. Everything was excellent. The staff and breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

Once again, this hotel delivers what one would expect from a newer Holiday Inn Express.

The rooms are clean, roomy and nicely appointed. Good wireless internet and a good assortment of TV stations (no flat screen though). The pool and dining area also looked to be what you expect from a newer HIX.

The location is right off I-90 and the hotel is very easy to find. Some posters have raved about the view, which is nice, but that view wouldn't determine if I were to stay here again. There is a decent road-house style restraurant right across the parking lot which is always nice when having travelled all day.

There is only one elevator, so there sometimes is a wait; a very minor complaint.

If passing through again, I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Traveled to the area with our teenage granddaughter and my 84 year old mother. Reserved a Queen Suite which worked out perfectly. The room was clean, large and worked great for our needs.

We arrived before our room was ready, however were able to register and when we returned late that evening, all went smoothly.

The breakfast the next morning was a complete surprise. Very good, very extensive and lovely eating area.

Worked perfectly for all four of us!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 98Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stumbled upon this Holiday Inn just outside of Albany. The view of the Akbany skyline at sunset was amazing!

Anthony checked us in and he was simply hilarious! It was a breath of fresh air to deal with someone with so much personality and sense of humour at the end of a long day. He upgraded us to a King suite. The room was very nice and we enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

The free breakfast was great, and it was held in a nice spacious room so it felt relaxing, not crammed, noisy and crazy like the free breakfast at many hotels.

Our only downside was dinner at the Sports Grill next door. I wouldn't recommend it as we received poor service and lousy food, but it is completely separate from the Holiday Inn so nothing to do with the hotel stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amethyst2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

On route to climbing Mount Graylock in Massachusetts and then going down to NYC. Perfect location off the highway. The view of the Albany skyline is stunning. Coming from Toronto, Canada, we came in late and the front desk people were very nice and quick. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The pool wasn't the greatest and was basically an average "Holiday Inn pool". However, the free continental breakfast went way beyond that and the selection was great! They had everything you needed. Sausages, eggs, bacon, lots of fruit, cinnamon buns, etc etc. It was like a breakfast buffett and there was nobody there to bother you. Reading my US Today, with my coffee, with the sun coming through their bay windows, and breakfast in a nice comfortable room with a fireplace watching Good morning US was a great way to start my way to our hike. I was pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dantex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed here one night on our way home from Maine to Canada. It looked lovely on the outside, nice manicured grounds. Check in was pleasant and we got a nice room with a view. We were very suprised though when entering the elevator how dirty the floor was. This was not just a days traffic but dirt build up in the edges of the carpet that really needed to be dealt with with a crevice tool or something. It kind of put you off as to the cleanliness of the place in general if they would leave this public space in this condition. Who doesn't look at the floor on an elevator! We were given a handicap room which had a large bathroom but the shower floor was grey where it shouldn't be and needed a good scrub with some bleach cleaner. There was also some dried food on one of the chairs that I was able to remove with a damp facecloth.
Other than that it was nice and there is a great pub next door with excellent food and they give you 10% off.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank sallyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The beds were not comfortable and a result we did not sleep at all. In addition to that we were awakened by a fire alarm at 7am; this was done on purpose by hotel employees in order to get attention for their strike!!. this was a horrible stay.
The front desk also charged my credit card even tough I paid cash for the room; total disorganization.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank specialK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range: $112 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing