We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent three nights at this hotel in early November 2013. Great check-in. Great room with a view of Albany. Hot breakfast. Small but adequate fitness room (three cardio machines and barbells) located near the pool/spa. A pub located just off the hotel site (next door). Second time I've stayed at this hotel and never disappointed.

Room Tip: Pub next door.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hello Buddy M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for returning to our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great amenities. Please feel free to look us up anytime you are in town. We'd love to see you again!~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

On September 21 we (2 Adults, 2 Children) stayed at the East Greenbush Holiday Inn Express for one night after a family gathering. The Hotel is well kept and offers a nice view overlooking Albany. The lobby area is modern and clean. Check in was smooth and the clerk was very friendly. She had information readily available for the local area restaurants. She gave us some complimentary candy and water which was a nice touch.
We had a double bed room which was very clean and everything was in working order. The décor was a little bland but that didn’t bother us. The beds were comfortable and we didn’t hear any hallway noise.
They have a small indoor pool with a spa that the kids and I enjoyed. The area was well maintained.
The complimentary breakfast was the standard one provided by Holiday Inn Express (Eggs, bacon, assorted cereals, juice, etc. etc.) and was well stocked. The attendant was very helpful. The dining room was clean, comfortable and had plenty of seating.
The price was very good for the service we received and we will definitely consider this hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Albany.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeb_ny_487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Worst hotel stay ever. Arrived late and hit the rack. Woke up the next morning sick and noticed a bad smell coming out of the HVAC unit. The thing was filled with mold. The photo below shows only the grille, inside was much worse. Complained to the hotel manager and Holiday Inn corporate. The hotel management couldn't care less; no reply, no apology, no nothing. Corporate contacted them on my behalf and had the same response. I stay in hotels two nights per week all over the Northeast and have never seen this type of inaction.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobY2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hello RobY2112,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm sorry that you felt your complaint went without care; I can assure you everyone on our team puts guest happiness as our number one priority. I've noticed that your stay was from a year ago. Over the past year we have been through a renovation and one of the many things replaced have been HVAC units. We also have a strict schedule in place to inspect each room, making sure these sort of issues do not happen. I hope that you will come visit us again so that we can show you the excellent guest experience we often are known for. If you'd like to further discuss your experience, please contact our hotel and ask to speak with our general manager, Kesha Legg. Thank you again~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent just off the highway, with a great view across to the capital itself, good road links make it an ideal place to stay, however there are problems with this hotel. On arrival we were checked in by Cory who made recognition of my PC card status and we were given a bottle of water and a snack, the stay went downhill from there, we got to the room and found that a pair of someone else's socks were still in the waste bin. I took the bin bag down to the desk and found Cory on the phone, a person called Thadeus came out of the back room and stood there looking at me, after I got no response from him I actually stepped forward handed him the bag, told him what was in it and said I was not happy about it, I had a smile in return but no sorry or anything else, very strange.There was no fridge, a first for us, we have visited 30 states in the US and always stay in HI/HIE and this was the first time we found no fridge, being on a road trip around the region a fridge is useful, one could be hired for $20 a day, if they had one, they did not. In most hotels you find a ice machine on either every floor or every other one, this hotel had the alcove with the plumbing in it for one, but there was only one ice machine in the hotel, down in the 'gift shop' this being next to the microwave standing on a low table. We had booked the room 12 weeks before and asked for a no smoking room, on the second evening I could smell smoke, it appeared to be coming from the bathroom vent, the next morning I looked around and found that we had been put onto the middle(smoking) floor, so another downer on the hotel.
The final thing that went against this hotel was the breakfast room, as mentioned before we have travelled a lot in the US and this was by far the worst experience we have ever had, the women running the room had a sour look on her face for our entire stay, we did not see her smile at all, we said 'good morning' to her on the first 2 mornings and got ignored both times. The food on offer was not being topped up at all with a single muffin being all that was in the display unit on 2 separate mornings, the coffee units were very slow to be refilled and I saw people asking for them to be replaced on all 3 mornings we were there. This hotel needs a manager who can come in and put a rocket under the staff who on the whole appear to not care about the people who pay their wages, more attention to detail is needed to make this hotel what it should be, a great place to stay.
I can only thank the gentleman on duty when we left who asked my wife if she enjoyed her stay, a brave man indeed, he then had to listen to my wife detail the faults she had found, to his great credit he listened and did something about it, well done that man.

Room Tip: Should you stay here and are a non smoker make sure you get a room on floor 1 or 3, at the front loo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Robert T,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It truly helps to have the perspective of a guest who travels frequently. We are happy to hear upon arrival you were greeted as a IHG Rewards member. It comes as a disappointment that you found some other hotels within our brand that you feel have out done us. There are many areas in which we go above and beyond, such as a business center with complimentary printing. With suggestions such as yours, we can continue to improve. We have shared your experience with the employees who you mentioned. We wish that we knew the name of the employee who assisted at check out so we can celebrate his efforts. As mentioned he "did something about it." The details of this would also help us to know what ways we can recover and what a frequent guest finds rewarding. If you wish to discuss any additional details of your stay please feel free to contact our general manager, Kesha Legg. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had 2 rooms booked. We were allowed early check in, and our request for sklyine view and same floor for both rooms was honored.
The continential breakfast was good, but very few people knew about the make your own pancakes stuck off on the back counter. The selection of hot and cold foods was good, with the exception that only bananas were offered for fresh fruit.
One night there was free popsicles/ice cream bars for guests, which we enjoyed.
The pool was smaller than other pools at hotels I have stayed at, but was adequate. The hot tub was not as warm/hot as others, either, but was warm. Had to ask for towels for the pool area each time as the shelf in the pool area was empty.
I would have liked to have a mini fridge in the rooms. There was a microwave in the snack shop you could use.
Staff were always pleasant. Hotel was clean. Smoking/non smoking rooms are on separate floors, and I was unable to smell smoke from our 3rd floor rooms or the main (1st) floor.
There was road construction in front of the hotel, but we were still able to access the hotel easily from both directions.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor rooms (non-smoking) facing the city.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlxnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for writing. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Also, thank you for the critiques such as the temperature of the hot tub. It is guests like you who help us to be the best property we can. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Best hotel we have stayed in on our 4 week road trip. Very friendly and helpful from the desk to the maids. bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.great continental breakfast every am. We were here 5 days.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed chose a king room. More chairs....
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebSBPowellButte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and your kind note. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to look us up any time you are in town.~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was of the belief that the Holiday Inn brand had higher standards but I was very disappointed at the condition of this facility. I want to give the help high marks since they were very nice and accommodating, pleasant people. But upon checking the TV didn't work, the bottom of the plastic tub was dirty, the furniture was not well dusted, the carpeting felt dirty in the room, there was a stain on the ceiling over the tub which was an obvious earlier leak that had not been fixed completely and the sink faucet leaked all over the place. The furniture was worn and chipped and the radio was a cheap dollar store purchase. Oh yes, the power went off in the middle of the night, blinking the clock and setting off an alarm. We were only in the hotel for one night but there is an obvious lack of attention to details. This could be a prime property due to the location but if they don't pick up the slack, things will slide even more. The place was full on a Saturday night, so there is no lack of business. They need to be more demanding of themselves or business will suffer. Too bad, like I stated great location and very nice staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefighterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello Firefighterdad,

Great name, thank you for being a first responder and for your feedback on our property. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at our property. We do hold ourselves to high standards. We are very busy a majority of the time, as you mentioned in your note. This constant turn over of guests can equal quick wear on the furnishing. We did just complete a renovation in 2012 and thanks to reviews like yours we can update rooms as needed. If you'd like please feel free to call the hotel and speak with Kesha Legg, general manager, to go over your specific room and stay. It only helps us to improve.

Thank you kindly for the note on our staff, we take great pride in our team. Best Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range: $125 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing